Customer Reviews for

A princess of Mars

Average Rating 3.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

my favorite novel of all time

In Burroughs' Princess of Mars, he describes a lushly realized Mars (Barsoom to its inhabitants) where former Captain John Carter of Virginia can conquer alien civilizations and win the hand of the Martian Princess, Dejah Thoris, the universe's most beautiful woman. (Co...
In Burroughs' Princess of Mars, he describes a lushly realized Mars (Barsoom to its inhabitants) where former Captain John Carter of Virginia can conquer alien civilizations and win the hand of the Martian Princess, Dejah Thoris, the universe's most beautiful woman. (Contrary to many portrayals in art, yes, Burroughs does describe what she's wearing, and, no, it's nothing more than jewelry.) This was followed by two equally fine novels, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars, as well as a brilliant series of Barsoomian adventures to follow. Is it any wonder a book with such a dreamlike quality can become arguably the world's most widely read novel?

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Damaged Goods

I was eager to reread this classic novel, especially in light of the upcoming movie adaptation. However, the amount of junk and missing words (presumably OCR errors, but perhaps a reader error) in the copy I downloaded to my Color Nook from the B&N store made it diffic...
I was eager to reread this classic novel, especially in light of the upcoming movie adaptation. However, the amount of junk and missing words (presumably OCR errors, but perhaps a reader error) in the copy I downloaded to my Color Nook from the B&N store made it difficult to read and enjoy. I do not recommend the ebook edition.

posted by CraigMiloRogers on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    my favorite novel of all time

    In Burroughs' Princess of Mars, he describes a lushly realized Mars (Barsoom to its inhabitants) where former Captain John Carter of Virginia can conquer alien civilizations and win the hand of the Martian Princess, Dejah Thoris, the universe's most beautiful woman. (Contrary to many portrayals in art, yes, Burroughs does describe what she's wearing, and, no, it's nothing more than jewelry.) This was followed by two equally fine novels, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars, as well as a brilliant series of Barsoomian adventures to follow. Is it any wonder a book with such a dreamlike quality can become arguably the world's most widely read novel?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Great Book

    If you want a good science fiction series, read the Mars series by Edgar Rice Burroughs, of which A Princess of Mars is the first. Burroughs uses his great imagination and spins a story about John Carter going to mars. I love the series and have read them over and over, trust me science fiction lovers, this book is for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    One of the best books ever

    A friend gave me his father's copy to borrow while I was laid up after surgery. I was very skeptical about it because of it's name. After the first page, I was hooked. It is the kind of book you read, and then go to great lengths to find more of the series. I have just found a copy in hardbound after 3 years of looking. 3 years. The book is just that good. Phenominal choice. A must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    A pleasant surprise

    I am not usually a fan of early sci-fi because early sci-fi 1) can be corny 2) can have too much drama, as if it were a play translated to book form.
    This novel does have both of those characteristics but not in large proportion. The creativity of the book (especially considering when it was written) is refreshing, entertaining, and engaging enough to make a reader want to read more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Is this good or not?

    Most people are saying to not get this book because if missing words. But some people are recamending to get it. So who should I listen to? When you read the blurb (the little info it gives about the book) it tells you the whole story, or main plots.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    would read it over & over

    Its ez to see how all the grate si fi directers get there inspiration from the mars books. The problems in the ereader makes littel dif. To me . I enjoy it very much and could not pput it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    Classic, vintage science fiction

    Few novels in the sci-fi arena have instilled the excitement and attention to detail that Burroughs has. I first read the Martian series in High school back in the 60's. I have read each novel (all 10 & 1/2)several times each and still find them as exciting as the first time. This is 'Must Read' material; which you will find yourself using to compare against all others. A brilliant storyteller!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Best awsome book ever

    This is one of the best books i have ever read, but it has too many typos;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    99¿ for all 5

    When you spend 99¿ for all 5 of the Mars series there are no errors. All of those annoying /#*drw+%/ which are supposed to be words are gone. These book are understandable. All of them! No guessing. They are wonderful and a dollar well spent. You won't regret it. For me it's like sci-fi in the beginning. The days of its infancy. No matter what types of books you are a fan of you will enjoy these. They have Style and Class. Very well done. A true classic
    Sanna7125

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Good

    On to the second book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    superb and enchanting

    Thank you Harvard for finding and posting this treasure on ebooks. Mr Burroughs is way ahead of his time. This could be excellent fantasy Sci Fi of today. Of course, the prose is masterful of his day and delightful. Something too rare among today's authors.

    Now we have the task of locating the other titles listed in the back of this wonderful book, which we've no doubt will be of similar caliber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Good book

    I recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Sammy

    This is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    The reviews saying that this edition, this one here, is riddled

    The reviews saying that this edition, this one here, is riddled with errors, are referring to an earlier edition posted at BN by someone else, NOT Jesseca's Ebooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Good, but...

    While I completely enjoyed this novel and highly recommend it, I cannot say the same for this edition. When you reach the climax of the novel (roughly chapters 16 and on) this edition begins to skip pages thus making it unreadable. Thankfully I had a hard copy of the novel in my shelf so I could continue to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Surprisingly good!

    After reading many disappointing reviews, I was very surprised to discover that the free sample was free of errors and very enjoyable! If I am unable to find this title for free elsewhere (this title should be free as it is in the public domain), I intend to purchase it here. Grammar errors make me crazy. So, if my choices are to pay for this error-free copy or get a copy for free that is full of grammatical errors, I'll take the lesser of two evils and purchase this one!

    Thx for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Love it

    Was an amazing book!!! Read next 3 out of 25 and it was pretty good but could not finish all still realy good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Great Story

    The first of ERB's Martian stories.......it sets the stage for all of the others. The only reason I bought this was I didn't want to go digging around in the garage for my 47 year old paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Story

    I read this book in high school back in the sixties, and loved it. I got an electronic copy to reread because of the upcoming movie, "John Carter." I found the story as compelling today as I did back then; additionally, I found that the story included some barbs aimed at society that I missed as a teenager.
    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that likes science fiction and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    THE 1ST BOOK I EVER PICKED AND READ FOR MYSELF, PERIOD.!!!

    Yep, (cough, cough, uuummmm) this really is where it all started.

    I was around 12 years old and had a soccer injury that needed medical attn. While waiting for the results, my parents took me to an nearby bookstore to let me pick out some reading material I would like. I ended up taking home the #1 and #2 books in this series and have loved reading ever since.
    Frankly, I never did finish all the books in the series, yet cant deny that this was my true beginning and led me to my love of literature and future growth. Thats why I simply cannot openly put down any works regaurdless of content and Quality
    I will not make an honest professional review of this series because of my personal attachment to it, but will say that this is the series that got me reading for my own enjoyment, so for what its worth, even trashy paper backs can change lives! Love the book or hate the book, I thank Edger R B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3