Customer Reviews for

Prior Bad Acts

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, I'm hooked!

I started reading her books from the newest going back and I am so hooked! I feel the newer ones are better but the twists and turns as well as the incredible ability to put the reader into the story continue throughout! Hoag is my favorite right now, I can't get enoug...
I started reading her books from the newest going back and I am so hooked! I feel the newer ones are better but the twists and turns as well as the incredible ability to put the reader into the story continue throughout! Hoag is my favorite right now, I can't get enough of these stories!

posted by MsBehavin on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Prior Bad Acts

This is the first and last Tami Hoag book I will ever read. I thought that her story line was great and the entire book was expressive and gripping. However, I found the use of such fowl language appalling. Some of our best authors have been able to write novels that ha...
This is the first and last Tami Hoag book I will ever read. I thought that her story line was great and the entire book was expressive and gripping. However, I found the use of such fowl language appalling. Some of our best authors have been able to write novels that have been #1 best selling books without the use of gutter language. Someone once said that a person who needs fowl language to speak does not have a very good vocabulary. I agree. While I loved the imagination of the story line, it was very hard to skip over the language. Sorry about that Tami.

posted by 3947979 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful, I'm hooked!

    I started reading her books from the newest going back and I am so hooked! I feel the newer ones are better but the twists and turns as well as the incredible ability to put the reader into the story continue throughout! Hoag is my favorite right now, I can't get enough of these stories!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Prior Bad Acts

    This is the first and last Tami Hoag book I will ever read. I thought that her story line was great and the entire book was expressive and gripping. However, I found the use of such fowl language appalling. Some of our best authors have been able to write novels that have been #1 best selling books without the use of gutter language. Someone once said that a person who needs fowl language to speak does not have a very good vocabulary. I agree. While I loved the imagination of the story line, it was very hard to skip over the language. Sorry about that Tami.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Prior Bad Acts

    This is by far the best book from Hoag. The complex structure of charactors, scenes, plots were well converted into something really readable, enjoyable and educating.You don't have to be a layer to love this book.It will open your eyes up and you can never close them down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Great Courtroom Thriller

    This is the best courtroom thriller so far this year. I consider this novel Tami Hoag's redemption for Kill the Messenger. The characters are great, the story is edge of your seat entertainment, and the ending is superb. This is a must buy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Great Read

    I could not put this book down. It kept my interest and kept me up at night so I could continue to read it. This book you should buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Intense! I love Kovac and Liska, they are a great team and Hoag

    Intense! I love Kovac and Liska, they are a great team and Hoag creates a great dynamic for them to work together. Bring I'm more of Kovac/Liska!,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Knows how to write

    Read this book in two days. Great story line, great character development. No sex, yes some swearing but it fit with the story line. There were no pages and pages of mindless filler pages. She wrote over 500 pages of relevant story!! Way to go Tami

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Riveting!

    This book was exciting from beginning to end, you can't put it down-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Goid Good read!

    Good story line with interestig characters. Cant wait to read her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Very enjoyable.

    Tami Hoag has created two interesting characters – Kovac and Liska. Kovac is a hard older – classical fictional male detective. While Liska is a younger female decective, who is also somewhat hardened by her experience. The interplay with these two is somewhat stereotypical. Both Prior Bad Acts and Dust to Dust are very enjoyable reads. I have recommended these to other I know who like the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 Stars

    I have read two other novels by Tami Hoag (Deeper than the Dead and the sequel to it) and in this book she sticks to the same formula as far as the development of the plot and the characters. Was easy to get into but a bit predictable....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Suspenseful

    Tami Hoag always writes about strong characters. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a real good gripping story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Very enjoyable reading!

    This was my first time reading this author and I enjoyed the book very much. I was able to keep track of the characters and follow the plot eventhough I sometimes had to put it away for a few days. There was plenty of suspense and twists and turns to keep me coming back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing twists and turns!!!!

    This was one of the best books I have read in some time. It goes along and all of a sudden just when you think there is only one way the story could go - WHAM!! The author takes you in a completely unseen direction. I hope I can find a book to follow this intensity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fun read,

    what ive come to expect from Hoag, last minute twists and turns that keep u reading till the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tension & Interesting Characters = Satisfying Ending

    A first Tami Hoag book for me and read within a few days. I read that the characters, Kovac and Liska, were introduced in previous books but Hoag creates enough background and full, flawed characters that there wasn't any feeling of "must have missed something". Hoag builds turn-paging tension that leads the reader to a satisfying ending. Thoroughly enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Prior Bad Acts Thrilling

    This author is a part of my wifes' personal library and I needed something else to read. I have read an earlier book by her and it was okay. This book was indeed a surprise. It definitely kept me involved. I like how the author has woven some true facts into her stories to make them more realistic. Among those known truths, the loss of officers by suicide. It can be tough being an officer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Hoag has improved over the years

    The first time I read a novel by Tami Hoag I threw it down in disgust; it read like a badly written combination of a potboiler and Harlequin romance, with a liberal dose of sex thrown in. <BR/><BR/>Apparently Hoag has learned from experience, however, because this new novel is her best work so far. And while I was easily able to guess the identity of Judge Carey Moore's assailant, this didn't detract from the suspense Hoag built up in her story - not to mention that built up by the narrator of the audiobook, Holter Graham, who seemed to know exactly the right tone to take at each critical point of the book. <BR/><BR/>This is the first time that I know of that Hoag has used characters from another of her books, and I hope it's not the last time she'll use them. I'd like to meet her detectives, Kovac and Liska, again - not to mention Judge Moore and her adorable five-year-old daughter Lucy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Can't put it down!

    This was the first Tami Hoag book I had ever read and it kept my eyes glued to the pages until the very end! I love a great mystery and this one kept me on the edge of my seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6