Customer Reviews for

Priestess of the White (Age of the Five Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice read

    I picked this book up at a local discount bookstore. I was wanting something different and unique. As I started to read, It reminded me of Sara Douglass a little bit. I would have enjoyed it alot better without the winged people (Tryss)...I will say that Auraya was a very interesting and wonderfull character to read about. Probly one of my favorite female characters so far. Danjin Spear was another interesting character. So with all that said. Trudi Canavan came up with an awesome plot that was written well, but it wasnt gripping or a must read. If you want something to read in between series or just looking for a break, I suggest this book.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Great Story

    This book starts off sort of slow, but pickes up later in the book. The love story in the book is going to have alot of twist and turns throughout the series. It will be great to see how it goes from here. I was hoping for alittle more magic in the book, but hopefully more is to come with the next books. Overall it was a good book, and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    All in ALL a good book

    I am an avid reader of epic fantasy novels and this book was able to hold my interests. the Characters are believable and pretty well developed if a little bit on the cliche side. The main character is one of my favorites and I think all in all the plot was very well developed. Can't wait to finish book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Not as good as the black magician series

    I liked it but it's not as good as The Black Magician Series. At times it's even a little boring, but .. I still finished it and continued to Book two that seems more interesting. I still like her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    interesting conflicts

    dominate the books: 5 gods want to inspire peace and unity, but they must hide their cruel past, helping an elf-like race involves it deeply in a bloody war etc. Auraya navigates through contradictions and till the end we do not know: is she a puppet or an inspiration to her gods. Why is this books subject of so much mis-information? (1) The cover does not look like the picture here. (2) Contrary to info on the jacket, Auraya's friendship with an outcast healer is not hidden and it contributes to her success, in no stage of that relationship risks are more than minor, (3) contrary to the Klausner review, Auraya is a Circlian, Circlian and 'the White' are basically the same, Circlians do persecute Dreamweavers but the heroine influences Circlians for the better, Pentadrians are the implacable enemies of Circlians, and they do not persecute other sects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great fantasy

    Teenager Auraya¿s reward for saving the village of Oraylyn from Dunwayan invaders is being named a priestess to the ruling godlike White, heads of the Circlian religion. A decade later, Auraya is one of the chosen five White guardians to the people of Ithania.----- Auraya and her White peers pray they can bring the various races, not all human, together in northern Ithania. However hate and distrust runs deep between the groups that have fought one another seemingly forever. A Circlian cult has formed, led by the powerful sorcerer Kuar the Pendatrian and the disbanded Sorcerer¿s Guild, insisting they are the chosen ones and outsiders must die. This sect attacks the others especially targeting the pagan worshipping Dreamweavers to include Auraya¿s best friend before she entered the priesthood, Leiard. The objective is to sow hatred until Kuar and his followers kill the White and replace them with singular rule. Though feeling somewhat like a novice and not a high lord, Auraya knows she and her peers must confront Kuar and his followers.----- The first Age of Five fantasy is a fabulous thriller that combines a coming of age tale with a religious battle for control of the minds and souls of the people of Ithania. The story line is fast-paced as the audience learns about the White who serve as the Gods¿ guardians to all races and their adversary who uses the tools of bigotry and hatred to sow a powerful religious based insurgency. Genre fans will want to read this epic tale and look forward to the next saga LAST OF THE WILDS.---- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2