Customer Reviews for

Princess Academy

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(351)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Princess Academy

This really is a good book. The protagonist Miri's yearning is to work in the quarry like everyone else on Mount Eskel, but she is too small to fulfill her dream. One day, a delegate from the royal court comes to Eskel saying that all the girls on the mountain must atte...
This really is a good book. The protagonist Miri's yearning is to work in the quarry like everyone else on Mount Eskel, but she is too small to fulfill her dream. One day, a delegate from the royal court comes to Eskel saying that all the girls on the mountain must attend the academy to learn how to become a princess, and at the end of their stay at the school, the prince will choose a bride. Miri, of course, must go to the school, and there the girls face bitter treatment from Tutor Olana. But Miri finds herself in the reading and writing aspects of school and befriends some girls while making enemies with others. Who will the prince choose? What are Miri's friends hiding? Read this book to find out!

posted by 3511605 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Not for young kids. I read this in 3rd grade and i HATED it! If ur 10 and up, or just like a lot of details, u will like it

posted by 7381772 on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 490 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Princess Academy

    This really is a good book. The protagonist Miri's yearning is to work in the quarry like everyone else on Mount Eskel, but she is too small to fulfill her dream. One day, a delegate from the royal court comes to Eskel saying that all the girls on the mountain must attend the academy to learn how to become a princess, and at the end of their stay at the school, the prince will choose a bride. Miri, of course, must go to the school, and there the girls face bitter treatment from Tutor Olana. But Miri finds herself in the reading and writing aspects of school and befriends some girls while making enemies with others. Who will the prince choose? What are Miri's friends hiding? Read this book to find out!

    42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    Outstanding Novel

    Shannon Hale, not exactly new, but not exactly old to the book market, recently released her newest work, Princess Academy. A book worth every star, Princess Academy is a lovely book that kept me reading all night. Princess Academy is a beautifully written work of art about fourteen-year-old Miri, who is sent off to the Princess Academy in hopes of being chosen to be the Princess. Though discouraged by her peers, Miri helps save her friends, her enemies, and herself. The book shows that even the smallest things can make the largest difference. I applaud Shannon Hale for her skill in writing.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    The Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

    To be a princess, to marry a prince, to wear a beautiful crown, and to sit in a elegant throne. Is that not every girl's dream? It may be most girls', but not Miri's. Miri may not be too excited about marrying a lowlander, even if he is a prince, but she does want to impress her father, and her older sister. Miri agrees to be sent to the Princess Academy, a large building set in the mountains of Eskel. She and the other girls learn proper etiquette, and they are taught how to bring out the strong conscience in all of their minds. Miri, Britta, Esa, Katar, and other girls are sent to the academy and get punished for no reason at all. Can Miri prove that while she may be small, she is strong?<BR/><BR/> Miri is a skinny, mischievous girl, who believes that anyone can overcome their fears and any approaching evil. She is aided in her many pranks by her best friend, Britta. Britta is a lowlander, not born on Mount Eskel. Britta despises Olana just as much as Miri, and has helped Miri throughout the story. Olana is the harsh, determined, fiery, and forever changing antagonist of the story. Many other secondary characters, including Knut, Esa, Katar, Frid, Pa, Peder, and Marda, are all important people to Miri, and they all support The Princess Academy in their own important ways, perhaps fighting off bandits, or chipping pieces of linder off the sides of Mount Eskel.<BR/><BR/> This book is a hilarious, heartwarming, and surprising mix of love stories, fantasy, rebellion, independence, and cooperation. The Princess Academy, written by Shannon Hale, also author of Goose Girl, sets a model for other girls to be strong and to listen to their hearts. This realistic fiction book has a plot loaded with action, keeping you on board, interested, and able to connect yourself with the characters, giving you a clearer picture inside the characters' plots, making it easier to enjoy the book. Shannon Hale has written a multitude of books, all just as good of a page turner as The Princess Academy, a heartwarming book for all ages.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I am an adult who loves to read adolescent literature (I am a former English teacher), and I adored this book. It is entertaining, well-written, CLEAN, and unique. I can't wait to introduce this to my own daughters.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    My Favorite book!

    wow! I was shocked at how amazing the story is! I mean i've read it about 5 times and i am reading right mow its in my lap! It is so descriptive and humble. I have totally nailed quarry speech and i even did all the litericy circle questions!

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    WARNING: This book is highly addictive! The story pulled me in from the very beginning of the novel and I would just keep reading and reading. The light humor makes it really fun and the more the story told me about Mount Eskel, the more into it I would get. In fact, I was disappointed when I finished the book! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to read a different kind of story than usual.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Ok

    Not for young kids. I read this in 3rd grade and i HATED it! If ur 10 and up, or just like a lot of details, u will like it

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    I will try it

    I have never read this book before but with all these good reviews i think i will try it.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Amazinggg!!

    Loved it and it is definately not your typical prince charming book either!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Whoa Dude

    I absolutely loved this book and i think it is a great read for anyone who is looking for adventure and exitment! This is my favorite book of all time!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    M

    One of my most favorite books. It contains exciting conflicts and adventure, but down to earth things too.(Like a first crush) Miri is so inspiring and a relatable and realisic character. The author of this book had me hooked and left me dreading the ending. I would consider this a must read. I would recomened it for girls 9 to 12 but I'm older than that and still love it. You would be able to find this in most libraries since it is a newberry honor book, so I would suggest you check it out before buying it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    What a great book

    This was my favorite book of this school year. I am an elementary school librarian and this was just a great discovery for me. Some students are turned off by the title but once they read it they love it. One student read it four times in one week. The storyline is so interesting that it is hard to put down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    WOW

    The title of this book seems like a story of a rich little princess and at rich little snobby school. That is totally NOT how this book is. This is a very humble story that is great for any age!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    A fantastic book!

    This book was excellent. I couldn't put it down! It was beautifully written- had good characters, a good strong plot, and great descriptions. It is the tale of Miri, a fourteen year old girl who was small for her age. She was put down by the girls at the academy, she still tried to make a difference, and was nice to those who weren't nice to her. This book is great. I guarentee you'll love this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Looove this book

    What a cute, fun story for all ages. And not too girly.





    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    EVERY LITTLE GIRLS DREAM

    EVERY LITTLE GIRLS DREAM
    Princess Academy
    by Shannon Hale

    Princess Academy by Shannon Hale is a 2006 Newberry Award winner. This children's novel is one that any young girl would enjoy reading. It is an account of a young girl named Miri who comes from a not so fortunate background, but is graced with the opportunity to become a princess if she is chosen after she &quot;graduates&quot; from the Princess Academy. This is such great news to her because she is an outcast within her community, with only a relationship with her father, sister, and her childhood playmate Peder. She longs for a place in her little world and desperately wishes for better living conditions for not only her, but the people around her.
    Despite the prejudices between quarry and lowlanders, and the competition between the girls to become the town princess, Miri not only develops helpful friendships, but also learns the unspoken language and learns commerce. This is an unusual &quot;happily ever after&quot; story in that, Miri may or may not win the title of princess in the end, but she manages to learn more about herself, others, and also help her community prosper due to her newly learned skills at the Princess Academy.
    This novel is a must for young girls. It is intriguing and allows girls of all sorts to relate to the aspirations of becoming a young, beautiful woman. I will definitely have this in my teacher library and recommend it to the girls in my class. It will beneficially help them to see the importance of friends despite preexisting conditions and competition.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    The Book

    This book was the best book ever. I am in 7th grade. It is about this girl named Miri who goes to this princess academey along with all the other girls from her village. She encounters different adventures, a must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Not Worth Your Time or Money

    The time that I read this book was when for a Literature Book Study. At first I was excited cause the book seemed awesome at first, but as soon as I read the first 5 chapters I was really disappointed. The book was slow and boring. I honestly do not recommend this book.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    LOVE BOOKS!

    This is an amazing strory! I love the connection between Miri and Peder. It is amazing how they can commuicate when they are so far away. This is a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Oh my gosh, what an awesome book

    This is the best book ever. I have read #1 & #2 and they were great. This is my most very favorite book in the world. The main character, Miri goes to the princess acadamy and is captured by bandits. You have to read the book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 490 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25