Customer Reviews for

Prince of Thorns (Broken Empire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great new fantasy!!

Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel mo...
Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel more than that, he reminds you how truly twisted he is.

Prince of Thorns is the story of Jorg. Jorg, as a young boy, was forced to watch his mother the Queen and his younger brother brutally murdered. He was spared by being tossed into a thicket of thorns that trapped and nearly killed him, but concealed him. This is Jorg's story of revenge. Revenge on those who murdered his brother and mother, revenge on a father who traded political expediency for justice, and revenge on anyone who stands between Jorg and his desire.

The book starts off with Jorg on the cusp of his 14th birthday, but fills you in on his past by alternating between events of four years ago and the present. Alternating between two timelines works because both timelines are equally fascinating. The setting is fascinating as well. Early clues are dropped as to where this story is set. I found it a bit confusing at first, but as hints and references were dropped, it became more and more clear where and when this story was taking place.

The action moves along very briskly. Concentrating on a few main characters keeps the story tight, focused and exciting. The world feels both fully fleshed out and with a lot left to explore. Jorg leads a bit of a charmed life, but other characters who feel like they might be main cogs in the larger story are dispatched with impunity. This creates real suspense in battle scenes or dangerous situations because you can't be sure that any of the characters you are rooting for will survive.

This is the first book in a planned trilogy, but it has the feel of a world with a lot more stories in it. It reads as a complete story and leaves you anticipating the next leg in the journey. Jorg is a unique protagonist and he'll leave you anxiously awaiting what he has planned next. Highly recommended.

posted by tottman on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Incomprehensible

I really wanted to like this book. But the first person naration is very poor, confusing at times, and maybe that's why it dragged for me. I was very bored with this book, but i felt like i had to warn others. I cannot believe how many people like this book. Oh, and...
I really wanted to like this book. But the first person naration is very poor, confusing at times, and maybe that's why it dragged for me. I was very bored with this book, but i felt like i had to warn others. I cannot believe how many people like this book. Oh, and it is very expensive for such a short book.......it should be a novella..no, it should be free and meant as required reading as a punishment.

posted by Evoran on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great new fantasy!!

    Prince of Thorns starts off right in the middle of the action. The first few pages make it clear that you are not going to feel much love for Jorg, the hero of the story. He is amoral and ruthless, but you come to admire and root for him. Anytime you start to feel more than that, he reminds you how truly twisted he is.

    Prince of Thorns is the story of Jorg. Jorg, as a young boy, was forced to watch his mother the Queen and his younger brother brutally murdered. He was spared by being tossed into a thicket of thorns that trapped and nearly killed him, but concealed him. This is Jorg's story of revenge. Revenge on those who murdered his brother and mother, revenge on a father who traded political expediency for justice, and revenge on anyone who stands between Jorg and his desire.

    The book starts off with Jorg on the cusp of his 14th birthday, but fills you in on his past by alternating between events of four years ago and the present. Alternating between two timelines works because both timelines are equally fascinating. The setting is fascinating as well. Early clues are dropped as to where this story is set. I found it a bit confusing at first, but as hints and references were dropped, it became more and more clear where and when this story was taking place.

    The action moves along very briskly. Concentrating on a few main characters keeps the story tight, focused and exciting. The world feels both fully fleshed out and with a lot left to explore. Jorg leads a bit of a charmed life, but other characters who feel like they might be main cogs in the larger story are dispatched with impunity. This creates real suspense in battle scenes or dangerous situations because you can't be sure that any of the characters you are rooting for will survive.

    This is the first book in a planned trilogy, but it has the feel of a world with a lot more stories in it. It reads as a complete story and leaves you anticipating the next leg in the journey. Jorg is a unique protagonist and he'll leave you anxiously awaiting what he has planned next. Highly recommended.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Well-written and Entertaining

    This dark and heavy story is set in the far distant future when scientific knowledge has been lost, and medieval conditions prevail in the world. It is very well written, however, and editing errors are not to be found. The primary character is a violent, ruthless individual, as are most of the characters that surround him. The action is constant, making it difficult to stop reading at any point in the book. The author ties up all loose ends at the end of the story, but paves the way for a sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great book!

    Besides being a great read, this book was one of the most original books I've read in a long time. It does have a lot of graphic violence, which I usually don't care for, but once you get used to the author's style you come to realize that it is not gratuitous violence. There is a reason for it, as it helps you understand the main character's background and his motivation. This was the best book I've read in a long time, and I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended. Interesting, brutal, good action. Whole series is solid.

    Post apocalyptic Europe reverts (mostly) to medieval technology. Mature audiences, not for timid or younger readers (this is a good thing). Violent, brutal, feces, mud, some sex, rotting flesh, and lots of blood (i.e. probably fairly realistic vs idealistic SF - at least regarding human behavior and what we are capable of doing to each other). Just finished the whole series. Well written. Enough depth, back story, and mystery to hold my sustained interest but lots of action to keep it moving. The main character is terminally flawed but I was still able to connect. A violent boy/man for a violent time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    loved this book

    this book is gritty and dark! a fun easy read, with some great curveballs!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    This book is not for the faint of heart, it is the story of one

    This book is not for the faint of heart, it is the story of one boys
    revenge, and what happens why you push the right person all the wrong
    ways. Many say the main character is unlikable, but to be fair if my
    mother was rapped and butchered in front of me and my brothers brains
    bashed out against a rock , only for my father to more or less ignore
    the whole event....I would be just a bit off my rocker as well. Jorg
    will do anything to get his revenge, and that does mean *anything*.
    There has also been some comments made that many rich characters have
    not been explored or used as much as they could. In my mind this is a
    reflection of how Jorg sees them: tools for his revenge, nothing more
    nothing less.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Disturbingly good

    This book turns dark fantasy up a notch. If you like this book or if you are looking for slmething a little less evil check out brent weeks night angel trilogy. Weeks is a true master of fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Fast moving, really good stuff

    Was pushed to read this series by some other site I can't because I am a huge fan GOT. Not even close to GRR but I really like this series nonetheless. Could use some slowing down at times, writer (or editor more likely) could have given readers a breather with some character development.

    That said, good story, great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    recomend

    I enjoyed the trilogy. Not super but good and worth the time to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Gritty Fast Paced Fantasy

    The writer has shown he has a gift for making the most despicable character the hero of this tale. Fast paced with an engaging story makes Prince of Thorns a must read for those of us that love dark fantasy. The only criticism I have is the layering of modern day christianity over a fantasy world. It was too distracting and added nothing to the story. I look forward to reading book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I found this hard to get in to at times, with the first-person n

    I found this hard to get in to at times, with the first-person narration, but after a while you become addicted. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    This book is great. It is almost non-stop action from start to f

    This book is great. It is almost non-stop action from start to finish. Despite Jorg,(the main character) being the most morbid teenager in 
    fantasy literature, you sometimes find yourself rooting for him to succeed. He is a downright brutal character, and one that some people
    will take a liking too, and others just find him plain evil. But it doesn't matter, because he is messed up. But that's pretty much which 
    drives the story. The story is very intense, and full of good action. Definitely check this one out. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book! I liked this book, it's dark, gritty & the &quo

    Good book! I liked this book, it's dark, gritty & the "hero" is uterly ruthless! Nice twist where as in so many books the hero is noble & always tries to do the right thing. Jorg, our hero, is anything but the sort. There were times where I thought more detail to characters could have been added, but overall was a great read & I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Was unable to put it down!!

    The characters were intriguing, the story line was a great take on a post apocalyptic world trying to return to a civilized existence. Loved the main character, the best anti-hero I've ever met.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Just one word here...GORE. More gore then your little heart coul

    Just one word here...GORE. More gore then your little heart could have ever possibly wanted. Now I am a fan of the Tarantino approach but this was a little excessive even for a dark story. That extra amount of violence tended to slow down otherwise cool action scenes. This problem plagues the first half of the book but becomes more balanced towards the end. Prince of Thorns is Mark Lawrence's debut novel and the inexperience shows. Accents come and go (every time I read or hear the word feck I slap the closest living thing), story lines get muddled, and dialog can be stuttering or muddled. An observant reader can actually witness an improvement in writing skill as the story progresses. This is something unique that managed to drive me crazy while at the same time giving small cheers for the author... read full review at theofficebooks.blogspot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty Read! Try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

    Gritty Read! Try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just a damn good novel, the Prince is just an enjoyable characte

    Just a damn good novel, the Prince is just an enjoyable character. I can't wait for the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Hi

    How many pages iscc this

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2