Customer Reviews for

Princess of Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Poppy from PRINCESS OF THE MIDNIGHT BALL returns and, along with her unmarried sisters, is currently helping her father regain political alliances by participating in a royal exchange. Now she's living with her cousins, Lord and Lady Seadown, and their daughter, Marianne.

    She turns down invitations to balls because she refuses to dance after surviving the curse from her mother. Society soon frowns upon her absence, thus forcing Poppy to attend the balls. Instead of dancing, she joins the gentlemen and plays cards. She and Marianne become friends with the young royal prince staying with the King.

    When Prince Christian notices how different Poppy is from other girls, he's intrigued and happy to spend time with her. Some assume a marriage isn't far behind, but before anything transpires, a young, mysterious, beautiful woman enters the picture.

    Before long, all the men are falling in love with her and making absolute fools of themselves, while the women detest her. Poppy notices that something's not right. Could the magical protection she's wearing stop her from seeing an enchantment?

    Seeing clearly, she recognizes the mystery girl as a previously wealthy young lady fallen on hard times. Instead of dancing and enjoying frivolity, Ellen's now forced to become a maid. Can Poppy stop Ellen from making a terrible bargain with a creature who will demand something horrible in return?

    Just when Poppy thought she'd finished with evil, she must battle the Corley to save the lives of those she loves dearly.

    One can only hope that Jessica Day George will continue to write more about these charming sisters and their battles with magical, evil creatures. The friendship, sense of self, evil beings, drama, and romance make PRINCESS OF GLASS a must-read for lovers of fairytales and fantasy stories.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    I loved this book as much as the first one. Princess Poppy changed a lot but was still the same Poppy like in the first book. I really wish Jessica Day George would write about the rest of the Princess' and who they ended up with. It was a great book and you would love it if you loved the first book you will love this one too!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    Great follow up book to Princess of the Midnight Ball! I loved Poppy since I read the first book! This book makes me love her even more! I loved the whole Cinderella spin, and I would love to read more about these 12 Princesses! Jessica Day George should write more books about them! She should write about each one as they get older and have them all fall in love and put a fairy tale twist on all of them... You know, Beauty and the Beast, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, The Princess and the Frog, The Little Mermaid, Aladdin... (All these idea's are based on Disney Movies... Sorry, but I was a 1992 baby, so I grew up with them! They're the only fairy tale version's I know...) But she should write more about them!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Surprising

    This was a very surprisingly good book! It wasn't just about Poppy, but also had a backstory of another girl in it that resembled Cinderella. At first I thought it was going to be really cliche, but the book really surprised me. It has some very original imagery and was so entertaining. If you liked Princess of Midnight Ball, then you will definitely like Princess of Glass. However, if you did not read Midnight Ball, you are still good to go in reading this, since this book has several places where it summarizes details of Midnight Ball as it relates to this story. Great Book! Read it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really, really, REALLY liked this book. Jessica Day George is

    I really, really, REALLY liked this book. Jessica Day George is on the fast track to becoming one of my absolute favorite authors!

    This is a retelling of Cinderella, but it may be the most original retelling I've ever read! (Though, I am planning on reading Cinder soon, so that could change.) I've never read a Cinderella tale that made me want to punch Cinderella in the face. I ended up liking Ellen, the Cindy of this story, a lot better near the end, but at the beginning I absolutely hated her.

    Poppy was an even better main character than Rose, the main character in Princess of the Midnight Ball. She was funny, spirited, and brave. I didn't really like Christian as much as Galen, but he was a nice character as well. I would love if Poppy was in more books as a main character.

    I was rushing through this; not because I wanted to get it over with, but because I couldn't wait to see what would happen next! There is just one thing that I was still wondering at the end of the book; are Poppy's dreams just dreams? Or are they the making of the next sequel, which I know there is, but have no idea what it's about?

    Ooh, and I have to say one thing about the Corley. Her character is like the fantasy version of an unsub on Criminal Minds! Really, her backstory and her actions were like sorceress meets psycho on a crime show. I loved it!

    So, I really liked this book. It was just as good as the first, if not better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Amazing

    I apsolutly love this book!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Not entirely expected...

    I will confess to not liking the Cinderella fairy tale so I bought the book on the strength of my love of the author's other work and not on the subject matter.
    I was very pleasantly surprised. Not only did she take the story in a direction I wasn't expecting but she made it interesting and kept the roots of the story more Grimm than Disney.
    Again, Jessica Day George's weakness was the main male character who was mostly forgettable to me, but the interaction of the main characters with her friends and with the maid more than made up for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Best book ever!

    I love this book. It is a must read. :) :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great book

    Must get it rox

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Anonymous

    I really enjoyed this book and had a hard time putting it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    The Princess of glass

    It is the best book if you enjoy fantasy and fairy tales.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    I love this book!!!

    This book is really one of my fav books!!!! It is a great sequel to princess of the midnight ball!!!!*-*

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Pages??

    I am a fast reader, so I want to know how many pgs are in the book. I love the Princess of the Midnight Ball, so lets see which one is more entertaining. Will you just tell me how many pgs. are in the book. Thx

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    One of the best books I've read :D

    This book was AWESOME!!!!!!! I loved this book as well as the Princess of The Midnight Ball, and Princess of The Silver Woods. I love the whole series :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely incredible! It was such a beautiful story about Poppy

    Absolutely incredible! It was such a beautiful story about Poppy, one of the 12 princesses from Princess of the Midnight Ball, and as much as I love and miss Rose and Galen (though they were included in a few small parts of the story) this sequel was SO beautifully written and had my full attention throughout the whole book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Amazing!!!:)

    I love the book "Princess of the midnight Ball" and this is like a second book to it!!! It has a awesome story of love and magic I LOVE it soooooooo much!!!!!!!<3:) -Sally Koebel. (P,S please read "Princess of the midnight Ball" first (if you have not already) then read this book!!!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Most awesomest book ever!!!!!!!

    Fantasy book report here i come

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Totally loved it!

    Wonderful twist on a classic...i hope she manages a novel for a few other sisters...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    So far...

    I got this book from my library and am reading it with my neice. We are loving it and know that we will enjoy the book very much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!

    Favorite book in the series!!! I love Poppy!!! Thanks Jessica Day George!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5