Customer Reviews for

Princess of Gossip

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

awesome!

this book is one I truly recommend to those who love reading teen books. A book for pre-teens/teens and even adults if they like this stuff. It has amazing detail and it's something someone who has read this can somehow truly relate the most. "gossip" and like how there...
this book is one I truly recommend to those who love reading teen books. A book for pre-teens/teens and even adults if they like this stuff. It has amazing detail and it's something someone who has read this can somehow truly relate the most. "gossip" and like how there is sometimes good gossip and sometimes not so good ones...

I'm almost done reading the book, and it's something i cannot seem to put down because of how good it is! i recommend all of you who are into this stuff to buy a copy... and buy extra copies for your friends [hehehe. lol]

posted by rochelle5855 on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Many errors, sometimes confusing, and a VERY weak plot.

Sabrina Bryan should re-think her career path. She can't write. As for Devillers, I'm not impressed. The plot jumped around a lot and was really hard to keep up with. You don't know how Griffin gets Avery's number, but he just calls.
I also think that Disney had a ...
Sabrina Bryan should re-think her career path. She can't write. As for Devillers, I'm not impressed. The plot jumped around a lot and was really hard to keep up with. You don't know how Griffin gets Avery's number, but he just calls.
I also think that Disney had a MAJOR hand in the book because everywhere you turn there's a name drop of some Disney star. It was kind of annoying.

I also think that the editor should be fired. I found so many grammatical errors and I'm not even an editor. I almost feel bad for the author because of how horribly the book was put together.

I wonder who wrote the synopsis on the back of the book as well because he/she OBVIOUSLY had not read the book.

I would NOT RECCOMMEND this book for anyone and overall I was disappointed at how sloppy it was made. Save your money for a better read.

posted by 452175 on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome!

    this book is one I truly recommend to those who love reading teen books. A book for pre-teens/teens and even adults if they like this stuff. It has amazing detail and it's something someone who has read this can somehow truly relate the most. "gossip" and like how there is sometimes good gossip and sometimes not so good ones... <BR/><BR/>I'm almost done reading the book, and it's something i cannot seem to put down because of how good it is! i recommend all of you who are into this stuff to buy a copy... and buy extra copies for your friends [hehehe. lol]

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Princess of Gossip is a must have

    Sabrina Bryan and Julia Devillers really deliver with this fresh approach on an age old dilemna, the human penchant for gossip. The book features a clever storyline with quirky but lovable characters sure to grab even the most casual reader. It takes us on a journey to all the hot LA landscapes through the eyes of a first time viewer, as though it is an amusement park. The underlying message of not compromising yourself to "fit in" is woven throughout. Definitely a must have for all tweens / teens.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    Many errors, sometimes confusing, and a VERY weak plot.

    Sabrina Bryan should re-think her career path. She can't write. As for Devillers, I'm not impressed. The plot jumped around a lot and was really hard to keep up with. You don't know how Griffin gets Avery's number, but he just calls.<BR/>I also think that Disney had a MAJOR hand in the book because everywhere you turn there's a name drop of some Disney star. It was kind of annoying. <BR/><BR/>I also think that the editor should be fired. I found so many grammatical errors and I'm not even an editor. I almost feel bad for the author because of how horribly the book was put together. <BR/><BR/>I wonder who wrote the synopsis on the back of the book as well because he/she OBVIOUSLY had not read the book. <BR/><BR/>I would NOT RECCOMMEND this book for anyone and overall I was disappointed at how sloppy it was made. Save your money for a better read.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    This book should be on your Christmas List!

    Rarely in today's market do you find any media project with a positive message that is this much fun! The book takes you on the journey of a teen who fulfills her wildest dreams by happenstance, and faces the rewards and challenges that come with it in a style that subtly sends the message that being true to yourself is life's greatest reward. The story draws you in from the beginning and holds your interest with a progression that moves quickly and poignantly. The characters are easy to relate to. They rise above stereotypical high school projections to show a level of development that is unusual for this genre, all the while keeping a fresh and current perspective on today's cyber-driven society. By opening the door to the world of interconnectivity that the internet has provided, this book brings to life both the life changing positive aspects of such connections and the pitfalls that can come with the anonymity it provides. It is a perspective parent and child alike can benefit from encountering.<BR/>Whether you have a tween on your list or just a tech savvy young at heart, this book will not only entertain and uplift, but will lure you unexpectedly, to the conclusion that as people, even when we feel the most insignificant, and expect the least, we make a great impact on others lives just by being true to ourselves.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Great book

    I like this book alot and was surprised that my favorite cheetah girl was the author. Altough i didnt like the way that there were a couple of curse words. But other than that good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Great book for 12 -year olds

    I am 12 years old and read this book over the summer. It follows Avery, a teenage girl who moves from Ohio to California. Her old "friends" promised to keep in touch with her, but so far the only time they've actually talked to her is when they demanded she send photos of all the celebrities she meets. After making a new friend, Avery is mistaken for an up-and-coming star's assistant and attends a celebrity party where she catches two stars together. This inspires her to write a gossip blog, and before she knows it celebrities are sending her exclusive clothes, the most popular girls are saving her a seat at lunch, and her new boyfriend is on every girl's wall. But not everything in Hollywood is glamorous. There is some little white lies here and there that may shock the character, who at times can be a bit too "OMG." Then again, we are talking teenagers, and teenagers experiencing the life of a celebrity here. Anyways, the character is also relatable. The language is up-to-date and the reader feels as if she is right there with the character. I recommend this book to seventh and eighth graders.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    best book ever

    get girls u wont regret it i promice

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Amazing Story for Any Age!

    Princess of Gossip is the perfect book for any age. Though written for the preteen/teenager angle it is truly a book that is entertaining for those older as well. The book has an entertaining plot and is filled with characters that are easy to relate to. It is clean and appropriate for any age and still stays true to real life. Even more than that there is a message of not trying to be anyone else and avoiding the negativity of gossip throughout the story that every girl needs to know and understand. <BR/><BR/>Princess of Gossip would make an amazing gift for any young girl! Be sure to pick up a copy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    Not just for Tweens and Teens

    Being neither a tween nor a teen I absolutely loved this book. Sabrina Bryan and Julia DeVillers tell a wonderful story about how gossip can cause more harm than good and it REALLY is okay to just be yourself....!! <BR/>It is full of pop culture and Hollywood mentions as well as many mentions of real Team Sabrina members. Once you start you will be hooked and won't be able to put this book down !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Excellent reading for tweens, teens, and adults!

    Being a fan of Sabrina Bryan, I was very excited to see what this book was about. I was buying it for my two daughters to read, thinking it would make an excellent tween/teen read. I started reading it to get a feel for what it was all about before giving it to them. I was completely sucked into this story! I was laughing out loud in some parts, I felt empathy for many of the characters, it was fun to read about all the pop culture and Hollywood glitz and glam. The book also sends a message about the downside of spreading gossip, and has a very positive message about staying true to yourself. This was just a great read, I would reccomend it to anyone from 11 or 12 on up. Kudos to Sabrina and Julia for coming up with this idea.......brilliant! Hope we see more from them in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Loved this book

    This was a great book!! A must read for all star-struck teens, adults who admit to being celebrity gossip hounds, and those of us that are but don't admit it. This book is a fun, well written debut for Cheetah Girl Sabrina Bryan who continues to expand her horizons beyond singing and dancing and into projects supporting the health and happiness of today's young girls. The story is a compelling tale of a high school girl, who, after moving to LA with her parents, gets caught up in the online celebrity gossip scene. It is bursting with pop culture references, insider Hollywood knowledge, and is a fast, easy, and enjoyable read. The main characters are believable and what happens to them unfolds in a fashion that you can't help but get drawn in to. It sends the requisite 'it's ok to be yourself' message of many young adult books but has a fresh, modern feel that all will enjoy. I loved it and I am far from my teen years! I'm sending it to all my nieces for Christmas - and keeping a copy for my bookshelf too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    I am going to get the sample but the gryffdorky just kind

    Of ruined the book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Victimized of Drama? This book's for you.

    I really liked this book. The authors made it simple to 'see' the story play out by making the characters realistic and easy to relate to, the plot line is both believable and fun, and they incorporated lots and lots of pop culture. I had a few 'LOL' moments, and the story kept me reading right up to the end. So if you keep up with pop culture, and you have ever experienced drama - online or otherwise - you will definitely like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    A Great Read

    I'm 23 and this is one of the most enjoyable books I have ever read in my life so far. You can almost hear Sabrina's voice telling you Avery's Story. The book really gets a good perspective on fans, gossip, pop-culture, and the things that tie them all together, both in good ways and bad ways. I could not put the book down, and am looking forward to re-reading it many times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Okay

    It's too expensive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Expensive

    Good book but really expensive. I mean, really? $17? Loved the book but there were way too many times when they said OMG!! and stuff like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Woah!!

    This book is expensive they are xrazy im amidel follow m on insta @hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Que

    I am trying to decide

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Amazing

    This book it addicting. I couldnt put it down. Please read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Twist

    Theres sorta a twist and mabe TOO MUCH times where the reader is in that "OMG!" kinda mood but it wasnt bad but its wasnt the best book ever!i recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4