Customer Reviews for

The Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(418)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

amazing!

This book was sooo good. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down. the second i finised it, I bought the next one! I totally recomend it.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Inappropriate

I would not suggest this book for anyone under the age of 16. COMPLETELY and absolutely NOt for young gals.

posted by 8407035 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    amazing!

    This book was sooo good. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down. the second i finised it, I bought the next one! I totally recomend it.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Positively Great!

    Mia Thermopolis is in for tons of big surprises when she likes her BFF's brother, her mom is dating her algebra teacher and she is princess of Genovia. This book was fun and hilarious, and something girls ages 10-17 would like.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Princess Diaries. Loved it! Five stars!!

    I loved this book so much I couldn't stop reading! I would definaly read it if I was you!! Meg Cabot is a great writer and I am definaly going to read some more of her books!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    I LOVE this Book

    I love this book, and the movie! l would suggest it to anyone who loved the movie! Read the sequals two.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Awsome!

    This book was great! Its about a high school girl named Mia who finds out she is a princess! But she is not happy about it. She has some other problems like her mom is dateing her algabra teacher! ( dont worry i didnt spoil the plot! ) anyway i love this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    girls only! awesome!!!!!!!!

    this book is the best book ever! boys do not need to read it because it has some sierius girls stuff. I would reccomend this book to 10 and up! It will be the best book of your life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Awesome

    I have barely read the sample & I already want the whole entire series

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    I never ever reread any book unless it is a manga book but when I no new books to read I found myself rereading. It's not very real for the reasons she suddenly turns into a princess but that really is the edgy part. I also enjoyed pretty little liars but then my friend told me who was writing the letters and I didn't even want to waste my money on the second book. But this is amazing!!!!! Then again I'm eleven and It does talk about Lillys foot perv and pms but I already knew about pervs and pms so I didn't even care!!!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Very different than the movie.

    I read this book after seeing the movie, and I was VERY surprised. it is SO different!!!!!! i think that the movie is very good, but I really like the book. i think that the only similarity between the book and the movie is that mia thermopolis is going to be princess of genovia.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Hi

    Great book! Absolutely wondetful. Note to kid readers: if you do not know what certain words mean, look them up on your nook or ask your friend. Do not ask your mom or dad what they mean, for god's sake! Note: Ages 12+ Granted I was eleven when I read this series, but trust me. Parents dont like it when kids ask what the word... nevermind. Just don't let your mom or dad read this till you finish the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Awsome

    Best book ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries Series #1)

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME I LOVE ALL THE BOOKS THEY SO ROCK RULE AND DOMINATE THE BOOK WORLD.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    I could relate.

    I read this my senior year of high school, and could totally relate to everything Meg Cabot talked about. Also, the journal style writing reminded me very much of my own! A definite read for anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was in fifth or sixth grade when Princess Diaries came out as

    I was in fifth or sixth grade when Princess Diaries came out as a movie, and I immediately wanted to read the book. I borrowed the first one from my best friend and finished it shortly thereafter. I was completely hooked and stayed on for the entire ten book series. I even bought all of the novellas innermitten between the ten main books, as well as the "life guide" type books Cabot produced. Mia is such a wonderfully awkward and hilarious character. I don't see what's not to love! There are a lot of over the top things that happen to her, but those things are what make the series so smashing. Mia's relationships with people feel so real that you almost become Mia as you read, and her relationship with Michael is an incredibly driving reason to stay on board for the entire series. Cabot created something wonderful, and reintroduced the teen world into "fantasy" settings so effortlessly, that I would almost say she started the phenomenal obsession with teen fantasy lit period. Definitely worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Coolio

    This book is so good I started reading it yesterday and can't put it down! I am in Middle School-5th grade- and I bring this book to every period and read whenever possible! ( every period except lunch, recess, and science. My science teacher won't let us read anything in her class if it isn't science related.) I am really into this book, and I'm very picky about books. I love a lot of books, but a lot of books don't get on the memo. In Life Skills - Health - I got in trouble for being to addicted to this book! Definatly reccomend if you like books with things you can relate to. It is like reading a letter from your friend, it's so realistic. It is a must read for girls like me. Hope you like it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Luv it

    Omg best book ever. I loved everything about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    The princess diaries

    Verry good book nithing like the movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    The movie

    I have seen the movie and was surprised there was a book. I recomend this for ages three and up. There is comedy that has you on the floor at times. There is also the sweetness between her grandmother and her. Truly brilliant stuff.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Luv itt

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Love Princess diaries

    Really cute book Meg Cabots books are really good try the princess diaries and also watch the movie its really good to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21