Customer Reviews for

Private Games

Average Rating 4
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. Did not disappoint

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

OKAY BOOK BY MARK SULLIVAN

James, you did it again. Waited for your book to come out and made sure I was at the bookstore to purchsde it on the day it came out. THERE IS NO WAY THAT THIS NOVEL WAS WRITTEN BY YOU. I have read every book you ever wrote and this book screams of another author. S...
James, you did it again. Waited for your book to come out and made sure I was at the bookstore to purchsde it on the day it came out. THERE IS NO WAY THAT THIS NOVEL WAS WRITTEN BY YOU. I have read every book you ever wrote and this book screams of another author. STOP FOOLING ME. I want to read James Patterson and not someone else. Don't put your name on something just to make a sale. Your disappointing your readers.

posted by 1481168 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    PRIVATE GAMES: DISENCHANTED!

    I recently read a B&N customer's review of "Private Games" by Patterson and Sullivan.
    I must agree with this customer's review and/or opinion of this novel: "This book was NOT written by J. Patterson."
    The writing style and syntax are simply not those of Patterson. The characters lack depth, personality and realistic traits.
    One of Patterson's renowned "trademarks" are his action-packed SHORT chapters that give one the ultimate adrenaline-rush. These details are sorely missing from "Private Games."
    Perhaps Patterson ASSISTED Sullivan in the writing of this book, but there is NO WAY this a Patterson novel.
    I am completely disenchanted. If, by chance, you read this critique Mr. Patterson it is my hope your future "co-written" novels will TRUTHFULLY let your readers know the MAJORITY (of your co-written novels) was accomplished by the pen of a co-writer.
    Best Regards,
    Kalainikea.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    OKAY BOOK BY MARK SULLIVAN

    James, you did it again. Waited for your book to come out and made sure I was at the bookstore to purchsde it on the day it came out. THERE IS NO WAY THAT THIS NOVEL WAS WRITTEN BY YOU. I have read every book you ever wrote and this book screams of another author. STOP FOOLING ME. I want to read James Patterson and not someone else. Don't put your name on something just to make a sale. Your disappointing your readers.

    21 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    I lile the story so far, but they must have had a 4th grader proofread it.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Disappointing

    It was difficult to read this book to the end.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Spell check anyone?

    James Paterson is absolutely my favorite author. This writing sounds like him, but I'd really like for the editors to re-read what they have already approved for publishing. There are 2 typos I read in the first 43 pages...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Too many technical issues

    I've rarely had as many technical issues as I've had with this book. I'd be reading along and suddenly one line of text didn't mesh with what followed. This happened at least 3 or 4 times. Then there was the part where I couldn't get past a certain page (the last 3 or 4 pages kept showing up) until I finally went to "Go to page xxx" and randomly chose a page number close to where I was having the problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Ripoff

    Well anybody else see the thg similarites? It may just b cobcedental but i read private games abf tbh i def didnt love it... but thats just my personal opinion. If ur like me theb this book isNOT for u!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Just okay

    Not too impressed with this latest in the Private series. I think Patterson is better off sticking to Jack Morgan as his protagonist in this series. Knight just didn't cut it for me...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Hi

    Should i or should i not get it?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    This book was not as good as the previous series books. The plot

    This book was not as good as the previous series books. The plot was thin and the writing was chunky. The character Peter Knigt was not believable as an agent and a father. Case in point, his two kids are kidnapped by a homicidal maniac and he says "let's wait awhile to see what happens". He also does a cursory background check on the nanny. Reallly?  Also the ending is so far-fetched it's ridiculous. The evil mastermind is so unconvincing I figured out the plot  about 1/3 of the way thru. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I thought it was just me. But I agree with the other readers who

    I thought it was just me. But I agree with the other readers who did not like this book. Poorly written. Hard to follow. I have read some of the other "Private" books and enjoyed them. This is not one of them. Can't believe James Patterson added his name to this. So disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I read the sample , started our good. So i bought the book. Then

    I read the sample , started our good. So i bought the book. Then it crashed and burned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Just OK. It wasn't the "can't put it down" book that

    Just OK. It wasn't the "can't put it down" book that I was expecting from James Patterson. Not exciting or thrilling, just ho-hum. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have read and loved James Patterson novels for many years, but this one did nothing for me. It didn't even interest me until I read at least 160 pages, and even then, I plugged along through it. Perhaps this co-writer isn't as well suited for Patterson as others have been in previous novels. Very lackluster--in my opinion, save your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Just didn't keep me rhat interested

    I found the the villians not very believable and other characters somewhat cliche. I was disappointed in the quality of the novel especiaally since Patterson's name is associated with t and is the the reason I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    As Patterson continues to write with other authors, it seems his

    As Patterson continues to write with other authors, it seems his books are more hit-and-miss than ever. This is not only a poor effort from Patterson compared to the first 2 "Private" books, the writing doesn't even feel like the co-author has any real ability to tell a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2