Customer Reviews for

The Princess and the Hound

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Safia Abdul for TeensReadToo.com

In an enchanted land, Prince George is a young man who has always kept a secret. He, like his mother, was born with the ability to talk to animals, a gift shunned by the rest of the kingdom. In fact, anyone found with the "animal magic" is burned at the stake to get rid...
In an enchanted land, Prince George is a young man who has always kept a secret. He, like his mother, was born with the ability to talk to animals, a gift shunned by the rest of the kingdom. In fact, anyone found with the "animal magic" is burned at the stake to get rid of the "evil." When his mother dies, George is left all alone and seeks refuge in his own private world.

Then a marriage arrangement is made with the princess of the neighboring kingdom.

Neglected by her father, Princess Beatrice is shy and reclusive, only trusting her own pet hound. Can George ever get through the cold barrier surrounding the princess and find out what secrets she also hides?

This compelling novel takes a unique and interesting spin off of the usual classic fairy tales. THE PRINCESS AND THE HOUND is full of imagination and will be sure to intrigue readers longing for more than the usual, romantic prince-meets-princess tale. I would recommend THE PRINCESS AND THE HOUND to all fantasy lovers looking for a new flavor.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Started good, but then fell out...

When i first started reading this book, i was so excited about what would happen. It sounded like the perfect romance. However, the plot proved more twisted, the characters more confusing, and how the book was written in general was rather difficult to follow. i found m...
When i first started reading this book, i was so excited about what would happen. It sounded like the perfect romance. However, the plot proved more twisted, the characters more confusing, and how the book was written in general was rather difficult to follow. i found myself having to go back to previous pages to try and understand what had happened. Even then the book was still good. Then i got to about the last four chapters, and the whole thing totally fell through. Those last chapters were just unbelievably cheesy. I couldn't take it. I was just waiting for the 'And they lived happily ever after' at the end.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Safia Abdul for TeensReadToo.com

    In an enchanted land, Prince George is a young man who has always kept a secret. He, like his mother, was born with the ability to talk to animals, a gift shunned by the rest of the kingdom. In fact, anyone found with the "animal magic" is burned at the stake to get rid of the "evil." When his mother dies, George is left all alone and seeks refuge in his own private world. <BR/><BR/>Then a marriage arrangement is made with the princess of the neighboring kingdom. <BR/><BR/>Neglected by her father, Princess Beatrice is shy and reclusive, only trusting her own pet hound. Can George ever get through the cold barrier surrounding the princess and find out what secrets she also hides? <BR/><BR/>This compelling novel takes a unique and interesting spin off of the usual classic fairy tales. THE PRINCESS AND THE HOUND is full of imagination and will be sure to intrigue readers longing for more than the usual, romantic prince-meets-princess tale. I would recommend THE PRINCESS AND THE HOUND to all fantasy lovers looking for a new flavor.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    An intriguing and captivating story of a romance well written

    This story captivates the heart and allows for the imagination to run rampant with the story of a prince who feels like an outsider and a young princess unloved by her father and carrying a deep secret that she can only trust with someone that can truly love and understand her.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    Started good, but then fell out...

    When i first started reading this book, i was so excited about what would happen. It sounded like the perfect romance. However, the plot proved more twisted, the characters more confusing, and how the book was written in general was rather difficult to follow. i found myself having to go back to previous pages to try and understand what had happened. Even then the book was still good. Then i got to about the last four chapters, and the whole thing totally fell through. Those last chapters were just unbelievably cheesy. I couldn't take it. I was just waiting for the 'And they lived happily ever after' at the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charming and Unique

    This book is unlike any other I've read. The storyline is the most captivating part, for certain. But each character has secrets and is unpredictable, which is always refreshing in a book. It has an incredibly slow beginning, in my opinion, and I almost put it down after the first few chapters of the "storyteller/flashback" style of writing with so little detail/in-depth description. But once the writing style switched over to the present time in George's life, the story seemed to leap to life for me and became so much more enjoyable. I recommend this book to anyone who loves mature writing, fairy tale plots, twists and turns, magic, romance, animals, or just a pleasant read. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    A really cute and intriguing story.

    This story was based on a really cute and interesting story line. The author did a very good job writing and putting together all of the events. I would recommend this book if you like stories that take place in the past...like I do. However, some parts of the book tend to get boring and sometimes confusing...but if you get through them then it'll be worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    One of this author's best

    I have the paper version, however; this was the first book I read by this author and it is still my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    a book club hit

    As a high school teacher I was looking for something that would appeal to teenagers--yet be a fun read. The kids loved the book. The idea of animal magicry(sp?) was an excellent topic of discussion and the teens enjoyed the concept.
    As a fairy tale it was beautiful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just okay...

    I was very excited about reading this one, and it definitely had potential, but for me, the story simply fell flat. I wasn't emotionally connected with the characters, though they were well-drawn. I didn't "feel" the romance or even find it credible. Why did George, a lifelong recluse, decide after a few meetings that he loved Marit? And what was with the hound and the bear? Did they know each other previously? How were they able to love each other the first time they met? Also, the conflicts between George and his father and Marit and her father were too easily resolved. The story was overlong, and the events, predictable. I finished it, but I didn't really enjoy it like I was hoping to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly a Modern Fairy Tale

    If you are a fan of classic literature you will definately be a fan of this. It isn't first person like so many books now are and it isn't character driven, even though you do love the characters. This book is story driven and that is sooo rare to find lately. It's a story that you can easily read to your children and you'll both be in love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Keeps You Reading

    This is the kind of book that you need to read until the end, or else you will be left hanging. Also you have to pay attantion to things that people do and say to understand the big secret Princess Beatrice is hiding. Prince George also has a secret he has to hide half of himself, the animal magic self, to save his life, consitering that it could have you killed in his country. Both of them have big secrets, and both have to marry each other.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Overstated Animal Magic

    I liked the plot, though the 'animal magic' is overspoken of and the part of Marit turning to woman is simply over the top! Basically, its all about imaginary magic taken from some people's way with animals and the wanting it to be more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Really good buy it

    God really buy it cause it good buy it!!!!!!:D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Not bad

    This is not a bad book. Good story some emotion invovled everything is pg. Hope you like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Diffrent,but great

    I recomend it and thought the part about the was interesting READ THIS BOOK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Enjoyable read

    Love this story, i could not put it down! The ending kind of leaves you hanging a little, but a very beautiful story from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    this was so stupid

    i absoulutly hated this book it was hard to get through and the story line was completly stupid i mean really dont waste your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    very very VERY slow

    i could not even finish it cuz it was so boring i dont know if it gets better at the end. but buy at your own risk. plc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great New Fairy-Tale Read!

    This one is destined to be a new favorite of mine. George is the young heir to the throne of Kendel, raised to fear and reject animal magic; something he posesses. After his mother dies, he represses his magic as much as he can to do his duty as prince. Part of his duty is becoming betrothed to Beatrice, a princess of a neighboring kingdom. But something is different about the mysterious princess and her companion hound; something that stirs his long buried animal magic. Together, boy, girl, and hound work to smooth political rifts, save monarchs, and solve the riddle of the animal magic once and for all.

    This story was surprisingly well written. George's character had impressive depth, especially for a "children's book." The book had mystery and magic, two elements that are a guaranteed combination. It had surprising symetry as well as unexpected plot twists. As one who was expecting a "typical" magic story, I was pleasantly surprised. I found myself wanting more and hoping for continued adventures; always a good sign!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Princess and the Hound

    Loved it. I really enjoyed the story and it was a fast read. Couldn't put it down. Look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6