Customer Reviews for

The Prince of Frogtown

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    A Great Tale of Less Than Perfect People

    I enjoyed Rick Bragg's first two books covering his disfunctional family life and this is equally enjoyable. It's always good to take a look at those not so perfect people in the world. Those who do the best they can even when that really isn't enough. Well written and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    J

    J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love Rick Bragg

    This one is good too. Charles Bragg is hard to be sympathetic with. But I love the way Rick Bragg writes. I would read anything he publishes. He's great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really, really enjoyed The Prince of Frogtown. In fact, I have loved every Rick Bragg book I've read: All Over But The Shoutin', Ava's Man, & this one. I also love the column he writes every month in Southern Living magazine. He just seems to write so honestly & naturally. I give him credit for trying to present his father in a fair way. That had to have been hard, considering the kind of father Charles Bragg was. Really, though, looking at both sides of Rick's family--it's amazing he turned out as he did! From his family history, you'd have thought he didn't stand a chance. Obviously, Rick's mother deserves a tremendous amount of credit--she just never gave up trying to raise her boys well, despite all the difficulties her husband caused. I'm not convinced however, that Charles' experience in Korea was such a big reason for his problems. Read the book, & decide for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    You must read this touching, funny memoir!!

    Pulitzer prize winner Rick Bragg has magnificently written a truly remarkable memoir.touching, engaging, funny and filled with emotion. Preceded by companion Bragg family memoirs, All Over But the Shoutin' and Ava's Man, this poignant book focuses on the author's father. Charles Bragg grew up in the working class Frogtown neighborhood of mill town Jacksonville, Alabama, and his life was marked by alcoholism, poverty and violence. Following his Korean War service, he deteriorated into an abusive, raging alcoholic who eventually left his family when his sons were young. When author, Rick Bragg, marries late in life, he finds himself helping to raise his youngest step-son, a 10 year-old he simply calls "the boy". Polar opposites in terms of personality and upbringing, he struggles to understand this gentle child. Trying to discern how to be a father, the author reexamines the man his father was through interviews with relatives and friends, and reflects on what he has learned. Chapters alternate between Charles Bragg's life and the author's heartwarming, developing relationship with the boy. Rick Bragg is an exceptionally gifted storyteller who tells his story with beautifully crafted sentences that utterly captivated me. He describes in vivid detail the story of the region.the harsh life of those living in the mill villages and the history of the unfortunate mill people in general. I found myself intrigued by the contrast of the father he had with the step-father he was becoming. This book taught me a lot about relationships.between family members, boyhood friends, neighbors and other relatives. I absolutely loved this hilarious, compelling and insightful memoir and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    Completely Absorbing Read!

    As a big fan of Rick Bragg's previous books, I was very anxious to read Prince of Frogtown, and I was totally captivated by his moving story. As with "All Over but the Shouting" and "Ava's Man", I found myself weeping in places in the book. Those of us who grew up poor in the South during this same time can especially relate to Rick's writing. I read the entire book in just two evenings, and was left wanting to know more about the younger brother. Hopefully this isn't the last of Bragg's family stories. This is a must-read for anyone, but much better enjoyed after reading the previous two books about his Mother and Grandfather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Another great book

    Another great book from Rick Bragg. His descriptions make me feel like I am really there. I laughed and I cried. He has a way with words that left me in awe. This will definitely go on my all-time favorites list, along with All Over But the Shoutin' and Ava's Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I think Rick Bragg tells his family story so well I feel I know the whole family. He is a master of language and my family has read each of his books several times. I had the chance to visit 'Frogtown' in the beautiful city of Jacksonville, AL. I would recommend the book and visit to the area of his roots to anyone. My family and I are big fans of Rick Bragg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1