BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Prior Bad Acts

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, I'm hooked!

I started reading her books from the newest going back and I am so hooked! I feel the newer ones are better but the twists and turns as well as the incredible ability to put the reader into the story continue throughout! Hoag is my favorite right now, I can't get enoug...
I started reading her books from the newest going back and I am so hooked! I feel the newer ones are better but the twists and turns as well as the incredible ability to put the reader into the story continue throughout! Hoag is my favorite right now, I can't get enough of these stories!

posted by MsBehavin on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Prior Bad Acts

This is the first and last Tami Hoag book I will ever read. I thought that her story line was great and the entire book was expressive and gripping. However, I found the use of such fowl language appalling. Some of our best authors have been able to write novels that ha...
This is the first and last Tami Hoag book I will ever read. I thought that her story line was great and the entire book was expressive and gripping. However, I found the use of such fowl language appalling. Some of our best authors have been able to write novels that have been #1 best selling books without the use of gutter language. Someone once said that a person who needs fowl language to speak does not have a very good vocabulary. I agree. While I loved the imagination of the story line, it was very hard to skip over the language. Sorry about that Tami.

posted by 3947979 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful, I'm hooked!

    I started reading her books from the newest going back and I am so hooked! I feel the newer ones are better but the twists and turns as well as the incredible ability to put the reader into the story continue throughout! Hoag is my favorite right now, I can't get enough of these stories!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Prior Bad Acts

    This is by far the best book from Hoag. The complex structure of charactors, scenes, plots were well converted into something really readable, enjoyable and educating.You don't have to be a layer to love this book.It will open your eyes up and you can never close them down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Great Courtroom Thriller

    This is the best courtroom thriller so far this year. I consider this novel Tami Hoag's redemption for Kill the Messenger. The characters are great, the story is edge of your seat entertainment, and the ending is superb. This is a must buy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Great Read

    I could not put this book down. It kept my interest and kept me up at night so I could continue to read it. This book you should buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Knows how to write

    Read this book in two days. Great story line, great character development. No sex, yes some swearing but it fit with the story line. There were no pages and pages of mindless filler pages. She wrote over 500 pages of relevant story!! Way to go Tami

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing twists and turns!!!!

    This was one of the best books I have read in some time. It goes along and all of a sudden just when you think there is only one way the story could go - WHAM!! The author takes you in a completely unseen direction. I hope I can find a book to follow this intensity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Prior Bad Acts Thrilling

    This author is a part of my wifes' personal library and I needed something else to read. I have read an earlier book by her and it was okay. This book was indeed a surprise. It definitely kept me involved. I like how the author has woven some true facts into her stories to make them more realistic. Among those known truths, the loss of officers by suicide. It can be tough being an officer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Can't put it down!

    This was the first Tami Hoag book I had ever read and it kept my eyes glued to the pages until the very end! I love a great mystery and this one kept me on the edge of my seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    I loved this book.

    This is the first book I read by this author. I didn't want to put it down! I can't wait to read other books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Whoa, Amazing Read!!!

    This book was absolutely fabulous! It was a page turner that kept you in suspense until the very end. It had unforgetable, and amusing characters, especcially the two main cops Sam Kovac and Nikki Liska. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Edge of Your Seat

    Another great one for Tami Hoag. Couldn't put it down. As always, a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Non-stop action mystery

    Judge Carey Moore is a stickler for fairness, sometimes going beyond the point where she should. When a drifter, Karl Dahl, goes on trial for a heinous triple murder, Judge Moore makes a very un-popular decision. A decision that would change and shape the future of Judge Moore, Karl Dahl, the prosecuting attorney Chris Logan, and the defense attorney Kenny Scott. Judge Moore¿s husband David did not help much either since he always had a case of what I call ¿me-ite-us!¿ when everything is turned around for him to be in the forefront. Detective Sam Kovac got into the act when Judge Moore was attacked in the parking garage where she was knocked down, battered, and finally lost consciousness when her head was banged into the concrete. Regardless of how Sam felt about the judicial decision the judge had made, this attack was not right. Kovac¿s partner, Nikki Liska, is a rough, tough woman who will tackle anyone or anything. They got along very well, but had their disagreements as any normal people do. But they worked terrifically together, sometimes thinking as one. Kovac took Judge Moore home from the hospital knowing that she was in danger and needed protection, even if she would not give in to that thought. The judge¿s husband was useless this was not about HIM! Any of the authorities and attorneys that visited the scene of the original murders felt so strange knowing what had occurred where they now stood. Two small children and their mother were brutally killed in this house. How could anyone do this? This Karl Dahl must be a terribly brutal man who is not human. Naturally everyone made him guilty before a trial. In prison Dahl had to be kept separate from other inmates since they all knew what he was charged with. As time went on, Detective Kovac was never very far from Judge Moore. She was supposed to stay home due to her injuries and the threat against her but she sometimes snuck out, driving the police crazy. Another cop, Stan Dempsey was a sort of a rogue cop whose actions were not always trusted by his fellow officers. But he had to delve into the murders also despite Kovac and Liska¿s concern. When Karl Dahl escaped things got even dicier. Kovac kept a closer eye on the judge, and the reader can sense he is becoming closer to her in other ways too. Prior Bad Acts continues to pick up steam and roars along at a fast and furious pace. Naturally the reader guesses what will occur next and usually is wrong. Tami Hoag does not disappoint her faithful readers with this book. I enjoyed it thoroughly from cover to cover. It is a ¿do not put down¿ book that I loved. Tami Hoag can bring these detectives back easily in any future books. She has bred a good duo.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    reviewer

    This is a excellent book and fast reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    OUTSTANDING

    I will have to say this is one of the best books that I have read in a long time, if you want a story that has a great plot and that will keep you on your edge of your seat, this is the one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    OUTSTANDING... what else can one say

    She does it again. Who needs James Patterson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    I love Tami Hoag!

    As with all Tami's books you don't have to know the back story. If you have read the other books with Kovac and Liska then you know but she puts everything in there. Their character,home life,and personas. I loved the end of this one because well i won't ruin it for those of you who haven't read it. But this one puts things the way they should be. Kovac goes through enough in the other two he deserves to be happy! Also if you catch the small parts that she puts in about Kate and John from ashes to ashes. They are married and have a daughter!! YEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Prior Bad Acts

    This book is unbelievably good. Tammi takes you into the story by pacing you with good rhythm in suspense and you get to see each charactor develop immensely. It shows good police procedures and court room in good details. Each charactor feels so real. The writing makes your heart pump. I have read many books written by lawyer but Tammi Hoag has beaten them all. This book is a thumb up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Excellent as always

    This was such a great book. Tami Hoag never disappoints. I read this book in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    chilling thriller

    It was such gruesome murders that hardened police officers, had nervous breakdowns, heart attacks and felt shattered. Two children were tortured, butchered and hung by their necks from the ceiling. Their foster mother who hoped to adopt them was eviscerated from her throat to her groin. Karl Dahl was arrested for the murders because his fingerprints were on the scene, a neighbor¿ son saw him looking in the window, and the victim¿s necklace was on his person when he was arrested. --- At a hearing, Judge Casey Moore refused to let Dahl¿s prior crimes be introduced at the trial, a call that made her many enemies. When she goes to the garage to get the car she is assaulted and left unconscious. Detective Sam Kovac starts off disliking the judge and ends up caring for her. He vows to protect her from people who might want to harm her including the former lead detective who demands justice. Her enemies also include Dahl who is obsessed with her and broke out of prison and her husband who has a secret life and might think she is in the way. Four more deaths occur before Casey is kidnapped and it is up to Kovac to save her if he can get to where she is being held captive in time. --- Fans of Kay Hooper, Iris Johansen, and Linda Howard will find Prior Bad Acts a chilling thriller with a surplus of suspects. Although Dahl is a killer, there is another murderer on the loose and his identity will come as a surprise to the audience. Characters from ASHES TO ASHES AND DUST TO DUST make a repeat performance giving the police procedural a sense of continuity. Tami Hoag is one of the best crime writers in the new millennium because she makes her audience believe that the storyline is possible. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3