Customer Reviews for

Pride and Prescience: Or, a Truth Universally Acknowledged (Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pride and Prescience: Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged

I absolutley loved this book. It honestly stayed true to the original characters and hinted romance without being raunchy. She really imitated the feel of a JA novel without being too flowery.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pride and Prescience: Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged

In my last critique of this novel I judged it as absolutely wild and ridiculous. Now, after reading Linda Berdol¿s take on Darcy and Elizabeth, I had to reconsider my hash words. This book truly stays true to Darcy and Elizabeth. They act in the precise manner Jane Aust...
In my last critique of this novel I judged it as absolutely wild and ridiculous. Now, after reading Linda Berdol¿s take on Darcy and Elizabeth, I had to reconsider my hash words. This book truly stays true to Darcy and Elizabeth. They act in the precise manner Jane Austen would have wanted them to act in the given situations. Darcy is¿well Darcy and Elizabeth is full of sharp wit and spunk. Best of all there romance tastefully hinted upon and discrete. I truly think this Author has an unparalleled ability to capture the real Darcy and Elizabeth. Where this book fails however is with its ridiculous plot. This isn¿t Gothic it¿s insane. Magic rings, spells, and so on. It¿s all too, too much. But the characters are so authentic to Austen¿s that I advice reading it anyway. I¿d love to see this author continue Austen style books with less outlandish plots.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Pride and Prescience: Or, A Truth Universally Acknowledged

    I absolutley loved this book. It honestly stayed true to the original characters and hinted romance without being raunchy. She really imitated the feel of a JA novel without being too flowery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Entertaining

    The storyline is a mystery, but it is fairly light while being an interesting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful little Jane Austen-esque mystery.

    Entertaining mystery story based around the characters from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, with Elizabeth and Darcy being of course the main protagonists. This story, the first in a series of Mr. and Mrs. Darcy mysteries, blends Jane Austen's characters with a story of intrigue and a dash of supernatural mystery. I really enjoyed the book; it wasn't deep and philosophical, but it was an entertaining mystery with a surprising twist. As a Jane Austen fan, I think this was one of the better "sequels" that I've read that creates new stories around her characters. The characters acted in believable ways, and the story kept me interested at all turns. I'm looking forward to reading the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Jane Austen spinoff, with a touch of mystery to it.

    This is one of the better cozies I have come across so far in my cozy mystery reading experience. It feels like you're reading one of those old English gothic novels. It has a good mixture of supernatural mystery to satisfy those in need of a creepy but not so creepy experience, and there's a good plot and regular mystery behind it, making you try to guess who is behind all of these strange coincidences. I liked it how they brought in most of the characters from Pride and Prejudice it was nice to see them once again, and to have Elizabeth and Darcy solving the mystery together can't get any better than that. They both have the wit, and the sharp mindedness that brings them even closer together. Of course they have their disagreements as well, which is nice to see, as their arguing takes you back to the days when they didn't get along at all in the beginning of Pride and Prejudice.

    I'm happy to see not much drastic change has happened to most of the characters in the book. The scandal behind Mr Hurst seems believable and makes sense considering his vices. Naturally, it was nice to see Caroline hasn't changed, until later in the book but there's a reason for it as you will see if you pick up this novel. There are a few twists and turns in the plot to keep you guessing as to who might have been behind the entire plot, although I did figure it out eventually before it was said. That might have become a disappointment as I would have liked to have been surprised, but the action at the end (there's a fighting sequence!) made up for it and proved to be exciting to read. I thought it was a good book, I was so interested in it, it didn't take me that long to read, and the ending was satisfying despite it being a little obvious who was behind the plot. I thought the little addition of supernatural "forces" at work was a neat little addition. It was subtle and not too overpowering to make it seem ridiculous. It worked seamlessly with the plot and made it more exciting.

    I will definitely be pursuing other books in this series, and I am hoping the second book after this will be just as good as the first one. Overall, a great read, perfect for those that love Darcy and Lizzy, but are in the mood for a cozy mystery as well. Give it a try! it was an exceptional read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome for Austen fans

    I have long been an Austen fan and have read all of her books. Like others I was sad that there aren't any more to read once I finished them all. This book is written in a style that feels as though I was actually reading Austen again. The word choice is the same, the characters are the same, and even some of the conversations are directly lifted from the original novels. I have read the first three of her books, and this is the second best. The plot itself is good, but the plot seems a bit dry, and unlike North by Northanger (by far the best of the three) it is a bit too supernatural. It just doesn't seem to fit with the Austen characters I love. My suggestion is to start with North by Northanger. You won't lose anything if you've read Pride and Prejudice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1