BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Princess Sultana's Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

As a single woman who worked in Saudi, I can relate

Although my experiences weren't as horrendous, I had to fight off men who thought any single woman, especially a Westerner , was fair prey. I met and socialized with women in the Royal family and was amazed at the lengths they had to go to and the subversiveness they d...
Although my experiences weren't as horrendous, I had to fight off men who thought any single woman, especially a Westerner , was fair prey. I met and socialized with women in the Royal family and was amazed at the lengths they had to go to and the subversiveness they devised to live a somewhat free life-. I thanked my lucky stars everyday I had not been born into their gilded gage lives. I could escape and go home to the U.S.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

15 year old muslim girl

This book was pretty good but I'm kind of disappointed in the way it portrays all middle eastern women as opressed and being forced to cover. I am a 15 year old arab girl who is a practicing muslim. I wear the traditional head covering and I was not forced to wear it as...
This book was pretty good but I'm kind of disappointed in the way it portrays all middle eastern women as opressed and being forced to cover. I am a 15 year old arab girl who is a practicing muslim. I wear the traditional head covering and I was not forced to wear it as most people might think; i chose to wear it myself. The story of Princess sultana is heartbreaking but i know many Saudi women who have had wonderful childhoods and haven't been forced to marry. There are many independent Saudi women who are doctors, lawyers, and are very educated and not at all opressed by their husbands or fathers or brothers. I think this book stereotypes all Saudi men as arrogant and inhumane. Don't get me wrong, there are some men that treat women as described in Princess Sultana's biography. This book also does not show the true face of Islam which teaches its followers to respect women. Nevertheless, the story of Sultana is heartbreaking and I can't begin to imagine how painful it must have been for her. For anyone who reads this, please remember this is the story of one woman, not all have been put through what this woman has gone through.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I have experienced palace life in Saudi Arabia

    Jean Sasson must be lauded for the great service she has done for the women of Saudi Arabia by exposing what the men of Saudi Arabia want to supress. Saudi Arabia is a different place depending on which city you live in. Jeddah, a port with a long tradition of pilgrims visiting, is a very different place to Riyadh, the capital. There is less opression in Jeddah than in Riyadh, and life out in the remote areas must be even worse. In the Eastern province the people are different again, but the rules are still the same. The royals have cut a deal with the religious people, but the royals live a free life of alcohol and free sex in Saudi. There is no law for the royals as I discovered firsthand when I took the king's uncle to court after his son, Salman, stole from me.
    I lived in a palace in Riyadh as my Interior Design business partner was a Saudi princess. I enjoyed the parties (all female) and the company of these young Princesses.....I was older than them. These were beautiful young girls in gilded cages......they had big cars heavily curtained, and they moved only with other women or the male members of their family. The princesses have cars and drivers to visit each other, but the women most in need were those unable to afford a driver. For the ordinary woman in Riyadh life is very difficult. A womans lot is very sad in Saudi Arabia as she is first the property of her father, and then, after marriage, the property of her husband....and her status depends on producing a male child. If her husband wants to take other women she has no control over it.
    In my own situation I was financially put upon by the family I lived with and all my worldy posessions were stolen from me. I left Saudi Arabia after over two years there in the clothes I stood up in only. The Saudi Minister of Foreign Affairs was involved in my case but unable to help in the end. It was the most terrifying ordeal I have ever experienced. I plan to write a book about it in the future.
    I saw the Phillipine maids being treated so badly, and some had to take refuge in their embassy. People from Pakistan and India were also treated with no respect by their Saudi employers.
    Bravo Jean Sasson....the women of Saudi Arabia needed you to tell their story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Excellent

    Easy read and very interesting

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Still successful...

    I read Princess and then bought this book, Daughters. I love the way the life of Sultana is unfolding and how we learn about her children. Most of all, I am amazed at the way the author Jean Sasson is able to keep this story fresh and exciting. It is such a tragic topic, yet, I found myself laughing in spots and highly enjoying the writing of this very talented author. It must have been very difficult to write such a page turner. I have always heard that the easier it is to read, the harder it was to write. If that is true, this book must have been very difficult for the author. I can't wait to read more from this writer...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Recommend

    I thought it was educational.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Check it out

    Another excellent book - held my interest to the end. I think everyone should read the Princess books (3). They would be glad they live in America and not Saudi.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    The wild ride of the Princess continues!!

    If you've read 'Princess',you have no choice but to read this one. If only to find out if Princess Sultana will find a balance between her Royal heritage and raising her daughters with some element of self esteem. This reads better than any fiction novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Princess Sultana's Daughters

    After reading PRINCESS, every reader will go on to DAUGHTERS. The story of Sultana is too compelling not to do so. This book is better than the first one as I felt the story was not as 'angry.' I discovered much more of value about Muslim women in this book. In light of 9/11, every non-Muslim should read this book as it creates such understanding of the Muslim culture. You see the good, and the bad. Although the good outweighs the bad, the bad is BAD... It brought me to new understanding about the Afghan situation and the reason the Bush Whitehouse is making such an issue of the 'Woman's Issue.' Frankly, I think all of Jean Sasson's books should be required reading at all levels. You come away after having a good read with a LOT of knowledge of other cultures and other lives... I highly recommend this book to you, another reader.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2001

    Princess Sultana's Daughters

    This second in the Princess Trilogy is highly readable and enjoyable, although you may get angry at some of the stories. Unfortunately, I believe this book is based on truth. I wish it were not so... There are three books and you will want to read them all although each book does stand on its on. I think the author did a wonderful job at writing about such a subject yet in a really entertainly manner. Some of my friends wonder if Sultana really exists, and I believe that she does, but even if she does not, you know that someone in Saudi Arabia lives a similar life. Don't miss this series of books. You will miss something very important if you do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    what peace?

    how can the writer of 2-22 possibly say they live in peace? and was the writer a man or a woman? if male, of course you would defend a country where you are given absolute supremecy, if a female, you must have been blind to the truth. and sultana's mother-in-law tried to save her marriage by cursing the other woman, not through absence. I would urge the 2-22 to return to saudi arabia and ask the women there how much say they have in their lives, and then write another message here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Princess

    I found the book to be exceptionally good, I give this woman credit for coming forth and revealing truth,and the horrors to what is going on it could very well cost this woman her life for revealing sooo much.Maybe the person who wrote on 2-22-00 had better reread the book. This is bondage and there is no other word for it. Perhapes the person mentioned above2-22-00 also ought to join anti-slavery grp then you will learn the truth. Princess has told all and she LIVES this life everyday and had inside information to her facts... where other people do NOT . .Bondage is FACT and documented

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Princess sultanas daughter

    Excellent read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Princess Sultana's Daughter is the second book in the Princess s

    Princess Sultana's Daughter is the second book in the Princess series (as of Aug. 2014 there are 4 books in the series, including the newest Princess, More Tears to Cry) by Jean Sasson. This is a true biography story about Princess Sultana and her two daughters, Maha and Amani. Like all of the books in the series, we are presented with a fascinating perspective of what life is like for women in Saudi Arabia. The princess's daughters are especially interesting because each one is so unique and different from the other. I highly recommend this book to anyone that is studying the Middle East or to anyone that enjoys true-to-life biographies, or to anyone that is studying women's issues. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2