Customer Reviews for

A Princess of Mars

Average Rating 3.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

my favorite novel of all time

In Burroughs' Princess of Mars, he describes a lushly realized Mars (Barsoom to its inhabitants) where former Captain John Carter of Virginia can conquer alien civilizations and win the hand of the Martian Princess, Dejah Thoris, the universe's most beautiful woman. (Co...
In Burroughs' Princess of Mars, he describes a lushly realized Mars (Barsoom to its inhabitants) where former Captain John Carter of Virginia can conquer alien civilizations and win the hand of the Martian Princess, Dejah Thoris, the universe's most beautiful woman. (Contrary to many portrayals in art, yes, Burroughs does describe what she's wearing, and, no, it's nothing more than jewelry.) This was followed by two equally fine novels, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars, as well as a brilliant series of Barsoomian adventures to follow. Is it any wonder a book with such a dreamlike quality can become arguably the world's most widely read novel?

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Damaged Goods

I was eager to reread this classic novel, especially in light of the upcoming movie adaptation. However, the amount of junk and missing words (presumably OCR errors, but perhaps a reader error) in the copy I downloaded to my Color Nook from the B&N store made it diffic...
I was eager to reread this classic novel, especially in light of the upcoming movie adaptation. However, the amount of junk and missing words (presumably OCR errors, but perhaps a reader error) in the copy I downloaded to my Color Nook from the B&N store made it difficult to read and enjoy. I do not recommend the ebook edition.

posted by CraigMiloRogers on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Pretty Good Read

    Could have done without all of the typos but what can i say? It was a free version of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    superb and enchanting

    Thank you Harvard for finding and posting this treasure on ebooks. Mr Burroughs is way ahead of his time. This could be excellent fantasy Sci Fi of today. Of course, the prose is masterful of his day and delightful. Something too rare among today's authors.

    Now we have the task of locating the other titles listed in the back of this wonderful book, which we've no doubt will be of similar caliber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Missing whole chunks of story

    While I very much enjoy the story, this particular edition is very poorly edited and whole chunks of the text are missing or improperly formatted. I recommend finding a better formatted copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Not bad but a lot of typos

    Taking into consideration when this was written makes the book an easier read. Its an interesting concept and the general plot is interesting as well . The details bocome far fetched and the main character gets his way too easy. My favorite is when they have to hang flags to communicate between air ships on mars. Really?! Lol!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Good book

    I recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Sammy

    This is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Not bad

    Its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Too many errors

    Too many errors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Yuck!!!!

    The worst copy I have ever seen. It was all most unreadable. What the hell happen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    They are right, editing mistakes are all through the book. This

    They are right, editing mistakes are all through the book. This is due (in my opinion ) because the book was scanned, but not proofed read. As for the story it was excellent. Even with the mistakes I could understand what the story was about, and follow the story line. For the story and Edgar Rice Burroughs writing I give this book 5 stars. ***** As for the Publisher: New York : Grosset & Dunlap for poor editing they get 2 stars, ** So even it out that comes to 3stars overall. Like Ringslinger said don't be cheap like me buy the $1 dollar version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Terrable ocr

    Great story ruined by terrable ocr

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    pay for this book

    I got this verison , because it was free. There are so many mistakes that it is unreadable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Too many typos

    Will have to get another edition because all theae typos are giving me a headache. Not even done reading rhis one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    The reviews saying that this edition, this one here, is riddled

    The reviews saying that this edition, this one here, is riddled with errors, are referring to an earlier edition posted at BN by someone else, NOT Jesseca's Ebooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good, but...

    While I completely enjoyed this novel and highly recommend it, I cannot say the same for this edition. When you reach the climax of the novel (roughly chapters 16 and on) this edition begins to skip pages thus making it unreadable. Thankfully I had a hard copy of the novel in my shelf so I could continue to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Surprisingly good!

    After reading many disappointing reviews, I was very surprised to discover that the free sample was free of errors and very enjoyable! If I am unable to find this title for free elsewhere (this title should be free as it is in the public domain), I intend to purchase it here. Grammar errors make me crazy. So, if my choices are to pay for this error-free copy or get a copy for free that is full of grammatical errors, I'll take the lesser of two evils and purchase this one!

    Thx for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Well worth the read!

    While somewhat difficult to read as the odd OCR scan jibberish mixes with the odd character and place names, this is a fascinating tale relevant to any era and well worth reading. Any reader is sure to look up at Mars with wonderment of possibility after this adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Love it

    Was an amazing book!!! Read next 3 out of 25 and it was pretty good but could not finish all still realy good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Is horrible

    Worstt book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Great Story

    The first of ERB's Martian stories.......it sets the stage for all of the others. The only reason I bought this was I didn't want to go digging around in the garage for my 47 year old paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7