Customer Reviews for

The Priest of Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    A good read

    While I wasn't transported, I was entertained. I did find myself losing patience with the pace of this story. I found myself skipping chunks of text that dealt with old legends in order to get to the action portion of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Interesting novel

    A lot of historical references to ancient civilizations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    No Longer 'Up & Coming'....Clegg has ARRIVED

    WOW! Couldn't put it down and after reading I had to remind myself to take a breath. Sort of like when you finish watching a movie that has so enthralled you that when it is over you have to re-acqauint yourself with the actual world around you before you can stand up and leave the theatre. I started reading Douglas Clegg's stories a few years ago when in passing I read a comment from Stephen King endorsing Clegg's abilities as a novelist. Now I look forward to announcements of new encounters of Clegg's creativity to add to my collection - and Priest of Blood is a MUST for any reader or collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Douglas Clegg has done it again.

    Douglas Clegg has shown what we his devoted readers already know. Priest of Blood is a best seller. Doug shows his amazing skills as a writer, that he can go from horror to a new genre and not loose readers that normally don't do 'Midevil Vamps'. Priest of Blood is a must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    This book will transport you to another time and many other places.

    I've been putting off reading The Priest of Blood since it arrived in December. I don't know why, but I just wasn't ready yet to crack the binding on such a special book. This Saturday I could stand it no longer...I started in the evening and had finished by this Sunday afternoon. My poor husband and children were neglected as I was drawn into the vibrant tapestry of both your words and Aleric's story. Not only was the story superbly told and written, but the settings were real for me. True, I've some background in medieval history, but others would have as easy a time picturing the locations as I did. It was vivid, real, dank, musty, dusty, sandy, hot, wet....and dark. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a hisorical setting to their coming-of-age tales....It is most certainly NOT just for the horror or vampire fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Classic, but different

    Hello from Germany.I love to read horror novels although I'm a little tired of vampire novels. It's mostly the same stuff. But this one here is different, althoug it contains classic elements it is wonderful written, thrilling and makes looking for more - can't wait to read the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Doug Clegg does it again!

    It's amazing to see the range of work that Clegg is able to write. The Priest of Blood is one that I got on an early preorder, and it was worth every bit of the money I paid and more. Do you like dark fantasy? Do you like knowing that once you love a book, there'll be more for you to read? That's how I felt with this one. I've always enjoyed reading this author's work, and this one proves to me why. Every book he writes shows his growth as a writer, and shows why he has such a solid fan base. Love it love it love it! Do yourself a favor and pick up this one (and some of his past work, too!) and you'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    I don't use the 'F' word lightly...but...

    in a word, this work is 'Fantastic!' - brooding, dark, with nightmarish elements that plunge the reader through layers of unknown dimensions and emotions. The plot is rich and meaty and satisfying, and it keeps you hooked. Clegg breaks every mold imaginable, and he does it with elan, and with an unabashed glee for the story he tells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Douglas Clegg comes up with another MUST READ!!

    Priest of Blood delivers every aspect that you look for in a great Horror Fantasy book. Well defined characters and settings have you immersed in the book so deeply that you do not want to leave!! I read this book in one sitting....it delivers the goods. Defining a whole new vampire genre and putting Douglas Clegg in the ranks of Laymon, Little, Ketchum, Koontz and King!! Get this book today!!! You will not be disappointed.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely fantastic

    Aleric the Breton was born into poverty, but proves to the Baron¿s huntsman he can train all kinds of birds and moves into the manor. An older boy turns the huntsman against him making known that Aleric made love with the Baron¿s daughter in the church chapel. He is sent to the Holy Land to fight the Saracens as a servant-soldier. His brother, also fighting the infidels reunites with him but is soon killed. Aleric leaves the battle field heading for the city Hedammu inhabited by demons.................. In the city he is attacked by the vampire Pythyia who drains his blood each night for a month before changing him into a creature like her. He meets the other vampires of the city who believe he is their savior because he gave the Sacred Kiss to his friend and turned him into a vampire, which the others can¿t do. They want him to restore the powers that their ancestors had but to do that he must travel to the lost city of Alkemara. His journey, with five of his brethren, is successful but once in the lost city they face many dangers in their quest to restore to glory the vampire race................... Douglas Clegg is a horror writer who knows how to tell a great story with characters that any reader can empathize with, even vampires who kill mortals. The protagonist is a product of the times and readers get a glimpse of Breton where the old ways has not been wiped out by Christianity. The vampires are not the typical creatures of the night but have weaknesses that make them vulnerable objects of pity. It will be hard to wait for the next book in this blood curdling series............... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Love Doug's books

    I don't think I've ever submitted an online review of any of the authors I read but this one was one that I had to do. I've been collecting Doug's works for years and have just started obtaining copies to read. This one grabbed right from the beginning and never let go. If a book gets me from the beginning then it's a winner!! This one did! I'm sure I'll love the older ones as I get a chance to read them too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Pure escapism

    Normally, I don't read any mideval stories, but having read this author before made me give it a try. And I am so glad I did. Not only does Mr. Clegg give new life to a tired genre, he creates an atmosphere that makes you think you are actually in that time period. It is almost like Mr. Clegg time travelled to do his research. Highly entertaining and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Priest of Blood - Book 1

    Douglas Clegg creates a world of dark imagery and supernatural wonder. Creatures and characters who you care about, even though inherently evil. The line between horror and fantasy is one that not every author can traverse, but Clegg does it perfectly. Book 1 of this trilogy is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    A Master Storyteller

    Hooked from the very beginning. The Vampyricon take you to it's world of darkness and keeps you there. All the best of supernatural and fantasy in one! One of those rare books you just hate to finish!!!! Mr Clegg keeps topping himself with every book he writes. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    One of Douglas Clegg's finest novels

    I first became a fan of Douglas Clegg when I got a copy of his book Neverland at a library sale. Since then I've been hooked. I began collecting his hardcover novels and was extremely excited at the opportunity to get the beautiful limited edition hardcover of 'The Vampyricon Priest of Blood'. I am an avid fan of horror and vampire tales in particular. This was a book that I just could not put down until it was finished...yet I didn't want it to end, it was that good. Whether you are a fan of horror, vampires, or neither, you will find something to love in this book. Clegg tells a tale of an alternate history that is spellbinding and captivating. I am looking forward to the next book in the Vampyricon series. This is definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    A Classic in Horror Literature!

    In, The Priest of Blood Douglas Cleeg shows that he can hang with the greats. A fantastical blend of horror & fantasy that sets up a historical journey. Nothing he has done before will prepare you for this incredible saga. Highly reccomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Did It Again!!

    Once again Mr. Clegg has managed to write another book that grabs you from the first page and won't let you go. In simple words, it's fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    The New Vampire

    Douglas Clegg has re-invented the vampire. His book 'The Priest of Blood' is the most original approach to an ancient legend since Stoker devised 'Dracula.' Richly conceived and fully realized, this is a novel both truly frightening and deeply disturbing. Generally, the realization that a novel is the first of a series is cause for ennui at best. In this case, it is cause for celebration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    A unique and truely new novel

    I was able to buy the limited edition published by Shocklines. I started reading it to see how it started and just couldn't stop. Douglas Clegg has laid the ground work for a whole new mythos. He has managed to do what no one has done for me since Stephen King wrote Salem's Lot. Write a vampire story that totally captivated me. His writing style is superior. He can convey complex mythos background information and move the story forward. I frequently lost myself in the pages, experiencing the story more then reading it. Get as many of Douglas Clegg's novels as you can find. He is the rare author that never forgets that the flow and truth of the story for the reader is of utmost importance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2