Customer Reviews for

Princess Sultana's Circle

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I can relate as a woman who has lived in Saudi Arabia

I lived in the Arab world for several years and have heard similar tales and saw first hand the oppression of women in this society. Shocking to any liberated woman. I recently read a new release called "Single in Saudi " by Genia. The tales of a young single American w...
I lived in the Arab world for several years and have heard similar tales and saw first hand the oppression of women in this society. Shocking to any liberated woman. I recently read a new release called "Single in Saudi " by Genia. The tales of a young single American woman working in the Kingdom and breaking all of the rules the Princess couldn't. It is a very different and humorous perspective on life in Saudi and an interesting contrast of women in this oppressive society.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'm disappointed that these books are a little more expensive fo

I'm disappointed that these books are a little more expensive for the Nook, since there are so many and you do want to read all of them. I've found that I can get them alot cheaper at my used book store. I hate this, because I love the convenience of my Nook.

posted by gloriak on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Amazing

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read! The stories are so detailed, and very well written. I cried reading the book a few times. The true life stories are amazing and really open your eyes to what happens in other parts of the world. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is looking for something good to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    I can relate as a woman who has lived in Saudi Arabia

    I lived in the Arab world for several years and have heard similar tales and saw first hand the oppression of women in this society. Shocking to any liberated woman. I recently read a new release called "Single in Saudi " by Genia. The tales of a young single American woman working in the Kingdom and breaking all of the rules the Princess couldn't. It is a very different and humorous perspective on life in Saudi and an interesting contrast of women in this oppressive society.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    A Must Read

    I have not read the first two books about Princess Sultana, but I was totally mesmerized with Princess Sultana's Circle. It is a very easy read since it reads like fiction. It also gave me a different persepective of Muslim women and how brave they are. I plan to read the first two books soon.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Page Turner

    I've now read Princess Sultana's trilogy and I wish that there were more to read. I started with her first book, 'Princess'. I had no idea what happened to her after she took the huge risk of unveiling the truth about the lives of women in the middle east. Most women will feel very saddened yet empowered to do more after reading about the reality that these women face every day. I think that this book will shock anyone who reads it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    i couldn't put the book down

    i read this after 'princess: life behind the veil' and was just as taken by this book. jean sasson does a great job of maing you feel like you're actually in the lives of the secret world of saudi royals. all the scandals and glamour really grabbed my attention and i couldn't put the book down. not only was i entertained by the book, but i also learned a lot about the interesting islamic culture.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    AS GOOD AS THE FIRST ONE

    I've read the Princess trilogy and found each book every bit as interesting and as well written as the first. Every time I read about the women of the Middle East I always say 'There but for the grace of God' go I. I couldn't imagine living under such bondage as even a Princess must live.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Princess Sultana's Circle

    I've read all of the PRINCESS TRILOGY by Jean Sasson and I would rank them all at the top of the pile of books I have in my home. While this is my least favorite of the three, it is highly recommended and you don't want to miss it if you are a fan of Jean Sasson & Princess Sultana. These beautiful books make a wonderful collection in any book lover's home. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2001

    Princess Sultana's Circle

    Although CIRCLE was not my favorite, you really must read it. Princess starts the trilogy with the story of Sultana's life up until the Gulf war (you also learn so much about the Saudi culture--wonderful details that you could never know, otherwise). Daughters, the 2nd book, takes you into Sultana's adulthood with three children. You know it must be true as all children as teenagers give their parents' grief! CIRCLE finishes up the story and you find that Sultana finally comes into adulthood and leaves behind so much of her childest, royal behavior. Take it from an avid reader, don't miss these very interesting and entertaining books. You'll read them over and over.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    I lived there...

    After living in Saudi Arabia for over 14 years, I try to read every book written about that country. For me, this one was the best. I know what I am talking about when I tell you that Jean Sasson has captured the true feeling of life in that country. The women, no matter how wealthy they might be, have few rights. They are not allowed any participation in public life. The Saudi men are without a doubt the most arrogant men I have ever seen. Mind you, they were nice to me since I was there as a diplomat's wife. However, I was able to view the truth despite their kindness toward me. Anyone who does not believe this book is simply uneducated, or unwilling to look at truth. There are many agencies who investigate atrocities against women who write the same sort of information. I wish I had lived in the country during the early years of economic growth when Jean Sasson was there. I believe she is a very brave person to take on this cause. I would like to know if she has suffered any harassment due to her strength in writing about the evil of complete male dominance. I hope the author continues to write about this Princess. She writes books that can't be put down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2000

    From the Mother of Jean's 'Stolen Angel'

    Thanks to Jean Sasson, the plight of women in the Middle East has been brought to the attention of the world. Jean has shown great courage in focusing not only on the royal females of Saudi Arabia, but on those American and other non-Saudi females who find themselves held against their wills in the Kingdom. Among them is my eight-year-old daughter, and I fear for her future under a regime that has removed all of her human rights. Thanks to Jean Sasson, many readers may have their eyes opened to the serious human rights violations practiced against girls and women in Saudi Arabia, and they may be moved to call their legislators to voice their concerns more loudly about what is happening in the Kingdom. The beauty of Jean's writing is that she does not present her facts in the dry, pedantic style of the political scientist, but in a flowing narrative where the main character's humanity shows through. In spite of huge obstacles and forced anonymity, Princess Sultana may be the closest thing that Saudi Arabia has to a Princess Diana.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    Outstanding!!!!! An Eye Opener!!!!

    The third one in the series turned out to be even better than the last two ones. Its hard to believe that such inhuman and primitive practices are still widely prevalent and people are still ignorant and allow such injustices to go on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    JEAN SASSON, MUCH NEEDED SUPPORTER OF WOMEN'S RIGHTS

    I have read all three books about PRINCESS SULTANA and have been consistently 'blown away' by this true story. It is fascinating! It really raised my awarness of the dire circumstances that many women in this world live in. Because of these books I have dedicated much of my life to helping advance the rights and treatment of women. I felt like I was a 'fly on the wall' inside this Middle Eastern culture that is so different from our western world. What an education and a thrilling ride! I couldn't put the book down. Thank you Ms. Sasson!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    A Must Read for Women and Men

    I found this third book in the Princess Trilogy to be even more riveting than the first two. Again, Jean Sasson is able to tell not only the true story of an incredibly wealthy yet enslaved royal princess, but to weave into her factual account the atrocities committed against other women throughout Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan. Princess Sultana's Circle also nicely wraps up the three stages of life of this bold and courageous princess. We've already been introduced to her youth and yound adulthood. This time we get a much more reflective look at her life as a mature adult and how she continues to cope with a lesser degree of conferred human dignity, but the resolve to fight on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Heart warming

    This true story sad, funny, and inspiring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    I was a single woman in Saudi Arabia-I can relate

    I worked in the Kingdom and often felt the oppression she talks about. My experience was very different from hers, but often had to fight off the men who thought we Western women were fair game for their unwanted advances and I also chafed at my loss of freedom. My advantage was that I could go home.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    One of the best books I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Pp Princess sultana

    Excellent read !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    This book isnt fictunal

    Just read the introduction to the first booki

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    highly recommend

    This book shows that happiness isn't equated with wealth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    It was so good...

    I recomend fully....love it...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2