Customer Reviews for

The Princess Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 645 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(438)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Original, Vivid, Entertaining

    William Goldman writes this remarkable piece that enthralls his audience in a world of romance, suspense, and comedy. He plays with his readers while still collaborating a magnificent, impeccable novel. This work is excellent to stretch your thinking and understanding of complex literature. Break out your highlighter and pen because you do not want to miss any details! If you have seen modern renditions, including the 1987 movie, you do not even have a clue for what this storyline has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    really good

    this book was much better then i thought it would be. it had that fairy tale kind of vibe, but more...complicated and witty. i definately recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    The Princess Bride is a amusing, touching, and all aroud good book!

    I don't know about you but I think that this book has everything, adventure, romance, comedy, AND has memorable characters. I think that William Goldman did a great job doing this abridgement. It truely is a 'Good Parts' version as he calls it. I would recomend this story to anyone who loves a book that they can sit down with and get taken into a unforgettable world made out of ink and paper and one talented imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    Excellent Story

    This book was very well written. I liked the way it kept u so into the story, in that sense I couldnt put it down. I definitly recommend it to people who love romance/adventure. Plus the characters were put together extremeley well. I mean Inigo Montoya... he has to be my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Kept me reading for a whole night without putting it down.

    This was a wonderful book! I simply loved it. Buttercup, Wesley, Inigo, Fezzik, Vizzini, all the characters were wonderfully described, and I could picture them as if they were in a constant vision before my eyes. The only thing I could say I disliked was that the person who did the revising took out large chunks, which I would like to have read. All in all a marvelous book. A definite must have for any fantasy lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Suspense creates a true page turner

    Some many times it is said love can conquer all; In ¿The Princess Bride,¿ by William Goldman,love, adventure, and true humor show how a great love can rise above anything put in it's way. Buttercup, the princess bride, is a beautiful young girl torn between the man she loves, Westley, and the man she will marry, Prince Humperdink. Buttercup, a lovely young girl, is praised for her beauty far and wide. Westley, her farm boy, is a captivating man who would do anything for his princess. Prince Humperdink, an arrogant, spoiled man hears of Buttercups beauty and travels to her home to claim her as his bride. As the wedding draws near,Westley, along with Inigo, a Spanish fighter, and Fezzik, a kind giant, try to save the bride, using their cunning tricks and advanced fighting skills. Even though there are a few hardships along the way true love, as always, prevails. Goldman creates suspense, not only in the action, but also in the dialogue between the characters. Inigo repeats the phrase, ¿You killed my father. Prepare to die.¿ In just a short phrase, suspense and excitement are created in the story line, by giving the reader a bit of foreshadowing, with this phrase, it gives a little cliffhanger and therefore creates suspense. An astounding amount of suspense is created in the action as well. Goldman creates suspense by describing in intricate detail every fight scene, battle and conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    GREAT FUN!

    This book is one of the few books to make me laugh out. It is for anyone who enjoyed the movie, and provides some great and amusing back stories not seen in the movie. Just the 'History' of the book is a good joke in it's own right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2002

    Really Good Book

    This is one of my favorite books. It is soooooooo good!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    one wish...

    Ironically, I just wish this book wasn't mass-produced. It has that old, hand-me-down feeling to it. A new one takes away from that a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    I loved this book!

    I watched the movie long before I read the book. Over the weekend I read it(just couldn't put it down). I hope Buttercup's Baby is coming out soon(hopefully, there'll eventually be the book AND a movie of it).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1