Customer Reviews for

Prisoner of My Desire

Average Rating 4.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Favorite JL book!

First Johanna Lindsey book I've ever read and still my favorite.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing, rather tasteless

While I've enjoyed several of JL's books, this one and a few others disturb me. Surprisingly for a female author, in at least two of her novels that I know of, she portrays rape as acceptable (this seems to have been a common occurance in romance fiction the early 90's...
While I've enjoyed several of JL's books, this one and a few others disturb me. Surprisingly for a female author, in at least two of her novels that I know of, she portrays rape as acceptable (this seems to have been a common occurance in romance fiction the early 90's and before). As in, the male lead (the one the reader is supposed to be falling in love with) rapes the female lead. What's so sad is that the woman accepts this, even submits to it. So many of the men in this novel (and the other I'm thinking of) are thoughtless of women, if not outright cruel.

Now, I know authors find it annoying when readers tell them how to write their books, but would it be too much to ask for a little kindness and consideration? Respect? If I may, I'd like to make a few suggestions for future novels (and possible rewrites, as some authors do with their older books) that would make them from good to wonderful:

1. No rape or semi-rape. Never force or blackmail a woman to your bed, no matter how big your grudge is against her. What part of "no" don't you understand--the "n" or the "o"? You can be as grumpy as you want, even yell, but please don't lay a hand in anger or selfishness on a woman. Be a nice barbarian, please?

2. The line between "headstrong" and "selfish" is a fine one. Please, tread carefully.

3. No casual cruelty (or any cruelty), at least not in the protagonists (the ones we're supposed to like). Just because it's the middle ages doesn't mean it's ok to beat your children as punishment, or to be bloodthirsty.

So, Ms. Lindsey, please forgive me for this rather harsh review. I truly do like your books otherwise. It's just that these points (esp. the rape) prevent me from getting the most out of them.

posted by Picky_readerLW on May 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Disappointing, rather tasteless

    While I've enjoyed several of JL's books, this one and a few others disturb me. Surprisingly for a female author, in at least two of her novels that I know of, she portrays rape as acceptable (this seems to have been a common occurance in romance fiction the early 90's and before). As in, the male lead (the one the reader is supposed to be falling in love with) rapes the female lead. What's so sad is that the woman accepts this, even submits to it. So many of the men in this novel (and the other I'm thinking of) are thoughtless of women, if not outright cruel.

    Now, I know authors find it annoying when readers tell them how to write their books, but would it be too much to ask for a little kindness and consideration? Respect? If I may, I'd like to make a few suggestions for future novels (and possible rewrites, as some authors do with their older books) that would make them from good to wonderful:

    1. No rape or semi-rape. Never force or blackmail a woman to your bed, no matter how big your grudge is against her. What part of "no" don't you understand--the "n" or the "o"? You can be as grumpy as you want, even yell, but please don't lay a hand in anger or selfishness on a woman. Be a nice barbarian, please?

    2. The line between "headstrong" and "selfish" is a fine one. Please, tread carefully.

    3. No casual cruelty (or any cruelty), at least not in the protagonists (the ones we're supposed to like). Just because it's the middle ages doesn't mean it's ok to beat your children as punishment, or to be bloodthirsty.

    So, Ms. Lindsey, please forgive me for this rather harsh review. I truly do like your books otherwise. It's just that these points (esp. the rape) prevent me from getting the most out of them.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Kept reading hoping it would get better. The rowenna was tied up

    Kept reading hoping it would get better. The rowenna was tied up and raped for three days as retaliation for being forced to do the same to him. He went even further, making her a lady, a serf in his home. She was punished repeatedly for things beyond her control. He treated her cruelly. In the end all was quickly forgiven. Within a couple of pages, she takes him back? PLEASE!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Favorite JL book!

    First Johanna Lindsey book I've ever read and still my favorite.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Depends on one's taste

    In 1152 England, her odious stepbrother Gilbert D¿Ambray forces Rowena Belleme to marry the elderly Godwynne Lyons because her sibling wants to use his new in-law¿s vast estate to fight a tough enemy. To force her to bend to his wishes, he threatens Rowena¿s mother Anne with brutal punishment. However, on their wedding night, her new spouse, old enough to be her grandfather, dies. To produce an heir, her stepbrother kidnaps Warrick deChaville. For the next three nights, Rowena has her way with her prisoner, who tries not to cooperate, but cannot stop his desires. Though Rowena frees Warrick, he thirsts for vengeance for his humiliation. He abducts Rowena to give her a taste of her own medicine. For the next three nights he has his way with her, but instead of freeing Rowena he makes her his servant. However, as she teaches him to enjoy life, Rowena and Warrick fall in love, but her stepbrother like a serpent in Eden has other plans for this couple. This reprint of a decade old medieval romance is entertaining due to the numerous period piece tidbits cleverly interwoven into the plot so that the audience feels as if they are actually in the mid twelfth century. The story line is well written but contains soft bondage (oxymoron?) and also implies rape though both participants act willingly in the heat of the moment. Fans of historical romances with plenty of lust, and a bit of chains and ropes will delight in Johanna Lindsey¿s tale of love ruining a perfect case of revenge. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Great escape!

    CMON WHO DOESNT LIKE TO B DOMINATED EVERY NOW AND THEN!!!! I love these romance novels. We've created a society where men r afraid to b men, this is just fun! Lighten up on the whole rape thing, she started it. ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Repulsive

    I agree with an earlier post: how is a spineless, pathetic woman falling for a cruel, thick-skulled man after he repeatedly rapes her considered "romantic?" I have read probably hundreds of other Medieval romances, including others by JL, which I loved, so I'm familiar with the archetypal males in this genre: they're definitely more brutish and macho than your Regency romance fop. But this one is beyond the pale. Hated both protagonists so much that this book had absolutely NO redeeming factors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Just okay for me

    I've read this author's other work and have found it really good. This was not my favorite book so if this is your first, don't judge her solely on this book.

    Sort of weird for me with a forced rape (for lack of a better word) and then the tables are turned and he takes her as a prisoner and vows to make her pay.... which he does..... over and over and over. I found him cruel and wished she would have been a stronger character (without giving too much away).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    B

    Oo

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Will read again!

    I love Johanna's book... I think she did a wonderful job on this one!! Will read a second time!! Great sex scenes too!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    This is my first JL book. I had read the reviews and wanted to

    This is my first JL book. I had read the reviews and wanted to judge for myself. I really liked the book. I take it for what it is worth, a romance novel. Nothing more. I will have to try more of JL's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    To x 23

    No non nit noway its already a cjaracter plus i know a lot more about wolverine ad hugh jackman and x men than you probably do so no its bearclaw aka emma u want my bio go to superhero union res one and youll see bearclaw bio aka emma thats me and i got it right since males carry the mutant gene i have wolverines powers plus i would be working with hugh jackman if i was ever in an xmen movie and michael fassbender james mcavoy i bet you dont know any of those people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Wow an amazing book I loved it.Will definitely be reading this a

    Wow an amazing book I loved it.Will definitely be reading this again the the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    A very enjoyable read

    I enjoyed the story and the characters. Worth the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Aiisha

    ((Sry been super busy))
    Aiisha folded her arms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Neko

    "Hi!" He punched her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    X-23's bio

    Name... Laura Kinney. Call me that. Your head will be gone the next day so call me X-23...appearance... black hair and brown eyes. Looks exactly like wolverine. Exept is a girl...... personality... is serious and can be mean. If i go beserk. Nothing can stop me... powers... posseses superhuman reflexes,agility,speed, and senses. Can also extend adamantium-coated retractable bone claws from my hands and feet. Two on each hand one on each foot healing factor.... history... was cloned by a damaged sample of Wolverine's DNA. Was raised by Weapon X program. Was trained to have no emotions exept for anger. A trigger scent can drive me beserk. Turning me inyo a killing machine..... thats all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Neko

    He banged around inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Amanda

    Fell back time stopped she went to res one and threw him in his cage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Tony

    Name: tony<p>
    Age: unknown, he ages slowly<p>
    Gender: male<p>
    Looks: tall and thin, sickly pale with blonde hair and icy blue eyes.<p>
    Wears: a ragged black tee-shirt, jeans, no shoes.<p>
    Mutation: he can grow anything in his body he needs such as extra ribs, and can also transform into a wide variety of animals.<p>
    He has a quick temper and can be dangerous. Must be contained at all time for saftey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Hshx

    Hxhd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8