BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Prince of Fenway Park

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantasy and Reality Collide

After reading this book with 30 8th grade students, I asked them to write a review of the book and here is a snip it of the comments from the kids! What high remarks! Kudos to you, Julianna!

"A homerun for me! I loved listening to this book. Fantasy and reality coll...
After reading this book with 30 8th grade students, I asked them to write a review of the book and here is a snip it of the comments from the kids! What high remarks! Kudos to you, Julianna!

"A homerun for me! I loved listening to this book. Fantasy and reality collide, giving us an amazingly exciting book full of twists and turns. It was fun and a great page-turner, leaving me wanting more after every chapter."

"Kept me on the edge of my seat. This book had some excitement and funny parts in it. It was a bit confused at first when the fairies and other mystical characters entered the story."

"Good research about the baseball players. I don't like that the characters were fairies, but the final game was EXCITING!!!!"

"Learning facts about baseball and still hearing a mythical tale? GENIUS!!!! I stayed focused on the story through every page."

"I liked how there was a constant theme of good vs. evil present in the story."

"Remember the Titans for baseball"

"Connects to real people and struggles and makes the story heartfelt."

"At first, when it started talking about fairies, I didn't like the transition between reality and fairytale. I thought the Aunties and dad were just faking it and pretending for Oscar because he was young. When it got going, I got used to the make-believe concept, and I REALLY enjoyed it! It was a rollercoaster from beginning to end."

As a teacher, I am constantly searching for books that get kids interested and involved. The kids were begging for more of this book! I would definitely recommend this book to the young adult crowd and to media specialists for their collections. Boys and girls were enthralled!

posted by NatalieW81 on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

one of the worst books I've ever read

This book was selected as the Community Read for Hingham Middle School, maybe because some of the book takes place in Hingham and concerns a student attending HMS. But the book is so poorly written, the story so boring, that my daughter and I have yet to finish it even ...
This book was selected as the Community Read for Hingham Middle School, maybe because some of the book takes place in Hingham and concerns a student attending HMS. But the book is so poorly written, the story so boring, that my daughter and I have yet to finish it even a week before school starts. She's read six other books in the time we've been struggling to get through this one together. The details are often just plain wrong (like the way the characters leave HMS on Main Street in Hingham enroute to Boston, but take 3A where they pass through "Cohasset and other South Shore towns.") When the reader can't believe even the most mundane of details, how are we supposed to suspend our imagination to believe there are fairies living underneath Fenway Park?
I am disappointed with this selection.

posted by imadj on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    Fantasy and Reality Collide

    After reading this book with 30 8th grade students, I asked them to write a review of the book and here is a snip it of the comments from the kids! What high remarks! Kudos to you, Julianna!

    "A homerun for me! I loved listening to this book. Fantasy and reality collide, giving us an amazingly exciting book full of twists and turns. It was fun and a great page-turner, leaving me wanting more after every chapter."

    "Kept me on the edge of my seat. This book had some excitement and funny parts in it. It was a bit confused at first when the fairies and other mystical characters entered the story."

    "Good research about the baseball players. I don't like that the characters were fairies, but the final game was EXCITING!!!!"

    "Learning facts about baseball and still hearing a mythical tale? GENIUS!!!! I stayed focused on the story through every page."

    "I liked how there was a constant theme of good vs. evil present in the story."

    "Remember the Titans for baseball"

    "Connects to real people and struggles and makes the story heartfelt."

    "At first, when it started talking about fairies, I didn't like the transition between reality and fairytale. I thought the Aunties and dad were just faking it and pretending for Oscar because he was young. When it got going, I got used to the make-believe concept, and I REALLY enjoyed it! It was a rollercoaster from beginning to end."

    As a teacher, I am constantly searching for books that get kids interested and involved. The kids were begging for more of this book! I would definitely recommend this book to the young adult crowd and to media specialists for their collections. Boys and girls were enthralled!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    A

    This is the best book ever because of all the creatures and fantasy that's in it. My favorite caracter is the Pooka

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Great read for all ages.

    Bought the book for my grandchildren, ages 6 and 8. Also bought one for my husband. My grandson is reading it and enjoying it very much. When he finishes it he will discuss it with his grandfather.

    A great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    AWSOME

    Great book. Made me start wanting to read long books!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A book intended for ten to fifteen year old readers brings to li

    A book intended for ten to fifteen year old readers brings to life the underworld of the Curse of the Bambino; fairies, two headed annoncers, the smoker, weasel man and the pooka among others. They are the fans if you will of the curse. They have always only known it existed so they come to trust in it.
    Enter 12 year old Oscar, a mixed race boy who is dropped off on his secretive Dad, without notice to Dad or even Oscar. Oscar learns who his Dad really is, the part he plays in the curse and that he too lives in Fwnway Park.
    Full of many true to life details, including the Red Sox' notoriously anti integration stance, that bordered on outright racism. The 'N' word is even used several times but within believable historical context. History isn't always sanitized and pretty.
    Oscar takes a ride with the mysterious pooka and finds out what he needs to do to break the curse. Get the magic baseball that has been stitched together with red string by Babe Ruth himself!
    Oscar learns to be proud of his heratige, his family especially his Dad, and his place in the history of the curse and it's demise.
    Throw in a winner take all game of the good vs evil teams of Red Sox past and present, but as twelve year olds! It takes place in Fenway Park during the Red Sox ployoff series win over arch rival New York Yankees, in which the Sox overcame a 0-3 games deficit and went on to win their first World Sweeries in 86 years, or since 1918.
    Part fact, part fiction, liberally dosed with fantasy to help keep young readers glued to a sometimes difficult history of the Boston Red Sox.Reccomended for Red Sox fans of all ages, and baseball fans in general, it will prompt honest discussion of some of the more negative history of the Red Sox, while celebrating the end of the Curse of the Bambino.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Good book

    I really liked this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    one of the worst books I've ever read

    This book was selected as the Community Read for Hingham Middle School, maybe because some of the book takes place in Hingham and concerns a student attending HMS. But the book is so poorly written, the story so boring, that my daughter and I have yet to finish it even a week before school starts. She's read six other books in the time we've been struggling to get through this one together. The details are often just plain wrong (like the way the characters leave HMS on Main Street in Hingham enroute to Boston, but take 3A where they pass through "Cohasset and other South Shore towns.") When the reader can't believe even the most mundane of details, how are we supposed to suspend our imagination to believe there are fairies living underneath Fenway Park?
    I am disappointed with this selection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    the Prince of Fenway Park

    Although I think the novel is very creative and unique, I'm not sure a lot of kids will truly "get" all of the references in this story. However, the bizarreness of the characters and the adventures of Oscar and his father as well as their relationship will still captivate the reader, especially if they are die hard baseball fans. This would be a great book for an adult/child book club to do together as there are so many references to events and people from a bygone era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Wonderful

    I read this book last summer and it is awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great

    This book is great and is confusing at sometimes but is lovely but also scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    I love the sox and i love this book!!!!!

    LOVE THE SOX FOREVER!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    AMAZING

    This is an awesome book!!! Great for all ages :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    The best book in the history of baseball. I love it!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Will glock

    BEAST! IF YOU DO NOT READ THIS AND YOU ARE A REDWill Glock SOX FAN THEN YOU ARE AT LOSS!!!!!!!!!$!!!!!!!!!!$!!!!!!!!!$

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    History and fantasy a great combination!!!

    This book caught my eye because it was about the Boston Red Sox. My son was a fan from a little boy until he died in 2005. It not only was a story about baseball about about racial discrimination. It taught a very good lesson without being "preachy." It was a story that could be enjoyed even if you don't like baseball. It has a mixture of truth and fantasy. I would recommend this book to baseball fans and fantasy fans alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Students Love the Prince

    <u><a href="http://dowdell.mysdhc.org/bucket/prince.wmv"> Click here for a music video trailer for the book created by student D. S. using Animoto: http://dowdell.mysdhc.org/bucket/prince.wmv</a></u>....................

    <u><b>A Female Student's Wellthought Out Review and Commentary:</b></u>
    ...................
    The book "Prince of Fenway Park" is about a young orphan who is given to his adopted father for a short period of time while his adopted mother is away. While staying with his adopted father he is given the challenge of reversing the curse of Fenway Park and although he is doubted by most he is to go on and try to free all of the creatures cursed in the process. This one visit with his father gives him the opportunity of a lifetime to try and save all the cursed people with the help of the cursed themselves.
    In my opinion "Prince of Fenway Park" was a remarkably written story. It was exciting and adventurous, reaching into even the darkest corners of reality, bringing light to the truth of the past and showing a purpose to even the cruelest parts of life. It was an amazing fantasy for all of the curse believers and opens the eyes of the people who don't even acknowledge what everyone had to experience in the past . Although it was a fiction it also holds the truth and the key to the real world, and even though it seems so horrible to read something that explains everything that most people would try to avoid, I believe that everyone should read this book because it brings light to the dark and liberates the heart from fear giving all a shocking realization of forgiveness, for those who are able to forgive the past can live in the present and will no longer have to dwell on something that is diminishing and withering away. -N. T. ...........
    This book is about a twelve year old
    Named Oscar Egg believes that he is
    Cursed, just like the Boston Red Sox.
    He is living with his adopted parents,
    His real parents abandoned him, but he
    Lives with the adopted parents.
    ........
    But Oscar doesn't know that the Red
    Sox and the creatures inside Fenway
    Park really are cursed-a curse that
    must be broken before the Sox can
    finally win the World series and the
    Cursed Creatures can live free.It's
    Really up to him to Oscar to break
    And he'll have some help...but old
    Curses aren't broken easily.
    .......
    This book to me is a very good book because
    Even though Oscar is a adopted child he
    Is a strong kid who goes through a lot?
    Trying to break the curse he goes through a
    Lot of trouble to break and ends up breaking
    It with some help but I think this book has a
    Little strong racist terms which is kind of un-
    Comfortable.
    <i>Reported by; V. B.</i>
    ........
    <b><u>Another Male Middle School Student's Take:</b></u>.......
    In the "Prince Of Fenway Park" the Red Sox have failed to win A World Series since 1919 when they traded Babe Ruth To the Yankees. Ever since then everyone felt like they were cursed. Oscar Egg was one of those fans who thought so. But nobody ever thought that the curse was real. They definitely did not know that the curse involved banshee's, fairies, Horsemen and even an orphan named Oscar Egg. Oscar was only 11 When He found out his adopted parents, who split up, and supposed aunts Were all hiding a secret from him . his dad has another life under Fenway Park

    Find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    Librarian's Take on the Prince

    have been a fan of the author's work since The Anybodies first introduced me to her unusual blend of humor and emotion that fills her books for young adult/juvenile readers. Reading this book I found that same mixture but with a sharper theme and a more fleshed-out main character.

    This was clearly written by an author who loves baseball, the stories of legends, but also wanted to educate and make people think about the undercurrent of racial discrimination in sports and the courage it took individuals to stand up to and eventually overcome it. To that end the fantastic and horrifying creatures that roam its pages, are in sharp contrast with the historical use 3 times of the foul n-word. The author explains in the back why she made this choice and I agree with her reasoning. It gives the curse more depth, adds historical accuracy and makes the victory all the sweeter in the end. I highly recommend this book for all middle school students and librarians! My students agree as you will read and watch below!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    A Great Story for Everyone!

    When I first sat down to read this book, I was expecting a simple story about a kid who likes baseball. After the first chapter, I discovered that it was much more than that. By the end of the book, I felt moved by the main character (Oscar) and his growth through out the story.

    Almost any person can relate to Oscar's character. At the beginning of the story, he is trying to figure out his purpose and how he fits in to the world. Soon enough, he's faced with an enormous obstacle, but views it as a positive challenge. Oscar embarks on this challenge and develops as a character while learning important life lessons inluding the importance of teamwork, staying true to oneself, facing adversity with honesty, and how to overcome the ugliness of racism.

    I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a fun, yet deep story with real life connections. "The Prince of Fenway Park" contains many great lessons to teach youth. Even though the challenge that Oscar faces is set in a fantasy genre, his methods (and attitude) are very admirable and would make for a great rolemodel for any person who is facing an obstacle.

    Kudos, Ms. Baggott, you've written another great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    If you like fantasy, or Boston Red Sox. You'll love this book.

    Sinking Springs Elementary
    Mrs. Antoun's Class

    Review #1
    The Prince Of Fenway Park could be for baseball fans and fantasy lovers. The main character Oscar, an orphan, feels like his family doesn't love him. Oscar lives with his mom above a steamy laundromat, but his dad lives in Boston near Fenway park, home of the Red Sox. The adventure really begins when Oscar gets dropped off where he and his father, Malacai Egg meet, so his mom can go off with her boyfriend Marty Glibb, A.K.A, King of the Condos. Oscar wasn't that thrilled because his farther always acts sickly. As night falls, Oscar must return to his father's home where he figures out he's not the only one that's cursed. Oscar is determined to break it. Will he break the curse? Read more to find out! We thought the book was a great mixture of baseball, fantasy, and realistic fiction.

    Review #2
    If you like fantasy, or Boston Red Sox. You'll love this book. In The Prince Of Fenway Park the main character , Oscar, dwells with his single-mother. He is bullied because he's adopted by two white people and he is bi-racial (he was born from a white and African American family). His dad and him are Boston fans even though Oscar's mom is going to visit her boyfriend "The King of Condos" in Baltimore.

    Review #3
    Do you know about the Red Sox baseball game curse that was made in 1919? If you want to know more about it then read this book. It starts when a boy named Oscar who was adopted is fed up with his parent's divorce and bullies at school. Then when his mother wants him to stay with his father. His father refused to take Oscar in, but then has no choice. Oscar has never been to his fathers house before. He figures out he lives under Fenway park in Boston where his favorite team the Red Sox play. Where his father lives there is many cursed creatures because of the baseball curse. When Oscar finds out about the curse he goes through obsticalls to try and break the curse. Read more to find out what happens and who breaks the curse!
    Eventually, Oscar's mom abandons Oscar with his dad who Oscar never lived with one day in his life. So his father has to reveal himself to his son and tell him he's a fairy. Also, Oscar learns his dad's secret he lives in the underside of Fenway Park and that he is cursed. That is that his Aunt's and his dad and all of the other mystical creatures are cursed. Until, someone breaks the curse. Who will it be/ How will that person do it?
    Some opinions of people who read the Prince of Fenway Park were: "I was surprised that a book based on baseball, curses, and magical creatures could get that good. It's as interesting as a baseball book can get." "It's really good especially if your a fantasy lover because it has magical creatures and stories," "I thought it was a good book because of the baseball knowledge and the good use of magical creatures," "liked the suspense of who and how they would break the curse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Imagination and Baseball-a Must Read!

    Oscar, who feels that he doesn't belong in this world, is forced to move in with his father who he has never really known. Oscar enters a world under Fenway Park that sparks imagination in every child. My 3rd grade students loved everything about this book from the characters, to the curse, and especially the ending. This is a must-read for anyone with an imagination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2