BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Prince and the Pauper

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Classic Book Category with very ADULT content

My 4th grade son was given the reading assignment of choosing a classic book for his report. While I am very supportive of what he reads and always read what he reads, either with him or on my own, I was quite surprised with some of the content in the book.

While s...
My 4th grade son was given the reading assignment of choosing a classic book for his report. While I am very supportive of what he reads and always read what he reads, either with him or on my own, I was quite surprised with some of the content in the book.

While some of the situations and lessons are great for kids to learn, it was quite bothersome and hurtful to my son to read about how the main character, Tom Canty, is treated by his father. While I certainly do not want to ruin the story, he is starved and beaten for not begging and stealing enough to his father's satisfaction. In continuing with the story, the Prince witnesses women be burned alive at the stake while their daughters grasp for them and one of them actually has her clothing catch fire.

Some parents may certainly be okay with their child reading content such as this, my son had a hard time accepting that he had to read and then write about this among other incidents that happened throughout the book.

The language is very difficult to understand as well. While the book was rated for his age group, I feel it would be more acceptable for older children who are more emotionally able to understand and accept that treatment such as what was endured throughout the book was tolerated in the time it was portrayed to have "happened".

The footnotes were extremely helpful and made the book a bit more easier to understand and more realistic in some ways.

Hope this review helps other parents in deciding whether or not this might be the best book for their child.

posted by tlevnh on May 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ick

I thought the story was very overdone and incredibly hard to get into. If you don't HAVE to read this book, DON'T.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Book Category with very ADULT content

    My 4th grade son was given the reading assignment of choosing a classic book for his report. While I am very supportive of what he reads and always read what he reads, either with him or on my own, I was quite surprised with some of the content in the book.

    While some of the situations and lessons are great for kids to learn, it was quite bothersome and hurtful to my son to read about how the main character, Tom Canty, is treated by his father. While I certainly do not want to ruin the story, he is starved and beaten for not begging and stealing enough to his father's satisfaction. In continuing with the story, the Prince witnesses women be burned alive at the stake while their daughters grasp for them and one of them actually has her clothing catch fire.

    Some parents may certainly be okay with their child reading content such as this, my son had a hard time accepting that he had to read and then write about this among other incidents that happened throughout the book.

    The language is very difficult to understand as well. While the book was rated for his age group, I feel it would be more acceptable for older children who are more emotionally able to understand and accept that treatment such as what was endured throughout the book was tolerated in the time it was portrayed to have "happened".

    The footnotes were extremely helpful and made the book a bit more easier to understand and more realistic in some ways.

    Hope this review helps other parents in deciding whether or not this might be the best book for their child.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    A Worthwhile Read

    Throughout history there have been many classic novels that have truly captivated many a reader¿s attention. These novels include one I¿ve recently read: The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain. This novel portrays the traditional theme of wanting a life different than your own. In this novel the prince, Edward Tudor, and the pauper, Tom Canty, long for things that their lives cannot provide: the prince wishes to play as a boy and the pauper wishes to be wealthy and renowned like the prince. The two, who are of the same age and similar appearance, end up switching lives after Edward allows Tom to wear his royal garments. The prince then leaves the palace still dressed in Tom¿s rags. The prince is thrown out and mocked. The prince learns the hardships of a pauper¿s life and Tom is able to enjoy some of the benefits, as well as some of the pressures, of the life of a prince. The prince¿s father then dies, leaving the role of king up to the next royal in line: the prince himself. A part of the book that I find especially intriguing is the prince¿s encounter with the pauper¿s father, John Canty. The prince finds John in hopes that he will be able to restore the young Tudor to his rightful position as prince. However, John assumes that the prince is actually the pauper trying to plead insanity to escape from punishment for bringing home no money. John viciously abuses the prince, asking the help of Grandma Canty in his mistreatment of the fatigued lad. This, in my opinion, demonstrates the evils of human nature. John¿s instinct to lash out at his own son is truly wretched, and yet sadly his nature is, in reality, similar to that of cruel individuals. In this same scene a lone man attempts to protect the prince, taking a horrid blow himself. This man represents the good of human nature: man¿s willingness to sacrifice himself for another. In addition, when John and his captive reach home, the pauper¿s mother and sisters try to protect and comfort the frail prince, though they also mistake him for Tom Canty. This scene is very touching because it shows the vast spectrum of human nature from horribly evil to incredibly good. The Prince and the Pauper is a truly touching novel that gives a detailed picture of life in 16th century England. The rich and the poor, as well as the good and the evil are all described in this exciting novel. Life was difficult for many a being at the time. Injustices were often suffered. However, by witnessing firsthand the cruelty and unfair treatment of citizens in his kingdom, the prince¿s character was strengthened, thus allowing him to learn to overcome such evil and become a just and kind ruler. This book is a very worthwhile read with a timeless and valuable lesson that relates to all of us who have ever yearned for a different life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    a reviewer

    The Prince and the Pauper was a pretty good book. In the beginning, I thought it was boring and slow. But, towards the middle of the book, the plot went faster and it was more exciting. I would recommend this book for people ages 10 and up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    By Giant Smart 1

    Ive read treasure island too this one too,although you might come across british words.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Prince and The Pauper

    A wonderful and enjoyable tale!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    ve-ry charming

    I chose to read this from a list for a book report. And I loved it. I think what makes this book kind of fun to read is to try and picture this beggar-boy in royal clothes and being assisted in nearly everything he does. And the lessons that can be gleaned are quite important. It was a very heart-warming story that I think everyone should read sometime in their life. It's one of those classics, that you just can't pass up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    A Fairly Enjoyable Piece of Literature

    Throughout history there have been many classic novels that have truly captivated many a reader¿s attention. These novels include one I¿ve recently read: The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain. This novel portrays the traditional theme of wanting a life different than your own. In this novel the prince, Edward Tudor, and the pauper, Tom Canty, long for things that their lives cannot provide: the prince wishes to play as a boy and the pauper wishes to be wealthy and renowned like the prince. A maze of twists and turns leaves everyone guessing as Tom and Edward experience the most exciting adventures of their lives. The Prince and the Pauper is a truly touching novel that gives a detailed picture of life in 16th century England. The rich and the poor, as well as the good and the evil are all described in this exciting novel. Life was difficult for many a being at the time. Injustices were often suffered. However, pain does not come without meaning, as one soon learns from reading the novel. Characters are able to learn and grow from even the most painful experiences. This book is a very worthwhile read with a timeless and valuable lesson that relates to all of us who have ever yearned for a different life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    A Legacy to Remember

    The novel by famous author, Mark Twain, explains what the adage, ¿the grass is greener on the other side,¿ really means. The Prince and the Pauper is a book that captivates readers. Two lone boys, Tom and Edward, switch clothes to found out about each others lives. The conclusion will leaves us all something to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    The Prince and the Pauper

    Did you ever want to be or act like someone else? Tom Canty, a very poor pauper, has a very painful life. Edward, a very rich prince, is living a good one. One day while Tom is begging for money and food he stumbles upon the kingdom¿s gates. A guard gives Tom a hard time, but Edward comes to Tom¿s rescue. He invites Tom into the kingdom where they talk about their lives. Tom wonders what it would be like if he became the prince. The prince swaps clothes with Tom. They can¿t believe how much they resemble each other. Soon after, Edward goes to yell at the guard that mistreated Tom. The guard mistakes Edward for Tom and pushes him out of the kingdom. I will never forget the story of the prince and the pauper. At times the book was hard to read, but reading farther into the book, I was able to relate and understand more. I could relate to it because there are so many times that I would like to be someone else. If you like an adventure, you will love this book, and you won¿t be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    A charming and captivating book!!

    This is a wonderfully written book, giving much detail to the charachters lifstyles in 16th century England.The Old English speech isn't that difficult to understand.This book is so endearing and I recommend it to anyone who loves a classic allegory based in that fascinating era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Great Book

    I thought this was a well written book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    The Prince and the Pauper a book I really enjoyed!!!!

    Jakkia Bess 10/19/01 Honors book rewiew title: The Prince and the Pauper a novel about characters who live the hard way. This book was such a wonderful book. It showed me just how some people lived backed in the day. Also it showed me just how people act when they have money. But over all it was a really good book. I did have some difficulties with the book though. I would have to say that the vocabulary was a little to understand but as the book continued i got the hang of it. On the other hand some words I just did not know, so I looked them up in a dictionary. Other than vocabulary the book was pretty easy. Another thing about the book that was excellent was the setting. Setting is a major part of a story. Setting brings the whole book together and it shows how the characters react to it. Now about the characters some were nice and some were very mean but mostly i like the prince the best. He is well mannered and respectful like me. Also he shows toward the end of the novel that he can be mean like his father but he would rather be nice to show people that he cares. I am much like that also i don't like to hurt people i like to make them think that i am nice too. Mostly i liked the fact that the prince turned out to be one of the most respected people because of his feeling and manners. So you can see that this book is one that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    The wonderful adventure of the Prince and the Pauper.

    Rebecca Zeller 10-15-01 Honors Book Review Title: The Prince and the Pauper The book I read was the Prince and the Pauper. I thought it was a great book. It was educational. The vocabulary was hard, but after a while of reading the book and the sentences that went along with each word that I didn¿t know I kind of figured out what the word meant. On the other hand some words I just did not know, so I looked them up in a dictionary. Other than vocabulary the book was pretty easy. I liked it cause the setting took place back in the sixteenth century and I like that time in History. I also thought that the details that were given about the setting, gave me a perfect picture in my head of what exactly what it looked like. I really like every exciting part in the book because they were each supported with detail and animation. The characters were all different. My favorite one was the Pauper because he reminds me of myself. The Prince also reminds me of myself, but that¿s the part of myself that I don¿t want to stand out, if you know what I mean. Anyways, the king dying was a big event for the Prince. He didn¿t take it very well cause he loved his dad and his dad loved him. That was different for the pauper because he was born to a family that didn¿t love him. Their are many similarities that each the Prince and the Pauper portray. They were each born on the same day, in the same town and they resemble each other very well. Then there are some differences between them both. They are nothing alike. One has a positive attitude towards life and the other thinks he only lives to have others worship him. Also, one is rich and royal and the other is poor and worthless. Both are special in their own ways. Tom Canty the pauper, well his dad was mean. He hit and abused him. He made him work for the family and the only reason he would every get to eat was if his mom risked herself to save him a small morsel of food, that he worked so hard by begging to get. Tom never wanted to beg but his dad didn¿t want him to learn. My favorite part in the whole book was when the pauper¿s mom did the test to see if he was really her son or if it really was the Prince. She held the candle up to his face cause Tom would always hold his hand with the palm out but this time the Prince did nothing, which showed her that he was not her son but the Prince. In conclusion I liked this book for several different reasons and each of them are explained in my writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    I like this book

    I like this book because it has sad moments and happy moments. I think it would be a very good book to read with you family. I liked it the best when the pauper was about to become a prince and the real prince comes in. It's kind of confusing, but in the end they help each other out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2