Customer Reviews for

The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 841 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(567)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic story, inconceivably bad ebook presentation

The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to...
The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to distinguish Goldman's voice from Morgenstern's. This is important, because there are many interjections by Goldman. The first edition of the book used red type for Goldman's voice. Subsequent editions used italics. With the richness of an electronic screen available, what does this ebook do? Absolutely nothing is what it does. The book says "All abridging remarks and other comments will be in this fancy italic type so you'll know." It says this in exactly the same non-italic type of the rest of the book. Hopefully, being an electronic item, this error can be fixed, and existing copies will be updated.

This makes it appear that in the production chain of an eBook, or this one anyway, there wasn't a single person who cared about the content of Princess Bride. This is our future! Please take better care.

posted by DylanJames on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

A rare case where the movie is MUCH better than the book

All my life I have been one of those people who habitually asserts that the book version is always better than the movie version - or at least I was, until I read 'The Princess Bride.' I loved the movie, but I hated the book. The problem is that the author was unable to...
All my life I have been one of those people who habitually asserts that the book version is always better than the movie version - or at least I was, until I read 'The Princess Bride.' I loved the movie, but I hated the book. The problem is that the author was unable to suppress the urge to inject his own ego throughout the narrative. And he's horribly sexist and full of himself. He keeps inserting pointless, uninteresting personal anecdotes, bragging about how he flirted with a Hollywood starlet in a swimming pool and making gratuitous, snarky critical remarks about his ex-wife. I was annoyed from beginning to end of this tiresome exercise in macho self-admiration and ended up wanting to smack him upside the head (and I am normally a very nonviolent person). Even when he gets around to the actual story and characters that we love, he describes Buttercup as a love object with no personality or will or agenda of her own, so that all his pontifications on the subject of 'true love' become meaningless. Save yourself a few bucks and go back and see the movie again!

posted by Firannion on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Formatting fixed on fabulous fairytale

    This is a classic novel of adventure, romance, sword fighting, revenge, magic and very big rodents. Funnier than the film, and with better special effects. Goldman's radical editing of Morgenstern's epic will appeal to anyone with a love of adventure, but who read the unabridged versions of books such as Don Quixote and Moby Dick and found them boring beyond belief. All the good bits, indeed.
    And the format's been fixed - Goldman's comentary is now in italics.

    49 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    S. Morgensterns Does Not Exist!!

    I have loved this movie and this book since I was very little. Imagine my surprise to find out that there never was an orignial version of this book. The Princess Bride is 100% William Goldman!! There never was a S. Morgenstern ( William Goldman fabricated him) so all the parts of interuption on the book where Goldman puts in his comments regarding the original story were all fabricated as well. It doesnt take away from the beauty of the story don't get me wrong, but He really had me going there for minute :-)

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Fun classic!

    Wonderfully creative story....fantastically funny movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book was really good and I liked the suspense and action. Plus the romaance and the way it made you think!

    Great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    This was great

    I loved the movie it was a great thrill! I thought the book would make it boring, but no! I think it accually could have been better than the movie. The side comments were a little distracting but overall it was great!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Classic!

    Just a classic. Just like in the movie and the book it's a great book to read to your kids :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Amazing- must read!

    I had always loved the movie, and the book surpassed my highest expectations. You get great character background, and the adventure is timeless. A great fun, and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    ***Exceptional tale of love and the journey it entails*** The pr

    ***Exceptional tale of love and the journey it entails***
    The princess bride is a book filled with everything a reader could want. The tale of buttercup and Wesley is told from the perspective of William Goldman (author) who was told the story by his father as a child. The story follows buttercup and her beloved farm boy Wesley. Their journey is filled with heartache and longing as they search for each other and then join to battle the obstacles that stand in their way. But this novel proves to be great for all audiences with its action, adventure, suspense, and of course romance. Boys and girls are sure to love this tale of true devotion and exciting adventures. This book seems to perfectly correspond with the hero cycle almost to a point of being humorous. Everything seems to follow each step throughout the story. You can't help but notice if Goldman did this on purpose and was in a way making fun of the hero cycle in each story. This is an example of the depth of thought of each layer that you will find while reading this book. Whether it's the physical idea of this story being read to him as a child and then portrayed as a novel, or the mentality put into each decision for the plot. This novel is a classic book that everyone should read at some point in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    To number 1

    You are right the movie is awesome i am thinking
    About reading the book is it any good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Payton review

    Liked this book but can get a little boring. Dont especially like the narratorr. The movies better~Payton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Princess Bride

    Awesome but it sorta leaves you hanging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    ORANGES ARE BAD

    It was a awesome book but the ending was bad. I also didnt like all the personal oppinion stuff in the muddle of the book but otherwise it is an awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars

    I think I may the only one to give this 3.5 stars. The first 50, yes 50, pages if the book (on my nook) I thought was complete rubbish. Some of it was great to leave in (ex: when he was sick and his dad would read it to him. Also how he came about to write the good version.) but other than that I skimmed through it. Because of that, that's why I didn't rate it higher. I was quite bored during his "explaining." I loved it when it got to the actual story. Pretty much everything you read was in the movie. Overall I thought it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great!

    I love this movie, the book is awesome as well. It gets a little bit tedious at times, and it takes a while before you get to the actual story because the thor talks about himself for quite a long time, but overall it is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Ridley Raven August 9 4:30 hey just let me know when ill be able

    Ridley Raven August 9 4:30
    hey just let me know when ill be able to make it, im gonna call you once i get off line if were on the phone say the light is on if you want me to come over

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Hello

    You killed my father prepare to die. That's one of my favorite parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended - I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    If you loved the movie (and who didn't?), you will enjoy this book. The dialog from the movie is nearly word for word from this text. There are slight differences between the movie characters and the book, but I didn't feel this was important.

    Some of the story is different, but the movie was the best recreation of this book I've ever experienced.

    Read this book to ensure that you have experienced all that The Princess Bride has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    My favorite movie

    This is one if my favorite movies ever. I was determend to read the book after i watched the movie. I have to admit i like the movie better than the book. Sometimes i could not understand the book,but i kept reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Princess bride

    The best book ever!!!! So much action and romance!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9