Customer Reviews for

The Princes of Ireland

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with

If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with its sequel The Rebels of Ireland. Extremely in history taking you from the Ice Age, through the Druids, Irish chiefs and High King, Vikings, Strongbow, Brian Boru, King Henry(s) and more. Rutherford also i...
If you are Irish (yes, I am 1/2) this is a must read along with its sequel The Rebels of Ireland. Extremely in history taking you from the Ice Age, through the Druids, Irish chiefs and High King, Vikings, Strongbow, Brian Boru, King Henry(s) and more. Rutherford also is great at helping you understand why the history happened the way it did through the characters he develops. The last chapters are riveting. The great news is I am reading the sequel and it starts off even better than the first.

posted by bryguy on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A satisfying, quick read of Irish History.

When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I k...
When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I kept with this novel and was very surprised how engaging it became. I have always kept away from Michener and other various writers who write long epics about a certain place's history. I must admit that I really started to fall in love with this novel. I knock the writing style, but Rutherford (is trying to write a complete Irish history) has a way of making you attached to certain characters. I particularly enjoyed the part about Brian Boru. I would have loved if Rutherford brought more of the Celtic mythology out in the opening of the novel. Cuchulain and such. Nevertheless I became fully engaged in this novel and am now in the middle of The Rebels of Ireland. I think 3 stars is a very fair rating, I might have ranked it a bit high for my tastes. Maybe if he separated this history into 6 novels like Clavell did I would have loved it a lot more. I still recommend it and particularly if you have an interest in a loose and quick history of Ireland.

posted by The_Full_Crumb on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A satisfying, quick read of Irish History.

    When I first began this book I almost immediately put it right back down. It's a quick read with not much of a creative writing style. I like my character development to go on for tons of pages and in this novel you get very brief biographs. With that being said, I kept with this novel and was very surprised how engaging it became. I have always kept away from Michener and other various writers who write long epics about a certain place's history. I must admit that I really started to fall in love with this novel. I knock the writing style, but Rutherford (is trying to write a complete Irish history) has a way of making you attached to certain characters. I particularly enjoyed the part about Brian Boru. I would have loved if Rutherford brought more of the Celtic mythology out in the opening of the novel. Cuchulain and such. Nevertheless I became fully engaged in this novel and am now in the middle of The Rebels of Ireland. I think 3 stars is a very fair rating, I might have ranked it a bit high for my tastes. Maybe if he separated this history into 6 novels like Clavell did I would have loved it a lot more. I still recommend it and particularly if you have an interest in a loose and quick history of Ireland.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    Not one of Rutherfurd's best

    I really enjoy Rutherfurd most times, but I found this book sort of bland. I was almost waiting for it to end. The characters were just not as interesting as in the others I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting but not as good as his other books.

    This is the story of Dublin, Ireland from the time of Fergus, the Irish chieftain whose farm was at the forks about 400AD to Silken Thomas in the mid 1500AD's when the English and Henry VIII started to try to govern by force. It is the story of the different generations of several families who had an influence on the people and the place. Fortunately there was a family genealogy at the beginning because several times I got confused as to who was who and related to whom. But all in all, it was an exciting book. Very informative about the times, places, and the Celtic culture which has always interested me. The characters were strongly portrayed and I could totally see where they were personally strong and weak. It was interesting how Mr. Rutherfurd kept some of the traits running throughout the generations to both the benefit and detriment of the person. I liked that the women were portrayed in more than just a servatile position. They were strong or weak as needed in order to impact their generation but they did have an impact and that's what is important. He seems to be more inclined to have physical characteristics handed down through the generations though rather than some of the strong character traits. The middle chapters didn't seem to develop the characters as much as the first and last but were good reads if not totally enthralling. He definitely left the story hanging in order to promote the sequel. It is a good book but not as good as his London or Sarum. 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Long, don't forget it's long

    I know one doesn't pick up a book of this heft without being willing to commit to the thing. You can't expect swift plot resolution, page turning action, etc. Mr. Rutherford clearly aspires to fill the shoes of Mr. Michener. And in many ways he does. If what you want is numerous pages, hit or miss quality writing, a large canvas, historical reproductions of ages of the history of a place... Well you're at the right place. Might as well buy this one. Read it. Keep it bedside to toss at intruders, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    If I hadn't just been there...

    This was a compelling story, but a bit long in many places. A fascinating history of the beginning of Ireland, I appreciated it since I had just visited for the first time, but it's abstraction might be too much for most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Forgetable characters -boring storyline.

    Having read numerous books about current Irish history I was anxiously looking forward to this novel about the ancient history of Dublin/Ireland. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with most of the story line. The characters just didn't do anything for me. I found myself not really caring about the principal individuals and having my interest peaked only by the historical context of the book. It would have been nice to see a detailed map of Dublin during that time. I did appreciate the Irish pronuncation list. Yes, I will read the next book in this saga, but hopefully the 'story' will have more strength.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1