Customer Reviews for

Prince of Thorns (Broken Empire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great new fantasy!!

Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel mo...
Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel more than that, he reminds you how truly twisted he is.

Prince of Thorns is the story of Jorg. Jorg, as a young boy, was forced to watch his mother the Queen and his younger brother brutally murdered. He was spared by being tossed into a thicket of thorns that trapped and nearly killed him, but concealed him. This is Jorg's story of revenge. Revenge on those who murdered his brother and mother, revenge on a father who traded political expediency for justice, and revenge on anyone who stands between Jorg and his desire.

The book starts off with Jorg on the cusp of his 14th birthday, but fills you in on his past by alternating between events of four years ago and the present. Alternating between two timelines works because both timelines are equally fascinating. The setting is fascinating as well. Early clues are dropped as to where this story is set. I found it a bit confusing at first, but as hints and references were dropped, it became more and more clear where and when this story was taking place.

The action moves along very briskly. Concentrating on a few main characters keeps the story tight, focused and exciting. The world feels both fully fleshed out and with a lot left to explore. Jorg leads a bit of a charmed life, but other characters who feel like they might be main cogs in the larger story are dispatched with impunity. This creates real suspense in battle scenes or dangerous situations because you can't be sure that any of the characters you are rooting for will survive.

This is the first book in a planned trilogy, but it has the feel of a world with a lot more stories in it. It reads as a complete story and leaves you anticipating the next leg in the journey. Jorg is a unique protagonist and he'll leave you anxiously awaiting what he has planned next. Highly recommended.

posted by tottman on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Incomprehensible

I really wanted to like this book. But the first person naration is very poor, confusing at times, and maybe that's why it dragged for me. I was very bored with this book, but i felt like i had to warn others. I cannot believe how many people like this book. Oh, and...
I really wanted to like this book. But the first person naration is very poor, confusing at times, and maybe that's why it dragged for me. I was very bored with this book, but i felt like i had to warn others. I cannot believe how many people like this book. Oh, and it is very expensive for such a short book.......it should be a novella..no, it should be free and meant as required reading as a punishment.

posted by Evoran on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Fun read

    The most metal fantasy series ever. Dark and brutal a hell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Well, what can I say? I read this book over 4 months ago and the

    Well, what can I say? I read this book over 4 months ago and the character Jorg still resonates with me deeply. Never before has a book got under my skin and made me laugh out loud, put it down in shock or fist pump the air in triumph. I felt like I was there for the entire journey and recommend at every opportunity to anyone who listens, or doesn't for that matter, to also make the same investment I did and reap the bountiful rewards. Yes it's shocking and can be a challenging read (it wouldn't be so rewarding otherwise), no there aren't spaceships (imbecile), it's just an amazing piece of literature that will stand the test of time. I felt so strongly about it that I contacted the Author to thank him and question some aspects of the book, and he very graciously responded and answered. It's a rare thing these days that someone who has a talent to masterfully create such a towering character and world, would take time out to respond to one of his fans/customers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    An amazing trilogy.  This is one of those books that you don't w

    An amazing trilogy.  This is one of those books that you don't worry about having to skim through boring 
    parts because there aren't any!  I held onto every word spoken by Jorg and enjoyed going through his journey 
    with him.

    Sunny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Fast moving, really good stuff

    Was pushed to read this series by some other site I can't because I am a huge fan GOT. Not even close to GRR but I really like this series nonetheless. Could use some slowing down at times, writer (or editor more likely) could have given readers a breather with some character development.

    That said, good story, great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    I was looking forward to reading this book but the writing was s

    I was looking forward to reading this book but the writing was so bad I could barely understand and visualize what was going on.  In addition I just despised the main character, I usually like the whole "root for the bad guy" thing, but trying to get behind a rapist who is a jerk to everyone just didn't  happen for me.  This is the first fantasy book I've read where I just couldn't wait for it to be over so I didn't have to read it anymore. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great read!!!

    It is strange to root for a very bad guy, but you do. Jorg is smart and abitious. His plans are always very clever.

    All three books are worth every page. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Just fantastic

    Another brutal must read from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    I would give this  book 0 stars. I only read the first chapter a

    I would give this  book 0 stars. I only read the first chapter and 1 paragraph of the second, and what I read was so disturbing that I already deleted it off my nook. From the the reviews I had read posted here I understand that the main character is an anti hero, I 
    I thought that this meant that here was a lot of killing/ stealing and so on. I can handle that, no big deal. What I have a problem with is the rapping. Yes I said RAPPING. After a battle Jorg reminds his fellow marauders there are women and girls to rape to make up for 
    there not being a lot of loot. Ok, disturbing... but I kept reading. Then Jorg starts thinking about how the woman acted when he rapped them.., now I am done. I do not suggest buying this book. 

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    recomend

    I enjoyed the trilogy. Not super but good and worth the time to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Gritty Fast Paced Fantasy

    The writer has shown he has a gift for making the most despicable character the hero of this tale. Fast paced with an engaging story makes Prince of Thorns a must read for those of us that love dark fantasy. The only criticism I have is the layering of modern day christianity over a fantasy world. It was too distracting and added nothing to the story. I look forward to reading book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Meria

    Name: Meria <p> gender: Female. <p> Apperance: a beautiful she-wolf with golden fur with a whute under belly and honey golden eyes. She has two tails. <p> personality: wise and trustworthy she has compassion for all those who need it. <p> powers.: can control all the elements and can turn ti all the animals. <p> mate: nobe. <p> ctush: nobe. <p> pups: none

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I found this hard to get in to at times, with the first-person n

    I found this hard to get in to at times, with the first-person narration, but after a while you become addicted. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Awesome

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I loved it. i wish there was more character development with the

    I loved it. i wish there was more character development with the side characters but even so i loved every moment with the main character. Violent, unforgiving, and just beautifully written. As i read i could vividly imagine every senario as if i were there... Lovely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    This book is great. It is almost non-stop action from start to f

    This book is great. It is almost non-stop action from start to finish. Despite Jorg,(the main character) being the most morbid teenager in 
    fantasy literature, you sometimes find yourself rooting for him to succeed. He is a downright brutal character, and one that some people
    will take a liking too, and others just find him plain evil. But it doesn't matter, because he is messed up. But that's pretty much which 
    drives the story. The story is very intense, and full of good action. Definitely check this one out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I fell into this book completely by accident, wanted to try a ne

    I fell into this book completely by accident, wanted to try a new genre and absolutely loved it. Very &quot;game of thrones&quot;-esque, with dark humor, enchantment and brotherhood. Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Anti-hero rules

    Very good book. Jorg is everything you wanted to be as a child, when in a dark place. There will be no mercy, no survivors. Lol Not for the feint of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book! I liked this book, it's dark, gritty & the &quo

    Good book! I liked this book, it's dark, gritty &amp; the &quot;hero&quot; is uterly ruthless! Nice twist where as in so many books the hero is noble &amp; always tries to do the right thing. Jorg, our hero, is anything but the sort. There were times where I thought more detail to characters could have been added, but overall was a great read &amp; I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Was unable to put it down!!

    The characters were intriguing, the story line was a great take on a post apocalyptic world trying to return to a civilized existence. Loved the main character, the best anti-hero I've ever met.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Just one word here...GORE. More gore then your little heart coul

    Just one word here...GORE. More gore then your little heart could have ever possibly wanted. Now I am a fan of the Tarantino approach but this was a little excessive even for a dark story. That extra amount of violence tended to slow down otherwise cool action scenes. This problem plagues the first half of the book but becomes more balanced towards the end. Prince of Thorns is Mark Lawrence's debut novel and the inexperience shows. Accents come and go (every time I read or hear the word feck I slap the closest living thing), story lines get muddled, and dialog can be stuttering or muddled. An observant reader can actually witness an improvement in writing skill as the story progresses. This is something unique that managed to drive me crazy while at the same time giving small cheers for the author... read full review at theofficebooks.blogspot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7