Customer Reviews for

Primal Waters (Meg Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Please Read!

Would anyone mind telling me what the second book is called or where to find it? The first was amazing, but I'd rather read the series in chronological order. If it's of any help, I'm using a nook SimpleTouch. Thanks for reading and hopefully helping!!! :)

posted by 17359768 on August 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

More a nibble than a mouthful

What is it about books and their covers? I picked up Primal Waters without really looking at it, not realizing it was third in a series. This is the first Steve Alten book I¿ve read, and I don¿t really understand the enthusiasm some of his fans have for him. He¿s good, ...
What is it about books and their covers? I picked up Primal Waters without really looking at it, not realizing it was third in a series. This is the first Steve Alten book I¿ve read, and I don¿t really understand the enthusiasm some of his fans have for him. He¿s good, but certainly not great. The entire premise is outlandishly farfetched. It seems a bit strange that three Megalodons would leave the depths of the Mariana Trench at the same time, and stranger still that they all happen to cross paths with members of the Taylor family. The characters are not terribly well developed, it is difficult to really identify with any of them, and the dialog is stilted and unlikely. The villain who arranges for Jonas Taylor to meet with one of the Megs is almost a parody of James Bond¿s foils. The most interesting and compelling scenes are those featuring the Megalodons and, fortunately, there are enough of those to keep the book moving. The book was good enough that I will probably read Meg and The Trench, but I doubt I¿ll be urging others to do the same

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Please Read!

    Would anyone mind telling me what the second book is called or where to find it? The first was amazing, but I'd rather read the series in chronological order. If it's of any help, I'm using a nook SimpleTouch. Thanks for reading and hopefully helping!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alten proves once again to be a worthy heir of Benchley

    In the third book of the Meg series, Jonas Taylor must now confront appropriatlely enough three Megalodon sharks. Jonas' relationships with wife and duaghter are brought to the forefront to develop his character. Alten explores the "Dad" side of Jonas's personality to make him a more believable protaganist. Alten also uses the literal separtation of Jonas and Terry as a metaphor of the potential separation of their marriage.
    Alten once again teaches his readers a significant quantity of information about underwater life, oceanography and shipping and history. Flashbacks to the Pleistocene era aid in demonstrating the apparent destiny of the species to survive. This book may be the most critical to the hypothesis that the Megalodon shark could have continued to survive into the modern era. This series is a good hook for a young reader trying to find what they like as long as they are mature enought for violence and sex (human and shark).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding!!!

    Steve,s done it again sat me in my over stuff chair for hours. I just can't find a stopping point. Please don't forget to read the first book[Meg]and the second book [The trench]before reading this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    More a nibble than a mouthful

    What is it about books and their covers? I picked up Primal Waters without really looking at it, not realizing it was third in a series. This is the first Steve Alten book I¿ve read, and I don¿t really understand the enthusiasm some of his fans have for him. He¿s good, but certainly not great. The entire premise is outlandishly farfetched. It seems a bit strange that three Megalodons would leave the depths of the Mariana Trench at the same time, and stranger still that they all happen to cross paths with members of the Taylor family. The characters are not terribly well developed, it is difficult to really identify with any of them, and the dialog is stilted and unlikely. The villain who arranges for Jonas Taylor to meet with one of the Megs is almost a parody of James Bond¿s foils. The most interesting and compelling scenes are those featuring the Megalodons and, fortunately, there are enough of those to keep the book moving. The book was good enough that I will probably read Meg and The Trench, but I doubt I¿ll be urging others to do the same

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Better Than Benchley's "Jaws"

    If you enjoyed books like "Kronos" and "Jaws", then you'll love this book even more. Meg: Primal Waters, the third installment in the Meg Series, continues with a perfect mix of the thriller and action-based themes. The plot, although not entirely original, incorporates the return of a previous villain in a nefarious scheme to silence the famous paleobiologist Jonas Taylor. In the procees, Jonas, his wife and their children Danielle and David, including many hapless victims, cross the paths of three megalodons in a muti-layered story sure to sate your imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Way to Pass the Time

    Steve Alten isn't the best writer, in fact the books have a tendency to be formulated, repeat unnecessary information, and can be a bit tedious in spots. However, if you are just looking for a fun read, something to break up reading more informative and well-written books, you could do worse than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Lainey

    It was sckary the movie was sckary but i relly loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great addition to series

    Alten has done an excellent job of returning back to what made the series great, the Meg. If you are looking for a well written creature feature, this is the one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Good read, but #2 is soooo much more intense!

    I love this series but this one has some dragging slow information parts, but all in all a good book. Pleade start with #1 so U can follow the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    Plot and characters are riduclous.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    BEST SERIES EVER!

    Steve alten is one of the best authors ever on the face of the earth. I just started domain a couple of months after i finished meg i love steve hes an awesome author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Meg2412

    this bok js really gooooooooood!i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    meg 3

    great great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT AS GREAT AS HIS OTHER NOVELS

    I have read many of steve alten's books including MEG THE TRENCH DOMAIN GOLIATH THE LOCH. so far this was the worst book in the meg series. This book was also his worst novel. But still it was a good book an i would recommend this to anybody who loves a great adventure. Some parts got a little far fetched. "Like an old cannon taking down a mega yacht" or "A sixty two year old swimming in the ocean for an hour straight" or "Angel eating seven baseball finatics at once." It seemed like steve was just trying to make a book of blood and guts and not on about a shark. He went a little too far on the shark attack scenes, which there were way too many of them. ALL in all it was a good book, not great but a good book that i would reccommend to a lot of people.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    TOTAL MEG FAN!!!

    I am in love witht the MEG series and Steve Altens books are full of unpredictible and over whelming events that are amazing and the details of the encounters with the MEG are fantastic and reviting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    BEST SHARK BOOK SERIES EVER!!!!!

    this is just simply amazing. Extremely gripping and an amazing story line through out the series. Steve Alten makes me fell like I was actually there.... in the mouth of the meg. Simply amazing and i can wait for Meg 4 Hells Aquarium..... HAHA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Great

    This third book in the series reminds me of the first Meg book. Thrilling and action packed. Alten's Meg series makes Jaws look like a goldfish. Can't wait for the fourth installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    give me a break

    I'm astounded at the number of 5-star reviews for this pulpiest of pulp fiction. The plot is so fantastically unbelievable, the writing absurdly over-the-top, and the characters as one-dimensional as they come. I stumbled across this in the 'what we're reading' section of a local bookstore... I can only guess that the glowing recommendation came from a college kid (or younger) with too much summer time on his hands. I mean: give me a break, folks. Nothing more than a series of 'gee, what can I do now to have the shark attack top the last one...?!' If you want a good shark story or two, look for Peter Benchly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Alten is the master!!!

    His beasts make the ones from Jurassic Park look like puppies! Read the Meg series and the Loch, you have a master storyteller who combines science with real good ole'fashoined storey telling and get the best of both worlds. Each book get better without question imo, as he develops as a writer.....Meg was very good, Primal Waters was great......The Loch was a Homerun! I just can't wait till his next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    one of the best books ever

    This is the best book in the entire world. I can't wait untill the movie comes out. I am waiting on the edge of my seat. The book was so excelent i almost forgott everything else. It was the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5