Customer Reviews for

Princeps' Fury (Codex Alera Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Princep's Fury

    Princeps¿ Fury is a continuation of the book series The Codex Alera written by Jim Butcher. In the next saga of the life of the Tavi or Gaius Octavian, Jim Butcher continues to expand upon the lives of not only this unlikely hero but also shows how his family and friends have grown to support and respect the young man that would be Emperor of Alera. Throughout this new installment of Tavi¿s life Jim Butcher shows of his exceptional skills of intrigue and deception that keep the reader on the edge of their set though out the book. Introducing new character and developing old ones showing how each of these people has changed through their interaction with Tavi and his allies. As any one who has read these books has come to expect there is more to the story than first appears. Jim Butcher continues to inspire the reader with rich descriptions of the scenes, political power plays and an excellent grasp of the human psyche by the decisions and reasoning that each character have to deal with throughout the series. If you liked the first four books you will love this fifth chapter of The Codex Alera series. Jim Butcher leaves nothing to the imagination with his excellent telling of life in Alera the rest of the world around her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book in an already great series

    When i heard the new installment of the series was comming out soon, I had high hopes and let me say, my expectations were not just met they were exceeded in the upmost of ways. This book has it all: action, adventure, intruge, the whole nine yards, it keeps you attention so well you will wonder where the time has gone.<BR/><BR/>Like in all of his books, Butcher uses the same underling storyline that has been constant in the series mixed with new struggles confrontations that keep the story line fresh after so many novels. With these new problems there are resolutions that add to the building of the story underneath which gives the reader a sense of completion at the end of the book while making him beg for more.<BR/><BR/>Overall a great story and something that should be included in aany reader's collection.<BR/>Have a Merry Christmas

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    It is most likely a personality defect of mine, but I am satisfi

    It is most likely a personality defect of mine, but I am satisfied that Mr. Butcher did not fall into the trap of making the hero so vulnerable and complex that one wonders how he made it to the end of the series. While his destiny is be no means guaranteed, neither is he tortured with defeat after defeat, only to miraculously win in the last page of the last book. (I tire of the WWE formula in the guise of real suspense.) This series is far more intriguing than that.
    Tavi is the protagonist who develops from child to man over the course of the 5 book series, struggling but always honorable. His supernatural talents, slow to develop compared to his contemporaries, encourage his wit and creativity. While not always perfect, his moral imperative is clear. When he questions himself, we the audience cheer him on.
    Mr. Butcher has created a world complete with politics, alien creatures and alien societies; so complete that after the first book, feel perfectly natural. (A wolf warrior society with religious leaders, generals and yes, politicians makes sense). Character development is stellar. Mr. Butcher's clean writing style keeps the story moving. If you are looking for a Fantasy read that does not fall into the trap of explaining what the queen is wearing and the length of her braids... ad nauseam, you've come to the right place. What Mr. Butcher does do in great detail is provide the geography and character motivation that keeps up with the pace of the action. My only disappointment is that I have come to know this world so well, but will not see it again in a new story. (hint?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Kasey5478 bio

    Specis luvli non member looks a luvli with a purple body and green stem and feet personality calm luvs to shop moshlings i dont keep track pf my two moshlings sig &#9818 Kasey5478 &#9818 (this is my real account please add me)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Moshi monsters- monster bios

    Name: Kittykatzuma. Gender: female. Species: katsuma. Looks: stripes are black eyes are red and coat is purple. Moshlings: Jeepers, Sooki-Yaki, DJ Quack, Professer Purplex, Burnie and Gigi. Personality: competitive, surprisingly calm. Friends: none yet. Siggy: &clubs Kittykatzuma &clubs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Excellent

    A Phenomenal series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    A Satisfying conclusion

    Here Jim Butcher brings his Codex Alera series to a most satisfying conclusion. Butcher's penchant for breathing life into believable characters in increasingly complex peril is on brilliant display.

    Fans of his Dresden Series will be completely enamored with a new world, a new adventure, a new hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Great story and well developed characters

    Make this series a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book

    Was hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Fantastic series

    Each book in the series is excellent, I can't wait to get the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    A great release.

    This edition is a great build up to Jim Butcher's final in the series. The characters are fully fleshed, and Tavi seems to be about to come into his own. Can't wait for the final chapter in this ingenious read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Loved it!

    Exciting, fun, and interesting plot that moves along and sweeps you up. It makes you wish the book weren't ever going to be done, even as you're turning those last few pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    The stunning conclusion

    As a conclusion to the series, this book does a very good job of closing all the story threads. Only one seemed like a stretch, and even that was still plausible, just not likely. There was also enough left open at the end to allow new books in the world without disturbing my sleep about unfinished endings. I was very pleased with the way this story was concluded. Thanks for not being like so many other authors and actually finishing a story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Awesome contnuation of the Codex Alera series

    Jim Butcher continues to keep you in suspense with multiple story lines, yet he ties them together so well. It's difficult to put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tavi comes into his furies!

    Like the rest of the series, "Princeps Fury" provides interesting character development and action. For those who have read the other four cooks, there is not a lot of rehashing of past items, but it should stand on its own for new readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    9.99 for a paper back?

    How lame is THAT???? I love Jum Butcher, I think his writing is amazing... but, to have your paper back only five bucks cheaper than your hard back... it's just wrong. Especially for poor lil ol' me with exactly 7.19 in my back pocket... humph...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT

    I've read both of Jim's series and absolutely love them all. The Codex Alera Series is awesome and I've read them all at least twice. With so many details and twist I find myself anxiously waiting on First Lords Fury to come out next month, reading the preview chapters on Jim's website. The Dresden Files have 11 books so far and I haven't gotten board yet! I'm a big fan of his books and recommend them to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Love Butcher !

    Love all Jim Butcher stories, Try the Dresden Files also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    Read the book instead of listening

    After reading the first four books of the series, I downloaded the audio book as my local bookstore didn't have copies of #5.

    I usually enjoy audiobooks as they allow me to listen while commuting to work, this audiobook however fell short of my expectations. The reader has a lovely voice, but I find it inappropriate to the book content. She has a fairly high pitched voice and is unsuccessful trying to emulate the rough vocals of a book that has primarily male characters of various warrior races.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    butcher has done it again!

    Princep's Fury is an excellent addition to the Codex Alera series. It is exciting, fast-paced, but still with the great character development. I cannot believe that we will have to wait for the next installment. After #4, I thought this would be the final volume ... wrong!!! I look forward to the next step in the adventure. I recommend this to series to all, but you must start with book 1 to really enjoy the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18