BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Priestess of Avalon (Avalon Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

More like TEN stars!

I loved this book. I have read all the Avalon books, and they have caused me to become a believer in the Goddess, and far more interested in the religion of the Goddess and the Wiccan religion as well. The absolute love at the center of this book and the Goddess religio...
I loved this book. I have read all the Avalon books, and they have caused me to become a believer in the Goddess, and far more interested in the religion of the Goddess and the Wiccan religion as well. The absolute love at the center of this book and the Goddess religion spoke to me more than my Christian upbringing ever has. This book may change your life, as it did mine. You will never regret reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

I am now in the middle of 'Priestess of Avalon' and I am not at all impressed. First of all I am not a fantasy fan. I am a classics reader. However, when I started reading Mists of Avalon, I couldn't stop. There was so much to think about in that book that when I fini...
I am now in the middle of 'Priestess of Avalon' and I am not at all impressed. First of all I am not a fantasy fan. I am a classics reader. However, when I started reading Mists of Avalon, I couldn't stop. There was so much to think about in that book that when I finished it I was mentally exhausted but completely satisfied. I didn't know which character to sympathize with and who to love most. I found that even in fantasy there was something to think about. What can I tell you I was obsessed with that book. All I can say for this book, is so far it reads like a simple trashy novel, may be it'll get better at the end. Sorry for being so blunt, but it almost makes me not want to finish this book or try any other of her books. I want to treasure the feeling I had after I read 'Mists of Avalon' and not spoil it by reading her other books. If you want to feel completely satisfied read the following novels. I just finished both and don't know which I like best, they are both excellent. By the way I agree with one of the reviewers, the 'Priestess of Avalon' has some spelling errors in it.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    More like TEN stars!

    I loved this book. I have read all the Avalon books, and they have caused me to become a believer in the Goddess, and far more interested in the religion of the Goddess and the Wiccan religion as well. The absolute love at the center of this book and the Goddess religion spoke to me more than my Christian upbringing ever has. This book may change your life, as it did mine. You will never regret reading this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    A Great Book

    I read the Mists of Avalon last year and fell in love with Marion Zimmer Bradley's writing style and her emphasis on the power of women in a male driven world. I also fell in love with Avalon, and the mystery behind it. After reading the book I felt not only completly satisfied, being an Arthurian legend lover, but I wanted more of Avalon. I read The Forest House and Lady of Avalon. The links between the Avalon Series were amazingly constructed and when I read Priestess of Avalon I wondered why was it not in Lady of Avalon? My question was answered when I read the book and realized how much weight it carried on its own. Priestess of Avalon was a great book, and, though its not a Mists of Avalon, is still one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining historical fanatsy

    Late in the third century, Roman General Constantius leads his army in Britain. There the High Priestess Rian decides that the British throne must marry the Roman leader of the invasion. Princess Eilan is the chosen one, but she rebels and follows her own feelings. Though daughter to a King and the High Priestess, Eilan is exiled from her Avalon home for choosing love. <P>Unable to just do nothing, Eilan now known as Helena by those of the Roman Empire begins a trek to the Holy Land. She has a purpose feeling she is a modern day Paul spreading the word while seeking the connection between the ancient religions that she grew up with and the new Christianity. <P> Fans of historical fiction and fantasy will fully enjoy the latest Avalon tale. The story line centers on the legendary Helena, whose exploits come alive while providing intriguing insight into the era bridging Christianity and the pagan religions. Fans of the late Marion Zimmer Bradley as well as those of Diana L. Paxson and the two genres in general will relish PRIESTESS OF AVALON, a strong entry in a powerful series. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Very Moving

    A very moving book.I have read many books connected with spiritual relms and the like, and nothing has gotten close to it like the Avalon series has.I recommend this book to anyone.The writting is so intricate that it almost makes you believe that there was once a place called Avalon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    Another great MZBradley Book!

    Excellently written and thoroughly engaging. The characters are so human and their emotions so real, you'll weep and worry along with the Priestess herself! An absolute must-read for fantasy/adventure novel fans. If you've never read MZ Bradley's work before, this book (although it's not the first in the Avalon series) will make you want to read her other books, too -- and you won't be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    A Very Touching Book

    This book really takes you back to her time period and the lives of so many people. There were many times I wanted to cry. But, through the death, banishing, and fighting, this is a very captivating book. A must read for all Celtic lovers, and christopagans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    One of Bradley's best

    This is another novel of love and heart ache, of happiness and saddness. Avalon is brought to life in this book and makes you fell as if you are there yourself. In this magnificant place of wonder and enchantment. I am truely saddened that there will no longer be any novels to look forward to by this author. It is no doubt of mine that Marion Zimmer Bradley will live on forever through the books she has written, through the strong and independent female characters in her novels. She is my favorite author and I know that she will not be forgotten.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Farewell to a Legend

    For the last four weeks I have been living in Avalon. As I turned the last page of this fourth book and closed the cover, I found myself strangely sad and very lonely. For I had come to an end of my wonderful journey to Avalon. I will miss each character, but will always treasure the morning mist, hoping to see Avalon afterall.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Avalon fan

    i loved they way she made the characters seem as if you truly knew them and i find her style of writing facinating. she has an extreme talent at writing about the roman empire and the conflicts of women. i can't help be drawn to their pain and greif. i absolutly love her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Not impressed

    I am now in the middle of 'Priestess of Avalon' and I am not at all impressed. First of all I am not a fantasy fan. I am a classics reader. However, when I started reading Mists of Avalon, I couldn't stop. There was so much to think about in that book that when I finished it I was mentally exhausted but completely satisfied. I didn't know which character to sympathize with and who to love most. I found that even in fantasy there was something to think about. What can I tell you I was obsessed with that book. All I can say for this book, is so far it reads like a simple trashy novel, may be it'll get better at the end. Sorry for being so blunt, but it almost makes me not want to finish this book or try any other of her books. I want to treasure the feeling I had after I read 'Mists of Avalon' and not spoil it by reading her other books. If you want to feel completely satisfied read the following novels. I just finished both and don't know which I like best, they are both excellent. By the way I agree with one of the reviewers, the 'Priestess of Avalon' has some spelling errors in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    WHAT IT WAS LIKE TO WRITE WITH MARION ZIMMER BRADLEY by Diana L. Paxson

    Marion Zimmer Bradley was one of the first female science fiction authors to become established in the field. She could always be depended on for a well-plotted story, with characters about whom the reader could really care. Beyond that, she had a gift for expressing what people needed to hear at just the right time, which is no doubt why 'Mists of Avalon' (1983) continues to be a best-seller world-wide. In 'Mists', she re-visioned the Arthurian legend from the female perspective and presented the old religion of the Goddess in a new and compelling form. Other writers have tackled the Arthurian story (including my own book, 'The Hallowed Isle'). Marion's contribution to the mythos was the mist-veiled isle of Avalon and its magical tradition. To fully explore that tradition more books were needed. Since childhood Marion had loved the opera 'Norma', a story of a Roman officer and a Druid priestess, and wanted to make it into a novel. In 'The Forest House' (1994), she used this story to explain the early history of Avalon. Marion was my sister-in-law as well as my mentor. I had held her hand through the writing of 'Mists', and because of my background in history and pagan religion, she asked me to work with her in writing 'Forest House' and 'Lady of Avalon' (1997), which further explored the Mysteries of Avalon. In 'Priestess of Avalon', we wanted to deal more fully with the relationship between the mythic Avalon and the world of history. We had originally intended to make the story of Helena the middle section of 'Lady of Avalon', but quickly realised there was far too much story for the space available. Helena, who was not only an intriguing figure from British legend but a historical figure from one of the most pivotal periods in European history -- the triumph of Christianity -- needed a book of her own. Marion died when 'Priestess of Avalon' was half completed. As I continued with the writing, I realized that the story of Helena, who moved between the worlds of Avalon and Rome, could also be used to say something about Marion, who was at the same time one of the most influential writers of the neo-pagan revival and (at the time of her death) a member of the Episcopal Church. Marion believed in a Truth beyond creeds. Diana Paxson was Marion Zimmer Bradley's writing partner for many years. She completed 'Priestess of Avalon' after Marion's death in 1999.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2001

    Avalon ~ a place hard to let go of

    This is the first of marion zimmer bradley's book i've read it n' i loved it. now i'm dying to read the other 3 avalon books in the avalon series. it is a story of a priestess who takes risks, makes sacrifices, experiences life and deals with changes that came with one of the major turning points of history that'll forever change the world. the story makes me sad that the old ways are gone forever. the story is made more interesting when it is connnected to the historical events that happened during that time period. this book connects the 'lady of avalon' to 'mists of avalon'. it brings the series to a full circle. i recommend this book to all who may or may not have read other books by marion zimmer bradley!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    Loved it!!!

    I started this series about a year ago and I have been waiting for the next book in the Avalon series. It is an outstanding book that even brought me to tear. Marion Zimmer Bradley was a talented written and may she be remembered in her novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Excellent

    This is a wonderful book. Marion Zimmer Bradley is a great writer, one of my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    review of priestess of avalon

    ive read several of zimmer's other books including many of her darkover. ive also read her avalon series and although the novel was good it seemed to follow some of the same plot as the mists of avalon. otherwise a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    Farewell to Avalon...

    Unfortunately this last novel doesn't stand up to the wonder and magic of the first three; this was disappointing. It seems like they hurried the publishing of this book because it is scattered with spelling errors, which got annoying after a while. There just was not enough 'Avalon' to sustain this novel. The first three were far superior. Ms. Bradley will be dearly missed by her fans who fell under her spell...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3