Customer Reviews for

The Prince of Tides

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Top of my list

    I've read a lot of books, and this one has always topped my list of favorites. There's something about the way that Pat Conroy writes that just draws me in (I even enjoyed "My Losing Season", and I have absolutely no interest in basketball) -- his descriptions can conjure up a place or a person in a way that makes you not just see what he's describing, but really KNOW it. I have South Carolina in my blood, and this book makes me feel that in a way that really shocked me the first time I read it. As other readers have said, this book is FAR better than the movie it inspired; it is an absolutely spellbinding piece of literature and one that you can't possibly forget. I am thrilled that it's now an eBook -- I plan to read it many more times on my nook! Pat Conroy is my all-time favorite author, and I truly feel that "The Prince of Tides" is his best.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Entertaining ride through one man's life

    I confess that the 5 stars I gave this book are because of the way it takes me back home - to the South Carolina Lowcountry. As a transplant to the NYC Metro Area, the novel's setting couldn't be more perfect for me. Tom Wingo is a bit crude, but his tales of home are enough to make me want to pack up the moving truck and move back to Charleston.

    Conroy does a good job of mixing stories of the past and present without treating the reader like a child who needs hand-holding. The transitions can be as abrupt as an errant thought, but also come at predictable moments. There is variety, humor, love and just about every other intense human emotion.

    P.S. - As usual, the book is MUCH BETTER than the movie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Mr. CONROY

    THE absolute best reading I have enjoyed! I cried I smiled I laughed... thank-you for sharing your talent....I can still smell the ocean breeze...you made my crazy life growing up in our own madness feel like it's ok, keeping family secrets was nothing to be ashamed of, and for the first time in my life I felt true compassion and understanding... I felt safe....bless you

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    I hated Henry, Savannah, and Lila Wingo, Reese Newbury, Herbert

    I hated Henry, Savannah, and Lila Wingo, Reese Newbury, Herbert Woodruff, and Monique. But I loved Tom Wingo and Susan Lowenstein and this novel. This novel covers the taboo subjects of rape, child abuse, and suicide attempts, and it does so unabashedly and with language and pitch-perfect storytelling ability that will literally tip over your emotional applecart.

    THE PRINCE OF TIDES peels back the curtains of the small-town, southern life, and it gives the reader a front row seat on shrimping and family loyalty, often taken to absurdist extremes. Almost anything is bad when taken to excess, and beating little kids followed by a flat-out denial that it ever happened takes awful to a whole new level. It's so bad that little children are told to never mention what happen, or pretend that it didn't happen. There's a word for that and irrational probably doesn't even begin to cover it. No matter how much you try to bury something, though, you eventually "come to a moment that we can't pretend isn't real." And this book is filled with several of those moments.

    This novel also highlights why I'll never live in New York City. I'm a southern gentleman at heart--referring to women as ma'am and ladies and opening doors--so if I were to live in The Big Apple, at some point I'd run into the feminist gestapo, during which I'd have my eyeballs poked out, my throat scratched, and I'd be pummeled to within an inch of my life all because I had the audacity to hold a door open for a lady. So I'll stick to my southern roots and say y'all come back now, ya hear. And if you like the south and enjoy going on an emotional roller-coaster ride, you'll certainly enjoy this novel.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    The very best of modern literature

    With The Prince of Tides Conroy takes the reader through an incredible and eloquent journey through the passions and many turmoils of the Wingo family. The language employed by Conroy in describing the largely disturbing content of the novel brings a beautiy to his writing unparralled in modern times. This book is an absolute "must-read" for anyone with an appreciation for the English language. I strongly recommend this book. Man may wonder but God decides When to kill the Prince of Tides

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    One of the two best books ever written!

    A must read. This is one of the two best books ever written. Pat Conroy is a master storyteller! If you liked the movie, you will love this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Mesmerizing!

    Pat Conroy is a marvelouse writer. He writes about the gentlest things then follow it up with horrors. He describes nature with the most beautiful, loving words, then change direction to describe the darkest of human nature.

    I envy his imagination and gift of words.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Perfection

    This man uses words the same eay Motzart used notes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I didn't want it too end...

    Magical (and I never use that word) ! Please do yourself a favor and read this touching and moving novel. Don't be put off because of the lame movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    This is a rich and compelling read! Hard to put down and sad to find it over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    An American Treasure

    Prince of Tides is everything American. You will find yourself crying, laughing, indignant and in awe that an American family can find itself so lost and aching. Pat Conroy is a bigger person than I am! I could never (and haven't ) forgiven a father who thrived on subjecting such pain and discord to family members. Pat Conroy is the fore-mentioned American Treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Wonderful read!

    This book has a compelling plot line showing the best and worst of human nature in a beautiful South Carolina natural setting. I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Amazing

    My favorite book of all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Bravo

    This is the first time I have read a book by Pat Conroy! Wonderful book. I loved his writing, his choice of words, a beautiful and hearbreaking tale of this family. I cannot get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    A classic.

    This one is going down as a fave.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Prince of Tides

    captivating! Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Prince of Tides , wonderful again

    It had been almost 20 years since I first read The Prince of Tides and I wanted to add it to my Nook collection. The book is just as wonderful as I remembered! Conroy's incredible vocabulary and unbelievably beautiful phrasing are unmatched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Truly Amazing

    A great read! Truly tragic beautifully written story. As silly as this may sound I really wish he could have eased up on all the "big" words. It started to seem unnecessary. That is my only complaint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    remarkable

    i was spellbound! i started this book on first day of a 7 day cruise, i finished it before we made our first port-of-call!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    the prince of tides

    captivating, great writing style, timeless storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8