Customer Reviews for

Private Berlin

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Nice

So cool

posted by 2344823 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe I spent good money for this read. The author giv

I can't believe I spent good money for this read. The author gives unneeded descriptions of surroundings, roadways and other insignificant details. Characters arrive on scene mysteriously, almost like ghosts. Some of the events are unbelievable and the characters inone ...
I can't believe I spent good money for this read. The author gives unneeded descriptions of surroundings, roadways and other insignificant details. Characters arrive on scene mysteriously, almost like ghosts. Some of the events are unbelievable and the characters inone chapter take forever to go 20 miles and in another chapter they arrive in 2 short paragraphs.I can not recommend this book and am really disappointed in the author(s). This is NOT James Patersonly written.

posted by BobLdoit on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I can't believe I spent good money for this read. The author giv

    I can't believe I spent good money for this read. The author gives unneeded descriptions of surroundings, roadways and other insignificant details. Characters arrive on scene mysteriously, almost like ghosts. Some of the events are unbelievable and the characters inone chapter take forever to go 20 miles and in another chapter they arrive in 2 short paragraphs.I can not recommend this book and am really disappointed in the author(s). This is NOT James Patersonly written.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Crap

    I am 56. I used to love James Patterson. All of his books now are written with someone else, and they read , and have the plot of a Dr. Suess book. He is no longer a novelist, simply out for the money of illeterite readers that have not yet found true writers. His books are crap

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Ftfty shades of grey

    This book sucks

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Nice

    So cool

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Best Private yet - grabs you from the first page and you just ca

    Best Private yet - grabs you from the first page and you just can't put it down.  If you are a Patterson fan - Private Berlin doesn't disappoint!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Excellent read!

    An enjoyable read....great mystery. Not your everyday, run of the mill story. More, please!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Ashley Walther the best author ever

    You have the best books ever I have every book that you you wrote. I love them books very much....... If you people do not like his books I have to say that you are stupied..You people need to enjoy this best selling author in the world...... The books By James Patterson are so famous to me .Now tell me something rude saying that youvdo not like James Pattersons books.....I cry almost in every book that he made ....By the way I own every book that he wrote.... Be kind this best selling author . I love his books I will name some of them the maxium ride books. Some of books are called. Angel,Gone with the wing ,Fang,Still live'in . Write back if you like this author or if you do not like him but make sure to rate the book .

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Since I have not made a trip to Berlin (on my bucket list) the n

    Since I have not made a trip to Berlin (on my bucket list) the names of the streets and some of the names of the people were a little hard to pronounce, however it did not take away from the story. I will admit that this was not my favorite in the Private series but a good read nevertheless.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Awesome book..... once again..... 

    Awesome book..... once again..... 

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Patterson should give up the Private series!

    Not one of Patterson's best. Story was uninteresting and did not flow well. I read everything of Patterson but skipping the Private series from now on. He works best on his own anyway.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    great read

    holds your interest and makes you wish it would never end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    For all Patterson fans

    If you are a James Patterson fan as I am, Private Berlin does not disapoint. Having read
    all of the Private books, eagerly awaited this new location. It is my hope Patterson will
    continue with the series.
    Always fascinating with many unexpected twists and turns. Thoroughly enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Private Berlin rating 4

    One of Paterson's fast paced novels whith many twists and turns...not predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not as intriguing as other Patterson books, but it still is worth reading.

    Good but not great. I enjoy Patterson's other books much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    LOVE THE PRIVATE SERIES

    LOVE THE PRIVATE SERIES JUST AS MUCH AS WMC aka WOMANS MURDER CLUB, ALEX CROSS, MICHAEL BENNETT SERIES!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Private Berlin is the 5th book in the Private series by American

    Private Berlin is the 5th book in the Private series by American author James Patterson. It is co-written with Mark Sullivan. Set in modern-day Berlin, where Jack Morgan’s Private organisation has yet another branch, and starts with the search for a Private investigator, Christoph Schneider, who has failed to check in as expected. His ex-fiancée, Private operative Mattie Engel alerts the Private team who contact Jack Morgan to authorise the activation of Schneider’s locator chip, and the team also examines the cases Chris has been working on. The chip Chris had inserted leads the team to an abandoned slaughterhouse; when Kripo are called, Hauptcommissar Hans Dietrich is reluctant to allow Private any input. But soon enough, the remains of many victims are uncovered, moments before the slaughterhouse is destroyed by explosives. As Private and Kripo investigate, they try to tie Chris’s murder to his current cases: a rising soccer star with occasional erratic performance; and a billionaire businessman whose wife suspects him of adultery. But is seems Private’s computers have been hacked and Chris’s files corrupted; security footage shows him meeting with an unknown woman; and a meeting with a cabaret owner raises more questions. This fast-paced action novel features car chases, explosions, a high-class brothel, masks and disguises, torture and kidnapping. The reader is kept guessing to the end. As usual, it is all presented in Patterson’s gimmicky short chapters: anything from one to four pages of print, this also means a quick read as 429 pages is effectively only 300 or less. The other gimmick is the use of first-person narration for the villain: meant to be unnerving, but doesn’t really have that effect. The co-writer for this book is the same as Private Games, but this definitely a better book: perhaps Patterson himself had more input, or perhaps it is that only readers familiar with Berlin would be able to assess if the feel of the city is genuinely conveyed. The climax is a bit clunky, and the only character with any depth is Mattie. Will the Private series continue, and will it be worth reading? Another quick read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Interesting book, recommend, quick read for me.

    recommend,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Great book

    A real page turner. Invloves action suspense mystery erotica and is throughly scary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Tall action in a short story

    Swift start going to a good story, with an interesting backflash complimenting the main story. I'd like this author to do a 500-700page story with more complexities. I am sure it would be as engaging.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Drhmmbhkkjjiio

    Pppoojjjjhggghiokmbnnjkkjkyhkjuuipoytrtllll
    ?gffgjk

    1 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11