Customer Reviews for

Prince of Thorns (Broken Empire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Great new fantasy!!

Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel mo...
Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel more than that, he reminds you how truly twisted he is.

Prince of Thorns is the story of Jorg. Jorg, as a young boy, was forced to watch his mother the Queen and his younger brother brutally murdered. He was spared by being tossed into a thicket of thorns that trapped and nearly killed him, but concealed him. This is Jorg's story of revenge. Revenge on those who murdered his brother and mother, revenge on a father who traded political expediency for justice, and revenge on anyone who stands between Jorg and his desire.

The book starts off with Jorg on the cusp of his 14th birthday, but fills you in on his past by alternating between events of four years ago and the present. Alternating between two timelines works because both timelines are equally fascinating. The setting is fascinating as well. Early clues are dropped as to where this story is set. I found it a bit confusing at first, but as hints and references were dropped, it became more and more clear where and when this story was taking place.

The action moves along very briskly. Concentrating on a few main characters keeps the story tight, focused and exciting. The world feels both fully fleshed out and with a lot left to explore. Jorg leads a bit of a charmed life, but other characters who feel like they might be main cogs in the larger story are dispatched with impunity. This creates real suspense in battle scenes or dangerous situations because you can't be sure that any of the characters you are rooting for will survive.

This is the first book in a planned trilogy, but it has the feel of a world with a lot more stories in it. It reads as a complete story and leaves you anticipating the next leg in the journey. Jorg is a unique protagonist and he'll leave you anxiously awaiting what he has planned next. Highly recommended.

posted by tottman on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Incomprehensible

I really wanted to like this book. But the first person naration is very poor, confusing at times, and maybe that's why it dragged for me. I was very bored with this book, but i felt like i had to warn others. I cannot believe how many people like this book. Oh, and...
I really wanted to like this book. But the first person naration is very poor, confusing at times, and maybe that's why it dragged for me. I was very bored with this book, but i felt like i had to warn others. I cannot believe how many people like this book. Oh, and it is very expensive for such a short book.......it should be a novella..no, it should be free and meant as required reading as a punishment.

posted by Evoran on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Anti-hero rules

    Very good book. Jorg is everything you wanted to be as a child, when in a dark place. There will be no mercy, no survivors. Lol Not for the feint of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Wonderful book! Started the series because I like the artwork bu

    Wonderful book! Started the series because I like the artwork but this book was amazing. Action packed, unpredictable, I finished the first two books in four days. Can't wait for the next to come out in August!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Very dark

    I found this book a pleasant surprise as I really had no expectations going into it. Very dark and brisk, the story unfolds quickly and the protagonist's (I hesitate to call him a 'good guy') cynicism, at least for me, was entertaining. Good, quick read. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    A must read

    I fell in love with this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    You dont want to miss this if you enojoy a darker side to fantasy

    I absolutly love where this book it going. The cover had grabbed my attention and i just had to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Go Prince Jorg:)

    When i first got this book from the library i didn't know it was brand new,so i grasped it with my bare hands and toke it home with me. I got to know some characters like jorg and his gang of brutal men and i have to say , i loved the book after words because of the violence described in it. Not only that but also the plot and how jorg felt when his mother and brother got killed in front of him while being hanged by the edge of a thorn patch. I could kind of feel jorg's anger,hatred,and vengence in his heart to his father. I felt connected to jorg in a way. I am reading King of Thorns the second book right now and so far i am totaly enjoying it. I have to finish it in a week which stinks because not only is it new,but because i missed the characters and jorg as well. I think though even jorg has rage and vengence and can wield a sword and be violent i still think jorg has a soft part in his heart. I can't wait to see what jorg will do next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    This was an amazing debut for Lawrence and a very welcome one. I

    This was an amazing debut for Lawrence and a very welcome one. I now understand why I have seen this book listed as one of the best and must-read fantasy novels of 2011. Having been a fan of dark fantasy for several years, I can readily see why people are comparing this novel to Richard Morgan’s “The Steel Remains.” It’s often difficult to pull off a likable anti-hero protagonist, but Lawrence does it extremely well. Usually, I do not like novels with such young protagonists as Jorg, so I read the book with the understanding I would have to engage in some heavy suspension of disbelief if such a young kid in an ultra-violet adult role was not going to annoy me to death. By the end of the book, I have a deeper appreciation of why the child was behaving in such an adult role; however, I am not sure that my interpretation was the author’s intent or my own overly analytical mind. Suffice it to say that when you play the Game of Throne’s there are puppets and there are masters, and there are even those that are oblivious to the hands that move the game pieces about the board.

    Speaking of Game of Throne’s, it was readily apparent that Lawrence was heavily influenced by Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” due to the several times he used the “game of thrones” phrase. Sure enough, after having finished “Prince of Thorns,” I began researching Lawrence and discovered that he acknowledges Martin as an obvious influence.

    “Prince of Thorns” is a book that stays with you after you set it down. As I began reading this book, I assumed it was set in a typical fantasy realm. Much to my surprise, Jesus, Plato, Nietzsche, and others were mentioned. I have not determined if this is an alternate future or post-apocalyptic world following the “Day of a Thousand Sun.” Whichever it may be, the world is set in a seemingly medieval setting that I found intriguing. One day after finishing this book, I long to have a better understanding of this world and how it came to pass.

    I highly recommend the book to lovers of dark fantasy, but I must caution that it is not for the faint. This book excels in ultra-violence with an amoral, some might even say evil, teenage, anti-hero protagonist.

    It is my hope that “King of Thorns” can match the first novel in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book. Would recommend to people who enjoyed a song of ice

    Great book. Would recommend to people who enjoyed a song of ice and fire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Awsome book.

    This is the greatest book of all time. BUY IT!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Recommended if you want a different read

    It's very confusing in the beginning when I first started, however I got used to it and the story got better as I turned the pages. Just LOVE the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4