Customer Reviews for

Private Games

Average Rating 4
( 360 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

great

Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. Did not disappoint

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

PRIVATE GAMES: DISENCHANTED!

I recently read a B&N customer's review of "Private Games" by Patterson and Sullivan.
I must agree with this customer's review and/or opinion of this novel: "This book was NOT written by J. Patterson."
The writing style and syntax are simply not those of Patterson. T...
I recently read a B&N customer's review of "Private Games" by Patterson and Sullivan.
I must agree with this customer's review and/or opinion of this novel: "This book was NOT written by J. Patterson."
The writing style and syntax are simply not those of Patterson. The characters lack depth, personality and realistic traits.
One of Patterson's renowned "trademarks" are his action-packed SHORT chapters that give one the ultimate adrenaline-rush. These details are sorely missing from "Private Games."
Perhaps Patterson ASSISTED Sullivan in the writing of this book, but there is NO WAY this a Patterson novel.
I am completely disenchanted. If, by chance, you read this critique Mr. Patterson it is my hope your future "co-written" novels will TRUTHFULLY let your readers know the MAJORITY (of your co-written novels) was accomplished by the pen of a co-writer.
Best Regards,
Kalainikea.

posted by kalanikea on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 360 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Loved it even during gymnastics

    What a fantastic piece of literature. I loved it so much that i was reading it in the midst of my gymnastics training at home. My coach wouldnt appreciate it if i read it in practice at my local gymnasium obviously. But yesterday after practice coach turner told me that he noticed my half-hearted-ness in the midst of my entire practice and even during my flips and arials on the bar, which is my favourite part of gym. It was because i was thinking about getting back to my book so i could read some more. I told him this but took caution because i thought he would get mad. But he smiled and said that he loved that book too. I smiled back, but then he moved his head closer to mine and kissed me on the lips. It was a true love kiss!!!! It waas my first kiss. Hes not much older then me and ive always had a crush on him because he has such an awesome personality and hes sooooo cute!! He would always say i was such a great gymnast and say not to be so hard on myself when i fell off the balance beam (i would always say i was terrible) . Once he caught me when i toppled off the bar in a handstand. My face bumped against his and he blushed and quickly put me down. After we kissed i stared dreamily into his crystal blue eyes and we grinned at each other. But my mom honked her car horn and i had to leave. "See ya, ryan," i sad. Oh and one time when he was helping me onto the high bar and explaining what to do he was kind of embarrassed to touch my legs and especially my waist! It was really cute, and one time i forgot to put chalk on my hands and after he put me up there i fell right off and fell on top of my crush!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Private Games hits its stride quickly and continues the pace thr

    Private Games hits its stride quickly and continues the pace through the very last page. I so wanted to get to the end to find out what happens but at the same time, I didn't want it to end. It kept my attention all the way through the book - not an easy thing to do with me - Great Read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Parody of the hunger games????????????!!!!!!

    Dude really you thought this was a parody of the hunger games ha your cute not but really just because it has the word Game on it wow she dosnt own the freaking word! And the olyimpics isnt a fight to the death kind of thing and it has nothing to do with the hunger games and you dont just get picked to go you have to train and go to tryouts do you know anything about the olympics oh yeah and you spell it *Sue not suawe or however you spelt it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Spell check anyone?

    James Paterson is absolutely my favorite author. This writing sounds like him, but I'd really like for the editors to re-read what they have already approved for publishing. There are 2 typos I read in the first 43 pages...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I thought this was the worse of James Patterson and I have read

    I thought this was the worse of James Patterson and I have read all of his books and for the most part really like his style. The prior book PRIVATE was OK, but this one was just plain horrible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Werewolf

    Such a ripoff he must be sued

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Sound Familiar??

    Does anyone else think that James ripped off the Hunger Games? He even stole the golden arrow idea!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Not a Patterson Book

    Most definately not a James Patterson book. I have read them all. The writing is poor. Wish I didn't buy it. Could not get into the story. Very disappointing. I will not buy another book written by Mark Sullivan

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Another suspensful page turner

    James Patterson keeps delivering novel after novel of suspense and drama that keeps you turning pages until time justs disappears. The stories never get dull nor do they duplicate. Every book brings a new adventure that is very easy to get absorbed into.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Good book or not

    Is this a good book???????

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    SLM

    Good reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    To seth

    Meet me at treasure hunting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Seth

    Duck a d

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Mily Sores

    I song songs like you when you were Hannah Mantana.
    Why did you give up and told everyone that you were Mily Sores and not Hannah Mantana I belive in you Hannah Mantmana.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended- for suspense/murder readers

    This was a really good read! The authors were excellent at keeping your interest throughout the book. The story line is intense, and it pulls you in. I was so anxious to find out who the killer was by the last 3 chapters that I almost skipped to the last 5 pages of the book just to get to the ending. There are only about 5 authors out there that can make me forget that I'm reading a book instead of watching a movie and with this book they just made #6.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I enjoyed this book, however, I do wish Patterson would not wast

    I enjoyed this book, however, I do wish Patterson would not waste time filling in unneccesary substories- get to the point. The characters were great, the main plot was enough to go on

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Private games

    Excellent book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Too many technical issues

    I've rarely had as many technical issues as I've had with this book. I'd be reading along and suddenly one line of text didn't mesh with what followed. This happened at least 3 or 4 times. Then there was the part where I couldn't get past a certain page (the last 3 or 4 pages kept showing up) until I finally went to "Go to page xxx" and randomly chose a page number close to where I was having the problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    The story was carelessly constructed, outcomes were obvious and

    The story was carelessly constructed, outcomes were obvious and the ending was ridiculously contrived. It's as if Patterson was under time pressure to complete the book and time ran out. Not worth the time nor the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    ???.??

    Is this a somewhat parody ofhunger games? You know with Karon and Peter?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 360 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18