BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Prince Caspian: Superb

In the novel Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis, Lucy, Edmund, Peter, and Susan accidentally arrive back in Narnia. They come across a dwarf, Trumpkin, who works for Caspian (nephew of Miraz). Caspian's tutor, Doctor Cornelius, helps him escape into the wilderness of Narnia. ...
In the novel Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis, Lucy, Edmund, Peter, and Susan accidentally arrive back in Narnia. They come across a dwarf, Trumpkin, who works for Caspian (nephew of Miraz). Caspian's tutor, Doctor Cornelius, helps him escape into the wilderness of Narnia. King Miraz furiously searched for Caspian. Meanwhile, Caspian had sent Trumkin out to search for the kings of Narnia (Lucy, Edmund, Peter, and Susan). As they make their way to Caspian, they get lost. Lucy sees Aslan, who says that the Detour was his fault and that they should follow him. The two girls and boys split up and go separate ways. The boys find Caspian and Miraz arguing. This is when Peter steps in and fights Miraz. The very next day, Aslan creates a doorway for them to go through to go back to England. They soon arrive in the railway station like nothing had ever happened. There are many positives from this book. I like how one year goes by in our time when hundreds go by in narnian time. This book may seem very long, but if you really enjoy it, it will fly by. The book has some negatives in it too. I like how C.S. is telling two stories in the beginning (The kings and Caspian). Some of the words are very hard to understand. The book can get boring and long. C.S. Lewis writes in an expository manner by using descriptive words and explaining things that are hard to understand. She writes with many many details. If you like adventure and battles, this book is for you. The book flies by making you want to read other books in this series. There are many other books by C.S. Lewis such as the following: The "Chronicles of Narnia", Yours, Jack, Words to Live By, Mere Christianity, Space Trilogy, The Great Divorce: A Dream, and many more.

posted by Aweeeesome on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Okay...GOOD!...not really...

When I bought the boxed set before the first Narnia movie was released, the story of the Magician's Nephew pulled me into the realm of possibly the greatest writer of all time. I had a great time reading the first three. But when I started Prince Caspian, I don't know...
When I bought the boxed set before the first Narnia movie was released, the story of the Magician's Nephew pulled me into the realm of possibly the greatest writer of all time. I had a great time reading the first three. But when I started Prince Caspian, I don't know, maybe I was just really tired, but I couldn't make it through the book. It seemed quite sudden. A person blows the horn, and well, the 4 reappear in Narnia. Maybe I was really tired, I might give it another shot, but I know which books are good, I am willing to stay up late for them, but I don't think Prince Caspian met up to my standards.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    It is a great story!

    This book is about 4 children named Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy who were in the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. They go back to Narnia again. They met Prince Caspian who needs help to fight his evil uncle named Miraz who is the king of Narnia. Miraz killed the old Narnians and Caspian needs to be the new king of Narnia so that the Narnians can be free. My favorite part of the story was when Peter fought Miraz. I would recommend this book to 12-16 year old boys. They would like this book because it is filled with lots of action.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    awesome book!!

    I have finished reading the book The chronicles of Narnia 'Prince Caspian'. This book i would say is very interesting. In a a way i think this book is quite better than others that i have have read. Why you may ask, well because is has action and adventure with these four kids named Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensey. I really enjoyed reading this book. The reason is because, first of all, this book is on Narnia, and I happened to like the other books based on The Chronicles of Narnia. Next, this has action and is quite funny too. I really suggest for you to read this book, The Chronicles Of Narnia 'Prince Caspian'

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    LONG LIVE NARNIA

    They should make another movie!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    A lovely story! It's like a fairy tale for more grown-up childre

    A lovely story! It's like a fairy tale for more grown-up children. :-) I daresay, I even enjoyed "Prince Caspian" better than "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe". The writing is so clever, and the "people" and "creatures" (for the most part) are so charming (except for the evil ones). Looking forward to reading more of the Narnia series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Lucy

    Not yay. Bye.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great story, though doesn't match movie

    Be sure to read eithout expectations to enjoy it even more !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Great children's book!

    I felt that I should read them since I missed this experience as a child somehow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awsome Book

    This book so far is really good so and I am so glad I like the Narnia Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Highly recommended

    These books of the Chronicles of Narnia are very inspiring. I recommend then to people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    If u like it u like i LOVED this book and the movie

    It was good and adventure but kind of slow and not a good beging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Book

    This is another book for the same class that I mentioned in my last review. We have not had to read it yet for class, but I am very excited to begin reading it, since I have not read any of the stories in the Narnia collection. Along with this book, we will be watching the movie. I am looking forward to that to see how the book compares to the movie. I am hoping it will be quite interesting, since everyone that I have talked to says they love all of the Narnia books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable read

    I watch the movie before reading the book. It's a little different but I prefer the movie. However, it's still an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Prince Caspian is one of the many fantastic sequels of the Chronicles of Narnia series.

    Lucy, Edmond, Susan, and Peter, the four main characters, are summoned back to Narnia while they await a train that was to take them to boarding school. When they return to Narnia, they find their castle in ruins and a war going on. They have to fight to help Price Caspian prevail over his uncle and claim his rightful place on the throne. This was an outstanding book. Prince Caspian has many great characters. Trumpkin was memorable for he had to accept that there was such a place as Old Narnia, even if he felt it was all a hoax. Aslan was a capable guide for the foursome. Further, since Lucy believed that Aslan was still alive, she ended up saving Edmond, Susan and Peter a couple times before convincing them that Aslan was real. This book contained wonderful scenes. The old castle brought back many memories to the four children of times when they once ruled Narnia as kings and queens. The duel between Peter and Prince Caspian was action packed. You could imagine the swords cutting into the skin as you read. The night Caspian flew away from his uncle was described in vivid detail. This reader can still remember how bright the stars must have looked against the pitch black night. Prince Caspian contained a lot of irony and surprises. Just when you thought that Caspian¿s army would escape across a bridge, they found only running water where the bridge used to be. It was ironic when Prince Caspian killed his uncle after having been pinned down and almost conquered by his uncle. Also, when it looked like the children could return to Narnia forever, Aslan told Peter and Susan that they were too old to ever come back. In conclusion, Prince Caspian proved to be a glorious book that masterfully flowed from beginning to end. J. Barton

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Charlie's review

    Prince Caspin Author C.S Lewis There are five main charecters in the story Prince Caspin,Peter, Edmund,Susan,and Lucy.Prince Caspin is a boy whos parents died and he was adopted by his uncle who later on tries to kill him.So he runs away trying to find old Narnian creatures.Peter is the oldest of Susan,Edmund,and Lucy. He is the high king of old Narnia and a great fighter.Susanis the secound oldest and is a master archerer.Edmund is the third oldest and is also a graet fighter but he likes to put people douwn.Lucy is the youngest and is always triying to cheer people up.shes also agood medic. The story is about a boy named caspin,and his parents died and his uncle adopted him.He hade a nurse who told him about mistic creatures.Later she is taken away.Then his profeser tells him it's all true and that he is the true king of Narnia.Then he runs away and tries to bring back old Narnia.Then to over throw Miraz his uncle. the setting is in amagical land called Narnia and the time is unknown. The theme is about a boy named Caspin that is trying to restore magical creatures to Narnia and over throw his uncle Miraz. I like this story because I like magical things and creatures and battles and it's both the same thats why I like this story. I connected to this book by text to text because it's one out of seven other books I've read like The Horse and His Boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    Prince Caspian

    My review is about The Chronicles of Narnia Prince Caspian its about these four kids Peter, Susan, Edmand and Lucy that find their way into a different world called Narnia through a closet with a wardrobe inside in which they find a different world from theirs where they find out that they are kings and queens of this world and they become kings and queens after they beat the evil white witch and they were gone from their world for years and years but when they go back to their it seems like they've only been gone for just a few minutes and in this fourth novel they have to save the world of Narnia once again from evil and when they go back this time its through Susans magical horn and when they get back to Narnia were they regined for years it seems like they've been gone for a very long time their kingdom is ruble and nobody is there but their great king Aslan a huge lion king of Narnia helps them save Narnia also Prince Caspian is the nephew of King Miraz and is known as Caspian the Tenth, son of Caspian, and the true king of narnia. He is also called a Telmarine of Narnia, Lord of Cair Paravel and emperor of the Lone Islands. There also is Reepecheep he is the Chief Mouse he is the self-appointed humble servant to Prince Caspian and perhaps the most valiant knight in all of Narnia his chivalry is unsurpassed, as also are his courage and skill with the sword and him and Aslan help the kids save Narnia from evil once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Very Good

    Prince Caspian is the fourth book in The Chronicles of Narnia series. I enjoyed it because it brought all four of the Pevensie children back in Narnia. The first few chapters are a bit hard to get through, but after that, the story gets very complex and interesting. Overall, a very good read. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Not the best one, but still good.

    It was good. It wasn't as action packed as some of the others, but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Pretty Good Over All

    Prince Caspian is the fourth book in the Chronicles of Narnia series. It is about an adventure of how Edmund, Peter, Sue, and Lucy once again enter into the magical world of Narnia. They are faced with the task of saving Narnia from the cruel King Miraz's rule. King Miraz plans to wipe out the magical creatures and beasts of Narnia. His nephew and heir to his throne is Prince Caspian. Prince Caspian is sent off on a mission to join forces with the talking creatures of Narnia, Aslan, Edmund, Peter, Sue and Lucy as they face King Miraz's great army and fight for Prince Caspian's rightful throne. While this is a very good book, it is not my favorite out of the series. I do enjoy some parts of this book, but over all I found it a little bit slow and uneventful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Prince Caspian

    This was one of C.S. Lewis's best books! It is about a boy named Caspian and he is the prince under his Uncle Mariz, king of Narnia. Just when Caspian was about to become king, his aunt had a son. Now Mariz wants to kill Caspian but Caspian runs away before he can. While running, Caspian finds Old Narnia, which is talking animals. A couple of years later Caspian becomes king of Old Narnia. Then Mariz wants a war to start between him and Caspian, and he gets one. Now Caspian is in trouble and he blows Queen Susan's horn for help. Peter, Edmund, Susan, and Lucy come a.s.a.p. and help to defeat Mariz. And they do. I would really encourage you to read this book, and the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Prince Caspian Fullfills My Expectations

    Prince Caspian is the fourth book in the Chronicles of Narnia series. It presents an adventurous fantansy of how Edmund, Peter, Sue, and Lucy are dragged into the magical world of Narnia. They are faced with the task of saving Narnia from the cruel King Miraz's rule. King Miraz plans to wipe out the magical creatures and beasts of Narnia. His nephew and rightful heir to his throne is Prince Caspian. Prince Caspian is sent off on a mission to join forces with talking creatures of Narnia, Aslan, Edmund, Peter, Sue and Lucy as they face King Miraz's great army and fight for Prince Caspian's rightful throne. I find the book exciting because there are very few boring parts. I also like the book because of its spiritual relevance to God. Aslan symbolizes God in this book as well as all the other books in this series. He talks to Edmund, Peter, Sue, and Lucy and guides them through there adventure in Narnia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4