Customer Reviews for

The Princess Curse

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Enchanting, magical, thrilling!

The novel centers around a girl named Reveka who is an apprentice to the castle's herbalist. The castle where she works harbors twelve princesses who dance their shoes to pieces each night. There is a huge reward for anyone who can solve the mystery of where they go, bu...
The novel centers around a girl named Reveka who is an apprentice to the castle's herbalist. The castle where she works harbors twelve princesses who dance their shoes to pieces each night. There is a huge reward for anyone who can solve the mystery of where they go, but anyone caught spying on the princesses at night either "disappears" or falls into a sleep from which they never awaken. Reveka is desperate to find out where the princesses go so that she can win the dowry and go off to a nunnery to be a herbalist. For all that the book immediately sounds like a new version of THE TWELVE DANCING PRINCESSES, this story only encompasses half the book. For once Reveka manages to follow the princesses and find out what is happening, something HORRIBLE happens.something that changes her life forever. THE PRINCESS CURSE shifts gears and delves deeper, following Reveka on a dangerous journey of her own that I don't really want to spoil for you.

I adored Reveka and think Haskell is a brilliant new writer. I want more books by her and would love to see more stories set in this world (but the publisher will only request more if THE PRINCESS CURSE sells well, hint hint HINT). I wasn't ready to leave when the last page was turned. It's funny; when I first heard about THE PRINCESS CURSE and saw the book's awesome cover, it was an instant must-read. When I found out that the book would be middle-grade, I decided to borrow it rather than buy it, thinking it might be like other middle-grade fairy tale re-tellings where I'd rather own them in paperback and not pay the hardcover price. As soon as I finished reading this, however, I knew that I needed a copy of my own and had to buy it right away! The novel is middle-grade due to the fact that Reveka is only thirteen. It has a hint of teen in it, though, touching on one word in particular that a child won't understand.and hopefully won't look up in the dictionary. Because the book skews younger, there isn't as much of a romantic element as I like in my fairy tales, but it's open-ended enough that we might get a lot more in a sequel.which I want to read right NOW

posted by Bonnie_W on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

1000

Fun

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting, magical, thrilling!

    The novel centers around a girl named Reveka who is an apprentice to the castle's herbalist. The castle where she works harbors twelve princesses who dance their shoes to pieces each night. There is a huge reward for anyone who can solve the mystery of where they go, but anyone caught spying on the princesses at night either "disappears" or falls into a sleep from which they never awaken. Reveka is desperate to find out where the princesses go so that she can win the dowry and go off to a nunnery to be a herbalist. For all that the book immediately sounds like a new version of THE TWELVE DANCING PRINCESSES, this story only encompasses half the book. For once Reveka manages to follow the princesses and find out what is happening, something HORRIBLE happens.something that changes her life forever. THE PRINCESS CURSE shifts gears and delves deeper, following Reveka on a dangerous journey of her own that I don't really want to spoil for you.

    I adored Reveka and think Haskell is a brilliant new writer. I want more books by her and would love to see more stories set in this world (but the publisher will only request more if THE PRINCESS CURSE sells well, hint hint HINT). I wasn't ready to leave when the last page was turned. It's funny; when I first heard about THE PRINCESS CURSE and saw the book's awesome cover, it was an instant must-read. When I found out that the book would be middle-grade, I decided to borrow it rather than buy it, thinking it might be like other middle-grade fairy tale re-tellings where I'd rather own them in paperback and not pay the hardcover price. As soon as I finished reading this, however, I knew that I needed a copy of my own and had to buy it right away! The novel is middle-grade due to the fact that Reveka is only thirteen. It has a hint of teen in it, though, touching on one word in particular that a child won't understand.and hopefully won't look up in the dictionary. Because the book skews younger, there isn't as much of a romantic element as I like in my fairy tales, but it's open-ended enough that we might get a lot more in a sequel.which I want to read right NOW

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Recommended

    I really liked this book and hope there is a sequel

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    A great all around book! I enjoyed every bit of it. It kept chan

    A great all around book! I enjoyed every bit of it. It kept changing to a very unexpected ending. Will please just about any young reader who is enterested in great literiture.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    It was cute.

    I thought it was a great twist on the twelve dancing princesses. I've never read a version told from such a unique perspective. My only struggle with the book was that it left so many unanswered questions. I hope the author is planning on a follow up book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Soooooo Awesome

    A crossover with the 12 dancing princesses and Beautty and the Beast, taking place in post midealil times in a small european country. Echos romanian words and Pagan and Christian beliefs, thus making it relatable. The 'beast' in B& the B is really charming after a while...enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Love it!

    It is soooo good!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    My Favorite!!!

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    PERFECT

    Love it. Totally awesome!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Love it

    One of my favorite books! Buy it u will love it!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Entwined vs. Princess Curse

    Entwined is just 12 dancing princess's with an evil mix. This is beauty and the beast with 12 dancing princess's with a greek mytgology mix! This is great!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book is amazing! It was so good I could'nt set it down and at night i'll thing about it all the time! Kidding! I have'nt even opened the book yet but it sounds pretty good and I wish I could read the whole thing but I can only get free samples and my parents won't buy books for me even though I have like 400 and something books in my library

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Really enjoyed it

    I really enjoyed this book, because it has the feel of 12 dancing princesses d like entwined it has many twists and turns LOVED IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Random

    Dhduwidhcjdishwhdifyyebcclpsiehdnvvzjuydhijfhusjdtruyeojmxbhdueiddhdyduwiujddoddfydjwoodudndndosidhdjdiskndndysuiwydhhnjkzkisiskxjjhyuwodhdbhxssjjxhydjjjdjdjdjdgeyebdnkdduebdmkxkdndndxnxhxhdhdhdxjuuduyydhxjxjcjhhuuduhwhdjpuwhxbgdtduiskdjnxhxhdjiisjdjdjxnxnjdoiuwgbbhxkxnxnxhuxuqhdjjdidnxnnxjjxnxxnjdkkkdnuwyehiqohdowbdgfyeyrhebxxmjdyehdjbjijjjjggdjduddjdjdddjxxnxnjiishbdbdbxjijxdhxjdksksjskzjzkzkxiuhjjidkskskdkjsjuudjdjdjdjjjskskssskdjuuudnnnkdduudjjdiduudjdjndbjooqhydhdjduudhsjjdjdidjsidhdbdvdkosnydjwjsjsjqsjsjsjduwhdbdjdioodjdhjjyjiodksjdjiidskdiddhdydnddkdojjsddddiwjdddnndjudjkjddhdkskskdksjdiodbxnvyuiijdhsiisidudydhdnxjusyhdhdjjdjduedhjkidjjjjwikjjjjjkiyhhdgdueiwidndbdhuioithbmdkkiidijddngdujwhwsbvdhsiddndjdhdydueidjdhyyshhndssidjdhssyywhdhdddgdsjsiiwydywhsjsjusndgshsysshdsjhdsusshwusdbdjdihhdjsjdwjishdjdjjddhdjdddjdjuejdjdjdjjdidyjdnxjudjddndjdjdjdjyeuwjjdjdjdkjgywndiiduudehjdiokdvgdishyysudjdjdhsywuiidijdddkjduusxnxmnxhdduddudhddjjdddudjsjdjdjdujdjddhhdhhedududhyhdkiishhhdjdjdjddjdudujdjdjdddjdjdjdjdhhsusjjdjjdjdsjdjdjdjdhhuiwijjdnhgdgddjjjjdjjjjhydhhsuhbbfhtdyujhchuudtghjidbdbxgduujdhdhyhndbxusjkhdyyhddhdjuudjdhdhdhdhjsjduhdhdbdhjddjduudbdbdbdhdjduwhdeyebdhddhdheheddhuejidjxnddhdheuwejjhfbfduuujdjkskdnbcudikjdnndijddhhdhdxjdddudjddjdhhfuwujhhdhyddhddhydbdjdjjduwbhehhddjdjdjdueuehdhjuwijbcbcghyyeydnuuhqhdufbdjejdndnjfhdehfhfdhffhhuehbjjduffhffhdhdheheduedhwyuuebcdhejdejehehehehheeheheehehejjehfudnjydhhejdeejejejejejjnhueujjjhthhkhdidrgjuggwwlnjjdshhhhgdjbhfbdjfejdhdhdhhfhdhdjdjdhdhduddkfnfjhdjjjdjjdjdudjdjdjfudjdjfjdjddjdfffudufudduududjejdjdjdfgbhjfjfhcbdhdddhhhdudjhfbjfuddddhhdhhvbkcubdjiuudbvdhdhddhduddjiuhbgdhjjcgchujbhddjjhufequippjhufjwssuhgfjdicuenvihifduufvsujcjfinfihbdjudhjcnubhdhdehdyeuhfhhgyewuehfughygedujjueyfhfuhfhdydfhhfhdhfdffhhdbcudfdyrddyxhjuhghhtdvchfjwdmhufrdffkgu
    random try it
    Hgstfhvjyutfytgfjcujutttefgfyufvjhchvjexhjgucbchxyvxtrjcetfytfhfutfuftfyghuthdytftfjcjgyfugfttcgyffdtdutdydfgydwjdydygttgreetttrryrrfewqqwsaewrerttgdggesdrrdxcvczctbvfdsezcggnghdgfgggccjgjjujsexbfhvgfjfjhd
    This is random try it
    Jdhdhdhdhhuyhehdicudhdjhhjdihbsjfusjddjfjdkdodkdjfjjiidkjjdjdjfddiidjbjjjfjuddjdfhyuiidnfbvhudijjdjdjdjdudidjdncnxkoiihebf njkxkkkkkdnhhhncncjdiioydjmddhdjdjdjjdjddjdjdjkdjjndkiidjhhdjdkdjdjdydmdkdkdjsjdoddjdiwiohdjxhdhdfjeidididjjdbhdwdjjdbbbxghduduhhdyjbhhjdjdjhhxjxjjdjdddjdksjduiehfhddhhdjjxjxhiosnjjdjjddikkskdyudbfuywipnbuegdhduddhfguissnxhkdbddjdiwjdbxhsugdswidtdbejxdbxbbkidhbdnxnsuehhjksbdxbsxbdbdwindjnsnskssndjdjeudndkdndnjdindnxnkdjueyhdlkjhdudidjdfiddjdjdgdyedhdddhuudjdjsjdjjjdjhjddhdddjdhduhdhjdjjddjhcueownnhdvvhyudhdhdgdggdbdbdudbdfbxidiuwytegffuidhbdheuowjdggysyswuhhdhgduduudhfvvxjdugshfjuwfbdiodudhdnncbdhgvdyududhfbfodudhffhddidididjdjfhfbbhwehdjdidhfhfiudjdjdhdhfdidjdhhdhduddjdhdhddhdhhdueiwtdbrududhdhdudtdhdnhgsugdgwhdhudthdidgdhdrgsygdgdgddudgshddjhdgdhuodhdgdhueubbduhddhdgdhddjdhdhdhddiedhbfhduddffhduwudueudhdddshdsdjdhdidiudhdhdydydhxbxuidiewyddhdhdhdgdyuudduddbbddywuededbdbdddyyuudjfjndhdhhyydgdeudidhdbdbddiwkddiooosnnxubdhdhiiddjduwijehhwkdidbxudhdbxgddiwjdnsjdhehhchduskndgdydkididdhhdhhdhdgfhdhdiowidnvdydydywdhdhdudeyehdueiudddhddhbdbdhdydydydydydgyuwjdbdbdhnnxiooduhgdjdoduddhhydudjnxbgdtsydudhggdhdvjjdjdjhbxjikdidhfjddjfjddkjiyjodjdkkhyywhdjdfndjtdhduudgedytrjjxueedhhufndkjxyydnjdjdmjh jxjjjxjhzgxhdjdlddhdndnxnmnxxdhhjnjdjdjdhddjdugdkodmvbxuwididjdjdjdhgsidndyegdndudjdjdndjdjdidhdsjdsjsjskdskdhdjdjjjdddjhyhwhdkkwmxnxbwuutdgdjuevdjdkdydujffhd djsdbbdhbbddjdnduehdgddndbdjoihvxbxnxkdyyusudkdkdijdbd

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Suhehxysbehcggdy

    Cool sgeydhdhdhdhdhdg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Jj

    Nnh

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2