Customer Reviews for

Princeps' Fury (Codex Alera Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 238 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Can't wait for the next installment in the series.

    I had the opportunity to read the first four books one after the other when this volume was relased. It was great to have the characters and situations fresh in my mind as I started each new book. Fantastic, and like I say in the heaadline -- I can't wait for the next installment. A fresh new fantasy world to visit. Mr. Butcher has won a new fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Choice Cut from the Butcher

    I love this series. Jim's a fine writer of sci-fi/fantasy. I've enjoyed everything of his I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent read, and well worth the wait!

    Princep's Fury was a fantastic read. I couldn't put it down. The fifth book in Jim Butcher's series, Codex Alera, this fast and furious tale takes you on a journey as the Alerans find themselves fighting for their very existence as the dreaded Vord have returned with a vengeance. <BR/><BR/>Meanwhile, Tavi, now officially Princeps Octavian, has traveled across the sea to return the Canim to their homelands, only to find their home overrun by the Vord as well. <BR/>The book leaves you asking these questions: It seems all is lost, Will every species come together and jpin forces to defeat the Vord once and for all? Will Tavi assume the crown and mange to make everlasting peace between all their previous enemies? <BR/><BR/>A wonderfully fast paced book that will have you biting your nails in anticipation. Can't wait for book six!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting fantasy thriller

    Tavi of Calderon, once an apprentice sheep herder, has become a legend as he is Princeps Gaius Octavian, heir to the throne of Alera and the grandson of the First Lord Gaius Sextus. Tavi negotiated a peace with Alera¿s latest enemy, the Canim, ending two years of fighting. The people of Alera use furies (elementals) to perform magic. Tavi escorts the Canim to their home on vessels made for this voyage, but a fierce storm throws the fleet off course, they land in the range of Shuar.<BR/><BR/>When they reach the stronghold, they realize the Canim have been destroys by the Vord, a hive like life form that can change shapes and are ruining the earth so that humans and the wolf-like Canim cannot survive. Tavi has a plan to move the surviving Canim so they return to his home to join forces against the Vord. He is unaware that the Vord has already invaded Alera¿s southlands spreading disaster everywhere they go. The Alerans who have successfully met every external threat for ten centuries are in trouble from the deadliest enemy of all; political intrigue divides Alera further when a united front is the only way the Alerans can possibly survive.<BR/><BR/>Jim Butcher, obviously renowned for his Dresden Files, also writes a strong fantasy based on the Roman Empire mixing with other species, magicks and elementals. As is the case with Dresden, Mr. Butcher has the uncanny ability to make his Codex Alera realm seem real; as he understands it is in the subtle details. Tavi is a natural born leader whose strong moral instincts make him an ideal ruler as he is able to forge an alliance with a recent foe and have former enemies work together for the common good. Different characters narrate the story so that the audience knows what is happening from a 360 degree perspective, which adds depth to an exciting fantasy thriller.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 238 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12