Customer Reviews for

The Princes of Ireland

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with

If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with its sequel The Rebels of Ireland. Extremely in history taking you from the Ice Age, through the Druids, Irish chiefs and High King, Vikings, Strongbow, Brian Boru, King Henry(s) and more. Rutherford also i...
If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with its sequel The Rebels of Ireland. Extremely in history taking you from the Ice Age, through the Druids, Irish chiefs and High King, Vikings, Strongbow, Brian Boru, King Henry(s) and more. Rutherford also is great at helping you understand why the history happened the way it did through the characters he develops. The last chapters are riveting. The great news is I am reading the sequel and it starts off even better than the first.

posted by bryguy on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A satisfying, quick read of Irish History.

When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I k...
When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I kept with this novel and was very surprised how engaging it became. I have always kept away from Michener and other various writers who write long epics about a certain place's history. I must admit that I really started to fall in love with this novel. I knock the writing style, but Rutherford (is trying to write a complete Irish history) has a way of making you attached to certain characters. I particularly enjoyed the part about Brian Boru. I would have loved if Rutherford brought more of the Celtic mythology out in the opening of the novel. Cuchulain and such. Nevertheless I became fully engaged in this novel and am now in the middle of The Rebels of Ireland. I think 3 stars is a very fair rating, I might have ranked it a bit high for my tastes. Maybe if he separated this history into 6 novels like Clavell did I would have loved it a lot more. I still recommend it and particularly if you have an interest in a loose and quick history of Ireland.

posted by The_Full_Crumb on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with

    If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with its sequel The Rebels of Ireland. Extremely in history taking you from the Ice Age, through the Druids, Irish chiefs and High King, Vikings, Strongbow, Brian Boru, King Henry(s) and more. Rutherford also is great at helping you understand why the history happened the way it did through the characters he develops. The last chapters are riveting. The great news is I am reading the sequel and it starts off even better than the first.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Master of Historical Family Saga

    Though not my favorite of his novels, it was a pleasant, quick read. I absolutely love how Rutherfurd incorporates actual historical events with the family saga. From the druids, through St. Patrick, through English conquest, this saga uses real events to add mystery and drama to the story of a few families. Can't wait to read "The Rebels of Ireland."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A satisfying, quick read of Irish History.

    When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I kept with this novel and was very surprised how engaging it became. I have always kept away from Michener and other various writers who write long epics about a certain place's history. I must admit that I really started to fall in love with this novel. I knock the writing style, but Rutherford (is trying to write a complete Irish history) has a way of making you attached to certain characters. I particularly enjoyed the part about Brian Boru. I would have loved if Rutherford brought more of the Celtic mythology out in the opening of the novel. Cuchulain and such. Nevertheless I became fully engaged in this novel and am now in the middle of The Rebels of Ireland. I think 3 stars is a very fair rating, I might have ranked it a bit high for my tastes. Maybe if he separated this history into 6 novels like Clavell did I would have loved it a lot more. I still recommend it and particularly if you have an interest in a loose and quick history of Ireland.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    Not one of Rutherfurd's best

    I really enjoy Rutherfurd most times, but I found this book sort of bland. I was almost waiting for it to end. The characters were just not as interesting as in the others I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Im irish

    I love this book. A flash back to home

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Rutherfurd's two books on Ireland are my favorite out of all his

    Rutherfurd's two books on Ireland are my favorite out of all his novels.  They made me extremely proud of my Irish heritage.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Engrossing and highly entertaining

    A truly engaging and interesting novel about a geography that has always interested me. Long book, yes, but I did not want it to end. I was very sad when I finished the book but just found out there is a second book, going to buy it today! Wish he would turn his research and writing skills to write about Asian history now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Great source of Irish history & a good story.

    This was an interesting & entertaining book of historical fiction. Any reader with a curiosity regarding Ireland, it's geography, it's culture, it's religion, & people will enjoy reading The Princes of Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read if you have an interest in Irish history

    Coming partially from Irish decent, I am glad I found this book. I realize it's not a history book, but when historical fiction / fact-based fiction is done well (as it is here) it's a great way to get a *feel* for the history of a country/region/people. It's not hard to appreciate the dramatic clash between Ireland and her neighbor, nor is it hard to sympathize with the Irish for what they lost to religion, politics, and greed. After reading this I find it hard to understand why we call it "civilization."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining Historical writing

    Enjoyable tale of early Eire that brings fictional and historical characters together in an entertaining story.Well researched and interesting to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Answer Ireland's Call

    This is my favorite Edward Rutherfurd book. It was so hard to put down once it was in my hands. The one reason I enjoyed it so much is because I am half Irish and love my culture. To read the history of the early Celts was very exciting and lovely to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting but not as good as his other books.

    This is the story of Dublin, Ireland from the time of Fergus, the Irish chieftain whose farm was at the forks about 400AD to Silken Thomas in the mid 1500AD's when the English and Henry VIII started to try to govern by force. It is the story of the different generations of several families who had an influence on the people and the place. Fortunately there was a family genealogy at the beginning because several times I got confused as to who was who and related to whom. But all in all, it was an exciting book. Very informative about the times, places, and the Celtic culture which has always interested me. The characters were strongly portrayed and I could totally see where they were personally strong and weak. It was interesting how Mr. Rutherfurd kept some of the traits running throughout the generations to both the benefit and detriment of the person. I liked that the women were portrayed in more than just a servatile position. They were strong or weak as needed in order to impact their generation but they did have an impact and that's what is important. He seems to be more inclined to have physical characteristics handed down through the generations though rather than some of the strong character traits. The middle chapters didn't seem to develop the characters as much as the first and last but were good reads if not totally enthralling. He definitely left the story hanging in order to promote the sequel. It is a good book but not as good as his London or Sarum. 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    found this hard to follow

    only got half way through the first CD when I gave up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    History through fiction

    I've always been interested in Ireland and the long history of the land. The length of the book is long, almost too long, but I do love the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book! Could not put it down

    I am preparing to take a trip to Ireland. I picked this book up during Barnes and Noble's St. Patrick's Day celebration. It is wonderful. I have learned so very much about the history of Ireland. The glossary in the back provides pronunciations and definitions of words used in the book. The people of this book are real to the reader and you care about them. The Potato Famine (or the Starvation, as they refer to it) was a shock to me. I had no idea of the cruelty of the English to these Irish farmers. Wow!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Spellbinding Narrative

    A Could Not Put It Down Book! I never thought I wanted to go back that far in Irish history, 400 AD, but the skill of the author makes it a most entertaining and eye-opening adventure, eye-opening in the sense that it explains so much about Ireland and its people through generations of families that come to life as they live and endure their country's history. The characters' very human reactions provided me with a fascinating yet scholarly journey, a worthwhile journey for those who enjoy historical fiction and especially for those who like me have Irish roots and much curiosity about these roots.<BR/><BR/> Part Two, The Rebels of Ireland, continues this same author's journey through to 20th century Ireland and once again, I'd say....A Could Not Put It Down Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I absolutely loved this book! It started off slow but the beginning was still my favorite part. It's also a bit long and I had to keep checking the family tree but it was still one of the best books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    An amazing journey through early Ireland

    Rutherford is an amazing writer. Although it is long, he paints such an incredible picture that the reader feels he is living the story while reading it. His sequel, 'Rebels of Ireland,' keeps the story going into the 20th century. I highly recommend both of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Things I Never Knew About My Country

    A really enjoyable account of the old history of Ireland entwined with family issues, romance and every day living. Easy to listen to and follow. Cant wait to read Rebels of Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    An engaging way to learn Irish history.

    I loved this book. It is true that it starts off a wee bit slow, but quickly picks up and keeps going strong. The characters were interesting and the plot was skillfully woven around actual historical events. I found it to be a very enjoyable way to learn early Irish history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5