Customer Reviews for

The Prisoner in the Third Cell

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    A must read for all Christians

    A great work of fiction, this dramatic story give us a look at John the Baptist, imprisoned by Herod and awaiting death, as he struggles to understand a Lord who did not live up to his expectations. It gives a whole new perspective on what faith means. John's struggle to understand the whys of his situation echoes our own. When it turns to Jesus¿ POV and how He wanted to reveal things to John, it's one of those 'wow' moments that give you some understanding of God's ways. It¿s a book of comfort and an eye-opening look at what this thing called faith is all about. A book all Christians should read. It adds foundation the great words of Charles Spurgeon: 'When you can't trace God's hand, trust His heart.'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite short read

    The prisoner in the third cell is read easily in an hour and is a wonderful encouragement to those going through what seems an unfair struggle. I have bought this book as a gift for many friends going through hard times and always get a heartfelt thank you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    Eye opening

    This book depicts the apostle John's life and his total dedication to the Lord, but sheds a more personnel light on the scripture verse; blessed are those who are not offended by me thus saith Jesus.

    As mirrored in the book of Job, christians often times aid our enemy Satan, in bringing accusations against one another, or rail against God when all hell seemingly breaks out in our lives,when often times we are in fact imprisoned by God's perfect plans and purposes for our lives, especially those that result in we being emptied of ourselves so we can be filled with more of God.

    How quickly we forget that God is holy and that He has commanded us as believers to be holy as He is. Brothers and sisters it is one thing to quote the word but quite another to live it, therefore allowing it to live in us as it is living, just as Jesus is alive. Let us embrace any and all trials and tribulations that come our way, because:Jesus is our victor, everthing He allows in our lives is intertwined with His mercy, and cause He has good plans for us, plans to help us and not to harm us.

    The above is some of what makes us all the prisoner in the third cell, even when we are wholly obedient unto the Lord.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    You must read it

    It is a great story, it does make you think and re evaluate the way you relate with Jesus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Pondering

    Powerful view of what we perceive and what is God's will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Amber

    k *leaves shutting the cell door*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Vortex to person who has swarm

    I hve come help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Following a God whose ways are not our ways.

    Gene Edwards will take you on a beautiful but demanding journey into the life of John the baptist. His book takes us into the deep battle John had within him at the time of his death. His beautiful descriptive words allow the reader to embarc on all the different stages in the life of this great man who demonstrated absolute loyalty to a God who did not provide him with the only thing he asked for...answers.
    The Prisoner in theThird Cell will also take the reader on his own journey to discover the realities of loyalty without questions and absolute faith in who God is instead of how his ways look like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Definitely a must read for anyone who has ever questioned God's

    Definitely a must read for anyone who has ever questioned God's ways. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Provides a framework for seeing God's purpose in the events of our lives. Are you a prisoner?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Prisoner

    Taken prisoner and not survived!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Awsome!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Good book

    And free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Very Moving!

    I loved how Edwards dealt with John the Baptist's thoughts and how he related those thoughts to every Christian's struggle. I look forward to reading more by this author. Great short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Awesome!

    Gods ways are past finding out & reading this book has helped me to put some of my innermost thoughts into perspectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    amazing

    christions would love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Spirit

    This+was+a+very+thought+provoking+book%2C++it+realy+made+me+pause+and+think+much+about+my+own+life+and+the+choices+that+i+have+made%2C++trying+to+live+a+christian+life+is+not+always+easy+and+i+think+that++having+a+better+understanding+of+john+the+baptist+will+be+a+great+comfort+to+me%2C++thank+you%2C

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3