Customer Reviews for

The Prisoner's Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If anyone is interested in the 'other side' of the story of incarcerated men.....

I am a part-time college professor, teaching courses in Criminal Justice. My full-time job is as a prosecutor for the State of California. I found this book on a lark, and it gripped me from page one. In my nearly a decade of being a prosecutor, I have continuously s...
I am a part-time college professor, teaching courses in Criminal Justice. My full-time job is as a prosecutor for the State of California. I found this book on a lark, and it gripped me from page one. In my nearly a decade of being a prosecutor, I have continuously seen and dealt with the families of the accused, most times with little or no sympathy or understanding. The journey of asha and Rashid touched my heart, and really made me think. I decided to teach this book as a part of my recent course on Corrections. It definitely opened the minds of my conservative students, and gave us all pause about how we have, traditionally, seen the women who love 'bad men'. Their journey is really no different than any two people in love, but for the tremendous obstacles they had to overcome to succeed. I can't say enough good things about this book, and I know that I will be reading it again and again. Interestingly, asha bendele was recently featured on The WE Channel's 'Secret LIves of Women' series. What a great coincidence for myself and my students! We learned even more about what has happened since the book ended, which gave us even more insight and perspective on her struggles.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Read

This book was selected for my April book club meeting by one of the other members. My first thought was this will make for an interesting reading experience. I started reading this book with the mind set of "No way could I ever imagine becoming involved with a convi...
This book was selected for my April book club meeting by one of the other members. My first thought was this will make for an interesting reading experience. I started reading this book with the mind set of "No way could I ever imagine becoming involved with a convicted felon." It was easy enough to get into but I really started to enjoy the book at the mid way point...the earlier chapters did not really pull me in but as the main characters begin to open up, the story becomes very compelling, very sad at points, but enlightening at others. I still would not become involved with a convicted criminal but this book did open my mind up to lives of the prisoners and the spouses/family members who are drawn into their way of life in order to maintain some manner of contact under a different, restrictive way of life.

posted by 1221926 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    If anyone is interested in the 'other side' of the story of incarcerated men.....

    I am a part-time college professor, teaching courses in Criminal Justice. My full-time job is as a prosecutor for the State of California. I found this book on a lark, and it gripped me from page one. In my nearly a decade of being a prosecutor, I have continuously seen and dealt with the families of the accused, most times with little or no sympathy or understanding. The journey of asha and Rashid touched my heart, and really made me think. I decided to teach this book as a part of my recent course on Corrections. It definitely opened the minds of my conservative students, and gave us all pause about how we have, traditionally, seen the women who love 'bad men'. Their journey is really no different than any two people in love, but for the tremendous obstacles they had to overcome to succeed. I can't say enough good things about this book, and I know that I will be reading it again and again. Interestingly, asha bendele was recently featured on The WE Channel's 'Secret LIves of Women' series. What a great coincidence for myself and my students! We learned even more about what has happened since the book ended, which gave us even more insight and perspective on her struggles.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Very Realistic

    This book spoke for a lot of woman that have incarcerated loved ones in jail and how it is on the other side. I related with so many things in this book and it helped me get through my lonely days away from my husband. I highly recommend this book to everyone !!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Excellent Love Story

    I too, am a prisoner's wife. Yet, I knew my husband before he entered the system. The situation is yet very similar. I truly enjoyed this book! It was definitely a page turner. I have never read something so powerful.It was very emotional for me. I could hardly finish it without getting teary eyed. Thank You Ms. Bandele for this wonderful love story. Women that have husbands incarcerated, this is a must read. Excellent book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Interesting Read

    This book was selected for my April book club meeting by one of the other members. My first thought was this will make for an interesting reading experience. I started reading this book with the mind set of "No way could I ever imagine becoming involved with a convicted felon." It was easy enough to get into but I really started to enjoy the book at the mid way point...the earlier chapters did not really pull me in but as the main characters begin to open up, the story becomes very compelling, very sad at points, but enlightening at others. I still would not become involved with a convicted criminal but this book did open my mind up to lives of the prisoners and the spouses/family members who are drawn into their way of life in order to maintain some manner of contact under a different, restrictive way of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    As I listened to the prisoner's wife on T.V., I wondered.......

    I haven't read the book yet but I was about to be a prisoner's wife. My babyfather is doing time and we been back and forward with getting married while he's in there. I plan to read this book for some deep imput,before I make 'that' move......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Wonderful read, yet very sad.

    As a Bureau of Prisons staff member, this book really opened my eyes to how the wives, girlfriends and significant others deal with prison life. I really felt Asha's pain. She gave until she just couldn't give anymore. And I fell in love with Rashid. He was so mentally strong, and so supportive of Asha. The ending of this book really hurt my heart. However, it is a must read for anyone, especially someone who is in love with a man in prison. Asha, you did your thing with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    LOve

    I really appreciate Asha sharing her story.After reading her story I know that I am not alone in my everyday struggle in loving a man who has time on his hands. She helps to know that I can make it in my relationship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Couldn't Put it DOWN!!

    I have read this book twice! I loved it, since I am also experiencing my husband in prison made me see that there is hope and I am not the only one going through it! I loved the book and I reccomend it to anyone who has a loved one in the system cause you feel one with her!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend this book

    I personally know what it is like to love a person behind bars. I do not judge. I am a highly educated woman who is in love with a man who is incarcerated. I thank Asha for her beautifully well written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Touched my heart

    Excellent read for any woman who finds herself in love with a man who is incarcerated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    ?

    This sounds lovely and it is wonderul that it could offer perspective and ease pain but please ladies get angry your men are not at fault for this fate the ceo's of the private corections companys are getting rich off tax payer money and your mens suffering they build prisons then lobbie the lawmakers for tougher standards and drug laws so they can fill them with your men and then get more taxpayer money and then to increase profit even more they cut corners, bad medical services, poorly trained staff and often mentaly ill guards who get thier kicks torturing the inmates, and they get away with all this because people dont care about them the media trains everyone to be afriad of so called criminals please i beg of you to suport not only your men but all of the men who have been forced to be incarcerated for one white mans profit sounds a little like slavery so please read up on the subject prison nation by paul wright is a good option or search your nook for american prisons and most of all keep talking aboug it let people know how awful it is that these things are happening that thjs country has more than two million people are incarcerated more than any where else in the wirld even china dont let this country pretend it is rhe land of the free when your bank ballance and or your race are the determining factof in weather or not you will be sentenced to virtual slavery for the profits of cca or some equally evil money grubbibg compony so love your man and live your life partly without him but temper your mourning with anger over who is trurly responsable dont let any one pretend that thsese men deserve this or that it is not happening

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I'm going through it now ,but do I marry him or do i wait till 2013 when he released

    This is an excellent book ,it should be given to all female before marry a dude in prism .Sort of like marriage counseling .This woman told the story just like it is ,it hurts when you have to leave them they hurt when we leave and the ride home is lonely I'm trying to think ahead and tell myself that I am the older person in this relationship plus I have been married twice he has never been married before he is ii years under me, me being 43 there are so many factors like am i taking his youth away his chances of having babies with some young girl am I being fair to him period, but I'm glad I read Asha Book Thanks Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Loved it but I'm mad

    The book was real. It let you know that yes, love happens in strange places. It let you know that you can be upset by your situation but it really didn't show a sense of overcoming the situation. asha seemed to use Rashid for her own healing and drew back when he needed healing the most, just to be loved and believed in. It mad me as a prisoner's wife b/c I believe she gave up, which is alright if she just had enough but she persused the relationship which allowed him to take it to its highest form as it became. But read it for yourself b/c it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    SAME PREDICTIMENT

    I REVIEW THIS BOOK 1 MILION STARS I AM IN THE SAME EXACT SITUATION MY HUSBAND KNOWN AS MY BABYFATHER IS INCARATED AND I FEEL HIS PAIN AND LOVE HE ADVISED ME TO READ THIS BOOK HE SAID IT IS ABOUT ME AND HIM AND I AGREE THIS BOOK SHOULD NEVER BE FORGOTTEN OR PUT TO THE SIDE I WILL READ IT ALL THE TIME SHE GETS ALL THE POINTS AND REWARDS SHE CAN GET GOD BLEES AND I FEEL ALL THE WOMAN WHO ARE IN THE SAME BOAT!!!!GIVE YOURSELF CREDIT AND NEVER LEAVE THEM ALONE WITHOUT YOU!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    I Feel You

    This was a beautifully written and powerful memoir. I, too, met and became involved with an inmate. It was like deja vu reading about Asha and her love's romance and it's ups and downs. More importantly, the story behind the woman that love's the inmate could not have been written better. I feel Asha when she speaks about the mile high phone bills and the stares/treatments of the correctional officers. No one knows what this life is like unless you go through it. Prison really is a loveless place and to find love there, yes even there, is a blessing. She has inspired me to write my own memoirs. You REALLY have never been loved until you have been loved by a prisoner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    Beautiful love...

    When I read this book I felt like I was reading my own life and own emotions because I too met a man while he was incarcerated and we fell in love deeply. Her book was so well expressed. Asha go girl! You are a woman of strength and that is definitely what it takes to get through and you will. Always keep faith and hope and Believe b/c this kind of love is priceless. I will keep all the women and men out there going through this in my prayers. God Bless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    AN EXCELLENT READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WHAT CAN I SAY......ASHA WRITES A BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY. THIS BOOK TRULY IS THE BEST I'VE EVER READ.MY ONLY HOPE IS THAT ASHA DOESN'T LEAVE ME WONDERING....ARE HER AND RASHID STILL TOGETHER? I HOPE SO! I THOUGHT I WAS ALONE..IT'S GOOD TO KNOW THAT I'M NOT! THANKS SO VERY MUCH,ASHA.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    GOD BLESS YOU ASHA AND RASHID.

    I BOUGHT THE BOOK BECAUSE LIKE MANY OTHERS MY HUSBAND IS IN THE PRISON SYSTEM.IT WAS A REAL DEEP BOOK AND I COULD RELATE SOO MUCH TO WHAT U WENT THROUGH..THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS BOOK, YOU DEFINETLY INSPIRED AND MADE ME SEE BEYOND WHO MY HUSBAND IS.ANABELL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    BREATHES LIFE!

    WHEN I BEGAN TO READ THIS WONDERFUL BOOK I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE IN 2 DAYS-THE WAY I FEEL ABOUT LOVE AND THE CHALLENGES OR 'STEREOTYPES' I HAD. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG LOVING A MAN THAT IS INCARCERATED-I DID FOR 4 YEARS AND THEY ARE 'TRUE SOLDIERS'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    Inspiring

    comforting..and most of all heartfelt. I feel as if someone has taken my life and put fragments of it down on paper.worth the read...over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3