Customer Reviews for

The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 831 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(559)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic story, inconceivably bad ebook presentation

The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to...
The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to distinguish Goldman's voice from Morgenstern's. This is important, because there are many interjections by Goldman. The first edition of the book used red type for Goldman's voice. Subsequent editions used italics. With the richness of an electronic screen available, what does this ebook do? Absolutely nothing is what it does. The book says "All abridging remarks and other comments will be in this fancy italic type so you'll know." It says this in exactly the same non-italic type of the rest of the book. Hopefully, being an electronic item, this error can be fixed, and existing copies will be updated.

This makes it appear that in the production chain of an eBook, or this one anyway, there wasn't a single person who cared about the content of Princess Bride. This is our future! Please take better care.

posted by DylanJames on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

A rare case where the movie is MUCH better than the book

All my life I have been one of those people who habitually asserts that the book version is always better than the movie version - or at least I was, until I read 'The Princess Bride.' I loved the movie, but I hated the book. The problem is that the author was unable to...
All my life I have been one of those people who habitually asserts that the book version is always better than the movie version - or at least I was, until I read 'The Princess Bride.' I loved the movie, but I hated the book. The problem is that the author was unable to suppress the urge to inject his own ego throughout the narrative. And he's horribly sexist and full of himself. He keeps inserting pointless, uninteresting personal anecdotes, bragging about how he flirted with a Hollywood starlet in a swimming pool and making gratuitous, snarky critical remarks about his ex-wife. I was annoyed from beginning to end of this tiresome exercise in macho self-admiration and ended up wanting to smack him upside the head (and I am normally a very nonviolent person). Even when he gets around to the actual story and characters that we love, he describes Buttercup as a love object with no personality or will or agenda of her own, so that all his pontifications on the subject of 'true love' become meaningless. Save yourself a few bucks and go back and see the movie again!

posted by Firannion on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Just ok

    I think it was only ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Fun and fanciful

    A light weight and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Silly, light read

    Very cute book! The author's interruptions got pretty old, but the story itself is a lot of fun! Not a lot of differences between it and the movie, however. A very quick/light read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    This book is fine for your age

    I think this book is fine for age if you like the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    All's Fair In Love and War

    The book The Princess Bride is considered a classic book. The Princess Bride also provides the reader with fantasy giving them the opportunity to curl up and escape to another world. The storybook characters consist of a king, queen, prince, and the hero known as the "man in black". The characters have all different unique personalities which make them memorable and entertaining. For example, Fezzik is a gentle giant while Prince Humperdinck loves to hunt, kill, and watch people suffer. This is a contrast of characters which is repeated throughout the whole story keeping the reader anxious to turn to the next page.
    This book would be enjoyed by all ages because it has all the components of a good story, romance, action, conflict, and comedy. This is a great book to read to children leaving them with lasting memories and a love for reading. Each character has their own quest keeping the reader intrigued. One specific example, Inigo is trying to kill the man that slaughtered his father. A draw back to an otherwise entertaining book is that the chapters are written in large sections causing the reader to possibly lose interest for a time. If I had to rate this book it would be a seven out of ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Swords, females, males and of course wits

    The princess bride was interesting read it has your usual characters the hero the villains. And of course the romance and unusual names. Not good for a rainy day read will put you to sleep. There are sword fights and mountain climbing scenes and of course the uneventfully kissing scenes. When I think of kissing scenes I think of a romantic first kiss at the girl's front door.

    The characters are hard to keep straight. Just too many little characters that show up for one page and are gone until the end of the book then show up again.

    If you are for a read that will put you to sleep or having trouble sleeping at this book will help you do those things without a doubt. It did with me. I am still sleeping like a baby because I am still thinking about this book. And how boring it really was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    You should read this book. As you wish

    The Princess bride is a okay book and gets a 3/5 stars. The author's used to much commentary interrupting the flow of the stories. But if you're a fan of fairytales, this is the book for you. If you are a fan of adventure, this is the book for you. If you are a fan of romance, this is the book for you. In other words, this book can fill whatever need you have. Light hearted and funny, it incorporates a thread of the importance and constancy of the oral tradition without making an issue of it. Boys love it, girls love it, and I certainly think that you will love it, too. The movie was great, but the book is ten times better. Don't pass this one by.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Different but very nice

    I liked it very much. It's somewhat different from the movie. It feels strange when some of those differences are about the characters but it is still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a Different Kind of AR Book!

    It was different from what I normally read. The book was more fairy tale Rennasiance in style.

    For this type of good guy vs bad guy I like more modern books. You should probably be prepared for the parts of the book that break down each minute of action in great detail and I think it is freakishly messed up. This makes long chapters. In other parts of the book the Goldman takes S. Morganstern's book that were normally 200 pages and break it down to 3 or 4 pages because some of it didn't need to be there. Goldman also took out lots of Morganstern's Floranese History from the book to make more of an Advnture Love Story. Goldman EDITED the orginal book by Morganstern. I would like to see what Morganstern originally wrote, too.

    If you are looking to read this book because you watched the movie and loved it the book has much, much more detail. It reminds how "Harry Potter and the Sorcer's Stone" movie and book are similar. You can see more of the true person in the Character in the book than in the movie.

    The charactes's are very "concealing" about themselevs. They don't like other people seeing who they actually are. They tend to be shy. I liked this. It made the book more intersteing and gets one more into the book.

    I think if you are thinking about reading this book you should. It is very good. I reccomend it to anyone who loves adventure and/or romance. You would love the book.

    Written by mjmgrcc with her 7th grade daughter who read the book for school AR points

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    drawn out and redundant

    the movie, also written by Goldman, was fantastic. So i decided to read the book that it came from, and find myself desperately hating that decision. I'm stuck in a world where the Fred Savage/Peter Falk aspect is thrown into the face of the reader every few pages, and most of the book is set between Goldman bitchting about his own life in the story! It's not a book! <BR/>Besides, he can't keep from commenting how many pages "Morgenstern" took to explain this or that. It's not a book, for it reads much more like an un edited autobiography, but not even remotely interested. <BR/>Stick with the movie, that's my humble advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3