BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 599 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(417)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

amazing!

This book was sooo good. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down. the second i finised it, I bought the next one! I totally recomend it.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!

come on this book is all about crushes and stuff and mia is a brat!! the movie was ten times better

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 599 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    amazing!

    This book was sooo good. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down. the second i finised it, I bought the next one! I totally recomend it.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Positively Great!

    Mia Thermopolis is in for tons of big surprises when she likes her BFF's brother, her mom is dating her algebra teacher and she is princess of Genovia. This book was fun and hilarious, and something girls ages 10-17 would like.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you thought the movie was good...

    Ok, no doubt i thought the movie was awesome! But the book is like 20% like the movie! The book is way better, and has no ending, you have to read it in the next book, and its the fact that the father never died, she never had a ball, and the book was way more interesting! It had many more details about her best friend, mom and grandma! So i do reccomend this book! Boys and girls! Dont get tricked by the title, not bout PRINCESSES!!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Princess Diaries. Loved it! Five stars!!

    I loved this book so much I couldn't stop reading! I would definaly read it if I was you!! Meg Cabot is a great writer and I am definaly going to read some more of her books!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    I LOVE this Book

    I love this book, and the movie! l would suggest it to anyone who loved the movie! Read the sequals two.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    Princess Diaries Review

    The Princess Diaries By: Meg Cabot The book I read is called The Princess Diaries, written by the author Meg Cabot. The main character is Mia Thermopolis, an average New York city girl, who is more interested in Greenpeace than the next sale at Bloomies. Then her father reveals something that could make any girl¿s life go upside down. She is princess of a small European country named Genovia. For Mia ,though, the trouble has just begun. Her grandmother (who is the current queen) comes to New York and demands for Mia to take princess lessons, wear designer name cloths, and have fake nails. In other words everything Mia isn¿t. This is the least of her worries her best friend no longer talks to her because now she dresses like the popular people. Mia would do anything to get her back. Overall I enjoyed this book very much. The beginning, at first was a bit slow because I saw the movie and all the book did was explain what was going on, which I was already aware of. As the story progressed it got better and better to read. One thing that makes this book a good was that the characters were very realistic. For example Mia, she was your average geek. She was like everyone else she tried to blend in with everyone else like every other unconfident teenager. Cabot made all her characters original and didn¿t try to hide their oddities. Her characters are like a normal high school scene: populars, geeks, and weirdoes. I loved the ending because the positive events that happened to Mia. It filled me with immense satisfaction that one of the characters that Mia thought she might like had a very negative ending. One of my favorite things that Cabot did was the perspective. Everything other people did in this book was told by how Mia saw it best. This made it funny. It was as if she was putting notes in the margin like a teacher does for an essay. What I like about this author is that she takes farfetched things, works them into stories, and then makes them seem possible. Finally, I like Meg Cabot¿s writing style because she takes people who are not popular, but rather geeky, and makes them do extraordinary things. I believe that she is trying to show that popular people are not the only people to look up to. I really thought that this book was good. Compared to other Meg Cabot books I¿ve read, this was excellent it was just so fun to read and to think about what it would be like to be stuck in Mia¿s situation. I also liked the descriptions of the story because I could imagine them well in my own head. For example, the grandma, Mia goes into great detail about exactly how she looks. I would not recommend this book to any boys because it is simply a girl book and I don¿t think any boy would find it very interesting. All in all, I enjoyed this book. Some spots that I thought the author could work on all my other thoughts are positive. This novel would be enjoyable to any girl who enjoys farfetched stories. The Princess Diaries is a fun and interesting novel that any girl would love.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Awsome!

    This book was great! Its about a high school girl named Mia who finds out she is a princess! But she is not happy about it. She has some other problems like her mom is dateing her algabra teacher! ( dont worry i didnt spoil the plot! ) anyway i love this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    girls only! awesome!!!!!!!!

    this book is the best book ever! boys do not need to read it because it has some sierius girls stuff. I would reccomend this book to 10 and up! It will be the best book of your life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Inappropriate

    I would not suggest this book for anyone under the age of 16. COMPLETELY and absolutely NOt for young gals.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Awesome

    I have barely read the sample & I already want the whole entire series

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    I never ever reread any book unless it is a manga book but when I no new books to read I found myself rereading. It's not very real for the reasons she suddenly turns into a princess but that really is the edgy part. I also enjoyed pretty little liars but then my friend told me who was writing the letters and I didn't even want to waste my money on the second book. But this is amazing!!!!! Then again I'm eleven and It does talk about Lillys foot perv and pms but I already knew about pervs and pms so I didn't even care!!!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!

    come on this book is all about crushes and stuff and mia is a brat!! the movie was ten times better

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Very different than the movie.

    I read this book after seeing the movie, and I was VERY surprised. it is SO different!!!!!! i think that the movie is very good, but I really like the book. i think that the only similarity between the book and the movie is that mia thermopolis is going to be princess of genovia.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Hi

    Great book! Absolutely wondetful. Note to kid readers: if you do not know what certain words mean, look them up on your nook or ask your friend. Do not ask your mom or dad what they mean, for god's sake! Note: Ages 12+ Granted I was eleven when I read this series, but trust me. Parents dont like it when kids ask what the word... nevermind. Just don't let your mom or dad read this till you finish the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Awsome

    Best book ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    TOTALLY INAPROPRIATE

    Do not read it talks about testicals and sex

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries Series #1)

    Oh come on! This is the worst book ever! Mia is such a brat who is already getting money from her father even before she know's she's a princess! And she acts like she hates herself! Worst book EVER!! I suggest you read- something better!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries Series #1)

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME I LOVE ALL THE BOOKS THEY SO ROCK RULE AND DOMINATE THE BOOK WORLD.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    I could relate.

    I read this my senior year of high school, and could totally relate to everything Meg Cabot talked about. Also, the journal style writing reminded me very much of my own! A definite read for anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    NYREADER

    This book is amazing! I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 599 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30