Customer Reviews for

The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 841 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(567)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic story, inconceivably bad ebook presentation

The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to...
The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to distinguish Goldman's voice from Morgenstern's. This is important, because there are many interjections by Goldman. The first edition of the book used red type for Goldman's voice. Subsequent editions used italics. With the richness of an electronic screen available, what does this ebook do? Absolutely nothing is what it does. The book says "All abridging remarks and other comments will be in this fancy italic type so you'll know." It says this in exactly the same non-italic type of the rest of the book. Hopefully, being an electronic item, this error can be fixed, and existing copies will be updated.

This makes it appear that in the production chain of an eBook, or this one anyway, there wasn't a single person who cared about the content of Princess Bride. This is our future! Please take better care.

posted by DylanJames on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

A rare case where the movie is MUCH better than the book

All my life I have been one of those people who habitually asserts that the book version is always better than the movie version - or at least I was, until I read 'The Princess Bride.' I loved the movie, but I hated the book. The problem is that the author was unable to...
All my life I have been one of those people who habitually asserts that the book version is always better than the movie version - or at least I was, until I read 'The Princess Bride.' I loved the movie, but I hated the book. The problem is that the author was unable to suppress the urge to inject his own ego throughout the narrative. And he's horribly sexist and full of himself. He keeps inserting pointless, uninteresting personal anecdotes, bragging about how he flirted with a Hollywood starlet in a swimming pool and making gratuitous, snarky critical remarks about his ex-wife. I was annoyed from beginning to end of this tiresome exercise in macho self-admiration and ended up wanting to smack him upside the head (and I am normally a very nonviolent person). Even when he gets around to the actual story and characters that we love, he describes Buttercup as a love object with no personality or will or agenda of her own, so that all his pontifications on the subject of 'true love' become meaningless. Save yourself a few bucks and go back and see the movie again!

posted by Firannion on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 567 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Fantastic story, inconceivably bad ebook presentation

    The story is without peer. For folks who loved the movie, the extra texture and detail provided by the book is very rewarding.

    However, this ebook presentation is inexcusably poor. What am I talking about? Every other edition of the Princess Bride uses typography to distinguish Goldman's voice from Morgenstern's. This is important, because there are many interjections by Goldman. The first edition of the book used red type for Goldman's voice. Subsequent editions used italics. With the richness of an electronic screen available, what does this ebook do? Absolutely nothing is what it does. The book says "All abridging remarks and other comments will be in this fancy italic type so you'll know." It says this in exactly the same non-italic type of the rest of the book. Hopefully, being an electronic item, this error can be fixed, and existing copies will be updated.

    This makes it appear that in the production chain of an eBook, or this one anyway, there wasn't a single person who cared about the content of Princess Bride. This is our future! Please take better care.

    73 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Better than the original!

    William Goldman has done a brilliant job with his abridgement, as anyone who struggled through the original S. Morgenstern will attest. He truly did leave in only the good parts, and they paint a vivid and engaging picture of Florinese culture that is not to be missed. S. Morgenstern was known for his in depth discussions of every day Florinese life, but this is of little interest to the common reader, and of little enough interest to those of us doing a doctoral dissertation on Florin and it's place in history. Mr. Goldman got it right, and brought this brilliant and historically accurate tale to the masses! I heartily recommend the book!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite Book!!

    Wow, where do I begin? Being a big fan of the movie and critical of adaptations, this book was as close to perfect as you could possibly get! I absolutely loved it! The movie stays very faithful to the book; and the book is purely awesome. The book even contained the aspect that the story was being read to a child by an adult. Goldman took it even a step further and created an entire storyline outside of the actual Princess Bride story. The whole idea of abridging the “original” story by Morgenstern was fictitious, but it had me believing it was the truth. It wasn’t until after finishing the book, I looked it up on the internet and found out it was fake; it was all part of the story. Very creative, I must say.

    Aside from that, the main story of The Princess Bride was exciting, funny, and touching. The characters were deep, witty, and likable. It contained a great balance of romance, action, suspense, and witty humor. If you enjoyed the movie, you’ll cherish the book. It gives greater detail and background to various characters not seen in the movie.

    This has undoubtedly become my favorite book by far. To think another story could outdo it is absolutely....

    ....INCONCEIVABLE!!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Excellent book

    This book is phenomenal. I saw the movie many times before actually reading the book. Needless to say this is one of the best books I have ever read. I highly recommend it to anyone.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Absolutely worth reading

    For anyone who has seen the movie and doesn't think they need to read the book, I say: you don't know what you're missing. Goldman's novel is a whirlwind of adventure, romance, and above all, snark.
    I first read The Princess Bride in elementary school and was completely snookered into believing that Goldman's introduction was true--and that he had indeed abridged a much longer version of the story. Now realizing my foolishness, I doubly appreciate the narrative voice he uses with such ingenuity. You feel as if you are interacting with his amazing cast of characters as well as the "author" battling it out with an "editor" behind the scenes, as well as a little boy from the intro who loved this tale when he was sick....no humdrum narrative here.
    There is enough different between the book and the movie that I love each unabashedly on their own terms.
    How could you not love an author who wrote a 50th anniversary fake introduction to his fake introduction about what it was like to make the movie...and how he scaled the Cliffs of Insanity with Andre the giant for research. Rascal.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Grandson: Has it got any sports in it? Grandpa: Are you kidding

    Grandson: Has it got any sports in it?
    Grandpa: Are you kidding? Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...

    The Princess Bride has all that and more. It's a classic fairytale and is, by far, one of the greatest love/action/adventure/revenge stories you will ever read. That's saying a lot but it's a sure thing. I guarantee it. But for those of you who may scoff at the fantasy, bear with me because it's not all cupcakes and sunshine either. There's death and heartbreak and a, sort of, satirical edge making it equally as engaging as any David Sedaris or Neil Gaiman novel. Wit and whimsy. What more could you ask for? For this reason, there is a little something for everyone.

    What you are reading is a story within a story. It's a tale about the lasting effects that come from reading great books. It delivers a riveting tribute to the power and beauty of fairytales, even in an age where many consider them archaic and obsolete. This book delivers death-defying feats of love and heroism, and of course, one of the most satisfying acts of retribution ever written on a page. But it's more than that. There is substance here. At it's core, this book is about family, friendship and love (and not just that of Buttercup and Westley). The Princess Bride's real genius lies in how the story is told --- from Goldman's father to him and from him to his own son through the eyes of the fictional S. Morgenstern. And this is what makes it resonate to soundly for me.

    Of course, it's hard to talk about the book without so much as mentioning the film. The film is iconic. If I'm being completely honest, until very recently, I didn't even realize that the movie was based on a novel. I know, I know. For shame! Anyway, I very rarely enjoy a film as much as the novelization, however, this is one case where I can say that they are equals in every sense of the word. I think this is due in large part to Goldman's hand at writing both the book and screenplay. The storyline is left largely in tact as is much of the original dialogue, rendering it in my eyes, a whopping success. Do you know anyone who doesn't run around uttering "INCONCEIVABLE!"? I know I do. Or what about this little gem? "Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die." I mean, c'mon! Is there any other bit as repeated or loved as that? And maybe in some regard I do hold a bias because I saw the film first, but I can't imagine a better case of casting. I dare any of you to try and picture these lovable characters as people other than who played them on screen. Name one guy who didn't want to share a peanut with Fezzik or one girl who didn't want to swoon in the arms of the dear Wesley. Pure perfection.

    It is in my fair opinion that whether you choose to read the book or see the film, you are in for a magical treat. You'll be transported to a transcendent, magnificent world of folklore and believe me, it will stand the test of time. It is because of tales like The Princess Bride, that we're able to appreciate these little lessons and the stories that bring them to life. It makes you appreciate the magic of childhood and of true love and of the written word. It's about the power of stories and how they can irrevocably change us. In the end, you realize that anyone is capable of having a happily ever after and you will be left feeling profoundly satisfied. Inconceivable? Not even so.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    I love the book as much as the movie

    Even if it is a kissing book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    YOUR FAV NERD :)

    Hello my name is Inidgo montoya. You killed my father prepare to die- Inidgo Montoya this is my favorite quote ever. Five stars all the way

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    I found out about this book right after I saw the movie. If you saw the movie and even slightly liked it, trust me you will absoutly LOVE this book! The Princess Bride is worth reading no matter who you are. It is a classic tale that has to do with fencing, beasts, true love, and some miracles. I recommend this book to everyone I know! It has always been my favorite book to read. If you are feeling sad, read this book. If you are feeling happy, read this book. It is impossible to put down so make sure you have plently of time to read. (I would not start reading this book at night, you will be up to 6 'oclock in the morning reading.) Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Wonderful!

    For those who know the movie, I highly suggest this. It is truly an all time classic. This i must say is much less drawn on than the original, but still true to the original. Very funny and witty, romantic and it has amazing characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing!

    i had always loved this movie, and when i saw the book one day i decided that it would be fun to read. it was amazing. i love the plot, and how goldman interweaves anecdotes and "facts" about "morgenstern" with the plot of the princess bride. definitely read this

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Awesome!

    Super awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    The Princes Bride: A book to readReviewed by Harrison Parker12/6

    The Princes Bride: A book to readReviewed by Harrison Parker12/6/2013The Princess Bride By William Golding, based on S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale
    In William Goldman’s The Princess Bride, a classic tale about true love and adventure, the “good parts” of S. Morgenstern’s classic tale are retold. Goldman does a fantastic job with incorporating two separate stories into one novel. In the first story, Goldman tells of how he came upon the Princess Bride and how his father read it to him. The second story, obviously, was the good parts of The Princess Bride. Throughout the story of The Princess Bride, Goldman throws interjections into the story. These interjections can either be informative, or annoying. Goldman feels it to be important to explain what is clearly understandable in the text, and interrupts the story; kills the enchantment. The facts mentioned in these interventions would be useful for a history book perhaps, but not for a fantasy novel. From a historical point of view, this novel was not very accurate. Goldman then has to interject with an explanation of why they did not have this item in the time this book was set.  The Princess Bride is a very stimulation story. Throughout the book, from a person who has trouble paying attention, the story kept me engaged. From Giants to R.O.U.S’s, Goldman gives a sense of magic in a normal world. From cover to cover, most everything had a purpose and everything fell into place. For example, the phrase “as you wish” seems nothing until it is used to reveal the man in black to Buttercup, and was a secret message. The man in black is what a child would call a superhero, based on his strength and intelligence. Goldman stays true to his theme throughout the novel, which is love conquers death. The fact that the characters are willing to die for each other proves his point. In my opinion, staying true with your theme separates a good piece of work and a bad piece of work. Goldman excels at it. The style of writing where one can definitely know exactly what is going on seems to me that Goldman wrote this with the intention of it becoming a movie. Instead of making the novel the best it can be, to me it felt like Goldman was optimizing the book for a movie. Most of the story was in the movie, the story didn’t need to be cut a lot to remain fit for a movie, and the movie achieved exceptional ratings. Although, based on how good the book was, I am not going to complain very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    My name is Inigo Montoya

    You killed my father. Prepare to die.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Long Time FAVORITE!!

    I have alwlays liked reading this book, and I am thrilled to have it digitally available. Although my fantasy was destroyed when I found out that there was no Morgenstern ... the book is still a timeless classic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Hi

    I loved the movie so i cant wait to read it its a love story but with pirates and fighting i always hear thet the book is always better but i donno its my favorite movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    A classic about beasts love and epicness. This book is better than butter!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Wonderful

    Simply amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    MOVIE CANNOT COMPARE

    I read this book for the first time when I was in fifth grade and i loved it... then I saw the movie. If you liked the movie, then you will love this book since all of your favorite parts (and quotes, anything memorable) cones exactly fron the book. Only the biok elaborates in a way the movie never could. Definitely a must-read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Movie is good the book is better

    Having seen the movie I was hesitant to buy the book. I'm glad some one lent me the book at work. I did not want my shift to end.
    BUY the book and you will never watch the movie again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 567 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29