Customer Reviews for

Primeval (Event Group Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Event Group and David Golemon continue to impress

    Full disclosure - I love this series. With that being said I sometimes feel like some of the publishers miss the point of this type of writing. Publishers Weekly reviewed it as a silly plot and not worth the time. Golemons books, however, are exactly what escapism and action/adventure are supposed to be about. I read another reviewer, on this site, that said if you want realism to go read a biography. I couldn't agree more. I want to be entertained when I pick up this type of book. Golemon delivers what I'm looking for. I enjoy how he takes a historical fact, in this case the Romanovs, and interjects some what-if. To his credit as each new book has come out his writing has gotten better and better. So for me this book delivered everything I was hoping for. I was entertained. The action was fast paced. I enjoy the familiarity with the characters and the fact that there is more to come. Jack and his teams relationship with Farbeaux should make for some excellent stories moving forward. I will be waiting for the next Event Group adventure. If you enjoy James Rollins or the action/adventure genre take a chance on David Golemon.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Another great book!

    I've yet to be disappointed by an Event Group novel, and this one was no exception. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    WOW!

    After reading the whole book in one seating, all I could say to myself afterwards was, "Wow!" Plot-wise, the story has its twists and turns that make it a classic Goleman and Event Group story. Okay so what's going on. I won't say much so as not to reveal too much (and ruin it), but suffice it to say that the story revolves around a rescue. 2 mysteries show up, Romanov and Bigfoot. Both mysteries are concepts that have been in circulation for awhile, so that's not surprising. What is surprising is really how the two mysteries meet and take care of each other. Okay, I'll stop there. If you like thrillers filled with some sci-fi elements, conspiracy theories, and legends coming to life, then I suggest reading the whole Event Group series. David L. Goleman is firmly placed in my must-have/must read bookshelf. I can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Great stuff - as usual!

    Golemon delivers once again. His blending fun fiction (legends and myths) with factual history is highly entertaining. The story lines are juicy and the pace is perfect. Yes the editors at St. Martin's need to tighten up a bit, but the book is a real page turner, nonetheless. I can't wait to get a hold of the next installment in this series and have already pre-ordered his upcoming ghost story, "The Supernaturals" - a perfect read for the Halloween season!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    Haven't read it yet, but love the series

    Ok, I haven't picked this up yet...but don't get me wrong. I love this series. I end up usually reading it within a day of buying it because I CAN't PUT IT DOWN. Really, isn't that what you want in a book? A plot so interesting so dynamic that you can't put it down? This is what the Even Group Series is all about. Gripping thrillers that you just don't want to leave behind. For all you conspiracy buffs this is the series for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Primival

    Theres a show called primeval on netflix it has portals that ar in two groups one allows prehistoric anmals in are world the other is ones from the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    My wife recommended the book and I was reluctant because our preferences when it comes to reading do not always mesh. I gave it the old college try and after a few pages was caught up in the story, the characters and devoured it in a short time. The opening doesn't give you a clue as to where the story is going until you move forward in time and the plot thickens and the action just keeps on going. There are not many places in the book where you lose interest and the tale is a bit on the fantastic side but still within the realm of remote possibility so the suspension of disbelief is not to difficult. There are no dragons, trolls or goblins but there are creatures and the author's description of them give you a nice piece to get your imaginary tentacles around. I never like to have someone tell me to much about a movie or book so I wont keep going but I found it a great read and am looking forward to reading David's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I'm looking forward to reading more!

    I've read most of the Event Group Series and have enjoyed them. I like a terrific fast paced thriller that keeps me turning pages in anticipation of what might happen next. I enjoy thinking outside the box even if sometimes the ideas might be far-fetched. Reading is an escape for me and the chance I get daily to use my imagination. Call me shallow if you will but as much as I appreciate the story inside the book, I like a good cover (even with the e-book versions). The cover for the book gives me a hint of what's going to be inside. I love the cover for Primeval. I enjoyed the storyline and was relieved that Golemon was able to bring the story full circle answering the questions I had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Good story, poorly written.

    Primeval is the fifth book in the Event Group series by David L. Golemon. I've enjoyed the storyline throughout the series, and the author has done a fair job of developing the characters along the way. My only real complaint with Mr Golemon is his immature writing style. Mr Golemon starts sentences with the word "Suddenly" so many times, that I'm beginning to wonder if he ever took a college (or even High school) writing course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Great Series

    I have read every one of the Event Group series and they have all been riveting. This one is no exception. David Goleman is a great author and I would highly recommend all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Started out great...

    ...but soon deteriated into a slow moving, tedious bore which was made worse by the myriad of grammatical errors plaguing the text. It could have been (and should have been) so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    An entertaining read but............

    The author has compelling concepts and a gift for storytelling but, OMIGAWD, the frequent grammar errors along with an occasional misspelling are annoying to say the least; they just stop the flow of the narrative. So, it makes me wonder, who proofread the text? What are editors for?

    C'mon, David, take a grammar class or two and actually pay attention to your spelling; just because it sounds like the word you want doesn't mean it is. Your prose could be so much better with a little coaching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Best Storyline To Date

    BUT, there's still a major problem with the typos and incorrect names. Alexandria rather than Alexandra, and Giganticus Pithicus rather than Gigantopithecus. TERRIBLE! Come on David, get yourself a new proofreader.
    However, the storeyline is outstanding, with the mixture of espionage, covert government operations, and just the right amount of scifi added to the mix. Golemon does a great job in expanding the persona of the characters with each new episode.
    On page 355 of the hardback, there is a flaw to the "trickery" concerning the solar flare aspect.
    Unlike many other readers, I try not to let the typos and incorrect names ruin my enjoyment of a good story. But, as a retired anthropologist, Giganticus Pithicus was a bit much to take. Still a fun read, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Deterred from purchasing entire Event series

    Had heard all the hype about this Event series, so decided to start with "Primeval" first and then, if it was really good, go back and order the other four in the series to read as well and add to my collection. Generally, if I find an author to be exceptionally good, I will purchase all of his or her other books to read as well. However, in reading the other online reviews of Golemon's books, I was quite concerned at how so many commenters noted the distracting grammatical errors and obvious lack of proofreading in all the novels. Last night I made it to page 66 of "Primeval," and I have to agree: There are so many stupid grammatical errors, and this is extremely distracting from what should have been a pretty good read. For one major example, when Golemon is referring to Tsar Nicholas of Russia and his wife, the Empress Alexandra, more than once he calls her "Alexandria," which we educated know as being a city, not the name of the Empress of all the Russias. I am very disappointed and, depending on how bad the rest of this book is, may not even want to keep it in my collection. And I sure as heck will not be purchasing the other four novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Golemon weaves another great tale

    If you are looking for realism, go read a biography. If you want an action packed adventure that compels you to keep reading, pick up any of Golemon's 5 Event group novels. Between the re-telling of the Romanov story and a new-ish take on Bigfoot-type creatures, this is a good book. David L. Golemon's Event Group is a unique twist on the elite soldier adventure. If this is the first of his books that you read, I am willing to bet it won't be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    The Event Group adventures continue...

    Colonel Jack Collins and the Event Group adventures continue to amaze me. Since reading the first adventure of the Event Group, I've been hooked. Sure, the plots are "silly", but that's what fact-based fiction is all about.
    I haven't even read this installment yet, but I know that I won't be disappointed.

    A great page-turner is what I like, and that is what David L. Golemon delivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5