Customer Reviews for

The Primal Blueprint: Reprogram Your Genes for Effortless Weight Loss, Vibrant Health, and Boundless Energy

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

It's working for me....

First let me say that I do not personally know the author, nor am I any sort of medical or nutritional expert...but I know what works...at least for me.

I have tried the low fat diet(s), consumed grains (yes, those "healthy" whole-grain ones) and watched my waistlin...
First let me say that I do not personally know the author, nor am I any sort of medical or nutritional expert...but I know what works...at least for me.

I have tried the low fat diet(s), consumed grains (yes, those "healthy" whole-grain ones) and watched my waistline grow, seen my cholesterol numbers climb...and was recently diagnosed with type II diabetes as well. So much for the low-fat diet route.


Then...recently I stumbled across several works on studies surrounding paleo-like diets and their postive effects. I also don't think anyone can deny that the current diet of the American lifestyle "ain't getting it done." Obesity and now type II diabetes are on the rise, as well as other health issues related to the food we eat.

In short, this work really struck home with me. First, the premise seemed very logical...our bodies are still designed to be the hunter-gatherers that they were thousands of years ago...even though we now take our SUV's through the Mikey-D's drive through to get our food. (In other words, it is not us, but the food that we generally consume (today) that has changed.) Second...much of the highly processed food available today is pure junk...no matter what the commercials say. Third...our bodies did well "exercising" in specific ways...ways that help us to survive and thrive. Fourth...getting outside is not going to kill you. (Okay...I'm embellishing a little.) And finally, this diet is termed a "loose paleo" so there are some "modern" but simple foods that are okay. In other words...man didn't mess everything up food-wise as his civliization advanced.

As to the person who stated in his review that basically said he thinks "this diet, like all others, works due to calorie restiction"...well, he needs to actually TRY the thing before he lumps it in with every other diet out there. I admit... in the process I may have cut out some calories just by getting rid of certain food groups...but I have not felt hungry at all, and have increased my consumption in other areas. My meals and snacks seem to stick with me now. Admittedly, I think I went through "junk carb" withdrawls for a day or two, but it was worth it.

In short, the weight seems to be slipping off in a slow, but steady manner, I feel good, and my clothes fit better. I am eager to see if my blood work improves, but I do know my glucose levels seem to be more stable, due to self-measurement.


Anyway...my advice...give it a try. It may work for you as well. As for me...primal is the way to go.

Grok on!

posted by Phil on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Great...If you really believe in evolution

I believe that there must be some good information somewhere in this book, but I could not get 50 pages into it. All I got up to that point was a lesson on evolution. Amazing that someone can speak so highly of how incredible the human body is, but continue to preach of...
I believe that there must be some good information somewhere in this book, but I could not get 50 pages into it. All I got up to that point was a lesson on evolution. Amazing that someone can speak so highly of how incredible the human body is, but continue to preach of how we just evolved from apes; refusing to think that a higher power could have designed us this way. I didn't buy this to be pummeled with the evolution theory. I could only take so much. I gave it two stars instead of one because if you can get past the nonsense, there should be some decent info about eating better.

posted by Godfather64 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's working for me....

    First let me say that I do not personally know the author, nor am I any sort of medical or nutritional expert...but I know what works...at least for me.

    I have tried the low fat diet(s), consumed grains (yes, those "healthy" whole-grain ones) and watched my waistline grow, seen my cholesterol numbers climb...and was recently diagnosed with type II diabetes as well. So much for the low-fat diet route.


    Then...recently I stumbled across several works on studies surrounding paleo-like diets and their postive effects. I also don't think anyone can deny that the current diet of the American lifestyle "ain't getting it done." Obesity and now type II diabetes are on the rise, as well as other health issues related to the food we eat.

    In short, this work really struck home with me. First, the premise seemed very logical...our bodies are still designed to be the hunter-gatherers that they were thousands of years ago...even though we now take our SUV's through the Mikey-D's drive through to get our food. (In other words, it is not us, but the food that we generally consume (today) that has changed.) Second...much of the highly processed food available today is pure junk...no matter what the commercials say. Third...our bodies did well "exercising" in specific ways...ways that help us to survive and thrive. Fourth...getting outside is not going to kill you. (Okay...I'm embellishing a little.) And finally, this diet is termed a "loose paleo" so there are some "modern" but simple foods that are okay. In other words...man didn't mess everything up food-wise as his civliization advanced.

    As to the person who stated in his review that basically said he thinks "this diet, like all others, works due to calorie restiction"...well, he needs to actually TRY the thing before he lumps it in with every other diet out there. I admit... in the process I may have cut out some calories just by getting rid of certain food groups...but I have not felt hungry at all, and have increased my consumption in other areas. My meals and snacks seem to stick with me now. Admittedly, I think I went through "junk carb" withdrawls for a day or two, but it was worth it.

    In short, the weight seems to be slipping off in a slow, but steady manner, I feel good, and my clothes fit better. I am eager to see if my blood work improves, but I do know my glucose levels seem to be more stable, due to self-measurement.


    Anyway...my advice...give it a try. It may work for you as well. As for me...primal is the way to go.

    Grok on!

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    You won't regret it.

    Buy this book. I don't write reviews unless I am really passionate about the topic: this is one of the best books I've ever read. Why? Because it's not just a story you read once, enjoy, and forget about in a week. It's a lifestyle that is easy to adopt that will increase your quality of life in many ways if you're living like a typical American: you'll be much healthier, less stressed, more complimented; you'll actually enjoy life more. I read this book after I graduated college and once I made a commitment to adhere to the lessons in The Primal Blueprint, I am healthier than I've ever been. The 25 lbs of excess body fat I had accumulated slipped off with minimal effort, I have more energy, and I have gotten more compliments from friends and family than ever. The book is very well-written, an entertaining and informative read that's easy to pick up at your leisure (you'll want to do so often), and there is a fantastic community available at marksdailyapple.com to support you. This is the real deal... order the book, live how your genes want you to live, and GET PRIMAL

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Good Info

    Have been pouring over information contained in THE ZONE by Barry Sears, THE PALEO DIET by Lorne Cordain and added THE PRIMAL BLUEPRINT to my library of books on improving eating habits for life. While PB closely matches paelo, Sisson's writing is much more digestable - he's just a guy writing rather than a PH.D trying to prove his research. The information was easily understandable and his examples make his suggestions easily applied to everyday life. The book aside, in the first 10 days of my PB eating I dropped 4 pounds. I started at 129 so it's not as though weight falls easily off. I have been more productive in the gym and my energy levels are good.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great book!

    I am enjoying the information and the simple way it is explained. Very helpful.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    there are much better books out there

    I am all about eating whole foods and eliminating grains in a "paleo/primal" type way, but I do not believe in evolution. This book pushed the evolution THEORY way too much and left out practical information on eating as our ancestors did for me to benefit from this book. If you are looking for a great paleo book try Make it Paleo. It has great recipes, meal plans and doesn't focus on the evolution theory.

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Great...If you really believe in evolution

    I believe that there must be some good information somewhere in this book, but I could not get 50 pages into it. All I got up to that point was a lesson on evolution. Amazing that someone can speak so highly of how incredible the human body is, but continue to preach of how we just evolved from apes; refusing to think that a higher power could have designed us this way. I didn't buy this to be pummeled with the evolution theory. I could only take so much. I gave it two stars instead of one because if you can get past the nonsense, there should be some decent info about eating better.

    7 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    DISAPPOINTED!

    Book is basically what we already know and has been written and rewritten by other authers as well, basically eat fruits, vegetables, and meat, watch your portions, excercise, and stay away from anything with additives, preservatives, ect, ect.....same oh same oh...a waste of money

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Read this

    If you are having trouble with cholesterol or blood sugar then this is a great diet for you! The "primal" first part of the book is a little much to get through but the concept is really really good. In two months following this program, I dropped over twenty cholesterol points and my sugar went down considerably where I was no longer borderline. Amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Outstanding Primal/Ancestral Plan

    I have to say that I love this book. While I don't consider myself to be a "rabid" paleo/primal person, I loved that this book takes a person step-by-step through finding a way of eating AND a way of moving that helps even those who are struggling with health issues to find a newer, healthier path.

    For myself, as someone with multiple health issues that are not related to diet, being able to take control and see real improvement in my general health through Mark's well-written and carefully detailed book has been a real blessing. I'd strongly recommend this book to anyone who is wondering why YEARS of nutrition and fitness efforts have left them frustrated and perhaps even in worse shape than when they started -- the turnaround point is here!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Perfect for those who want to see comparisons between primal lifestyle (i.e. eating, rest, and fitness) and "modern" living.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Not current revision of book

    I find once again that barnes and noble is offering the outdated version of a health book. This book was updated and improved in 2012.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Feral

    CHAPTER 1~
    "Rise and shine, Crowlake!" A cheery voice mews loudly, pulling me from my sleep.
    "Relax, Sesamepelt." I sigh, looking up at my yellowy gold tabby sister, whose blue eyes are wide with excitement. We had become warriors two moonhighs ago.
    "Oh, c'mon, sis! Tigerleap and Onetail are taking us on patrol!" Sesamepelt answers, bouncing around.
    "That's why you're so excited. Two toms are going with us." I grumble.
    "Oh, come on! I get Tigerleap. He's MINE!" She purrs, looking over her shoulder dreamily.
    "Yeah, we'll see." I mutter, grooming my black pelt. I can just see the white fleck over my black nose. I bound out of the den, knocking over Sesamepelt and stopping front of the toms.
    Tigerleap, a handsome chocolate brown tom with amber eyes and a thick pelt, is standing looking alert and ready. Onetail, a gray tom with white paws and green eyes, is sitting down, looking bored and tired.
    "Hey. Where's Sesamepelt?" Tigerleap asks.
    "Here! I'm here!" My sister gasps, hurrying over to join us. "Sorry about that... Lionclaw had a question." She explains.
    "Oh, no problem. Most of us are at the age where we're... mingling." The young tom meows.
    "We... we weren't MINGLING. Just chatting." Sesamepelt stutters.
    "Yeah, right." Onetail whispers to me. I chuckle.
    Tigerleap purrs, and the four of us pad into the crisp leaf-fall forest.
    "We're hunting. It's almost leaf-bare, and we need to stock up the fresh-kill pile. Creekheart is gathering herbs for Leafstep, so we might run into her. Or Minnowfur and his patrol. They're checking the EarthClan border." The brown tom explains, searching the trees. He raises his tail, stopping us. "Pheasants." Hisses Onetail. "Tons."
    We freeze, looking ahead. "Fan out. Surround the clearing. This'll get crazy. Get however many you can." Tigerleap instructs quietly. I nod and pad around one side, watching.
    "So many... that'll feed the Clan for moons..." I breathe. I think of my mother, Sunnycloud, and her newest litter—Secretkit, Dartkit, and Smallkit. My siblings. The look on their faces at the pheasants...
    "Go!" Tigerleap's command pulls me to the present. I lunge forward, grabbing a pheasant's throat in my jaws. I swipe another, struggling through the storm of feathers. I lash out and bite blindly, sometimes catching the birds and sometimes missing. Finally, there's silence, except for our labored breathing.
    "Good. Very good." Tigerleap nods. "Sesamepelt, run back to camp and get Quickfeet and Cottonsnow. To help carry these."
    She nods and darts off. I look around. Pheasant blood staind the ground, and there's feathers everywhere. Pheasants lay all over the ground... dead. I sheathe my claws and blow a feather off my nose.
    After some waiting, Sesamepelt returns with Quickfeet and Cottonsnow. We all gather as many pheasants as we can carry, and hurry back to camp.

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Great book and plan for someone wanting to make a change!

    The Primal Blueprint is a great program. The book is well written and very informative. I would highly recommend this program to anyone wanting to make a change in their life. When you follow the program you will feel great and see dramatic weight loss. It is not a diet and a get skinny in a week plan, but you will see healthy changes for the rest of your life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    A live Changer

    My life has changed after reading this book and applying the eating and exercise habits. Wow, did I get eating habits all wrong for my body. I highly recommend this book along with the cookbooks. 6 weeks primal and never felt better in my LIFE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    No thanks

    I will admit that I bought into this philosophy for exactly 6 weeks and then realized this guy is just making excuses for eating like this all the time. Eliminate any food group and you will have weight loss. If it works for him and others, fine, but it is not sustainable long-term.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pros: Excellent, detailed, eye-opening guide to problems and con

    Pros: Excellent, detailed, eye-opening guide to problems and consequences of the SAD (Standard American Diet). More than a diet book, it's a lifestyle book!




    Cons: May be too much science for some readers. May not be your cup of tea if you're not a Paleo fan.




    "The Primal Blueprint" was my first ever introduction to the Paleo diet over 3 years ago. At that time, I had never read anything like it before and have run across few other health books with such detailed insight about why we should eat and live a certain way. Most books tell you what to eat, when to eat, and how much to eat. In "Primal Blueprint", the focus is on WHY you should eat a certain way and why the author believes that this will lead to a more healthy life. If you are looking for a more natural-based way of eating and living, this is definitely a book to consider as part of your reference. 




    One of the unique features of the book is that the author (Mark Sisson) doesn't just give you a list of guidelines ("Eat this" or "Don't eat that). Sisson practically beats you over the head with statistics and research supporting those guidelines. He really wants you to know where he is coming from. If you're a person who is highly 




    Another aspect of this book that I found unique was Sisson's unique of a fictinal character, Grok, to illustrate his principles. Grok is the quintessential caveman-lean,strong, and wise in all things nutrition and survival. Sisson provides this character to give an example of how believes mankind ate and lived during the caveman era. He contrasts this with "Korg", which is the modern-day equivalent (in other words us) as an example of how we should be eating. While Sisson's use of Grok and Korg is highly idealized, it is an analogy that should be considered. I strongly believed that we have veered off course without our diet and using Sisson's "Grok vs Korg" can provide a way to guide one's eating decisions.




    This is an incredible book and one that should be in every Paleo dieter's reference. There is a foundational book from which you should base all other books from!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    This book shows the science behind what makes modern day food ch

    This book shows the science behind what makes modern day food choices bad. By following a few rules the author shows how we can get back to our ancestral roots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Excellent and logical - will free you from the chains of modern fitness!

    Very good book on a trendy concept of what to do with our bodies to get the best out of life. From an evolutionary perspective the concept is rock solid: our current body and genome evolved 200 thousand years ago to operate in a certain way. The ideal would be for us to mimic the environment we evolved to survive and thrive in so our genes give us the best they can. You don't need to drop your cell phone, tv, video games and stuff, you just need to "ADAPT"!
    Great read, chock full of scientific explanations and charts with summaries. Easy to read, understand and come back to.
    One caveat, everything is written with the male in mind and I believe, as a woman, that some things are not perfectly applicable for us. I believe a revision to include more gender specifics is needed. Hopefully in a future edition that gap will be closed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    have not read the book yet

    have not read the book yet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Definitely an interesting book, as Sisson is trying to level him

    Definitely an interesting book, as Sisson is trying to level himself with the discordance
    of our natural bodies. Though this information may seem universal however I wish
    he would have focused on the differences of meat that we consume a bit more.
    Also, to anyone complaining about the evolution in this book- get over it. This
    book follows the current science and evidence. Sure, evolution is "just" a theory but remember so is gravity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8