Customer Reviews for

Private Parts

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    Great book

    If you're a Howard Stern fan, you do not want to miss reading this book. Great photos & lots of scoop on his life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOOO FUNNY!! I LISTEN TO HOWARD STERNS RELIGIOUSLY EVERY MORNING AND AM A BIG FAN OF HIS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    How the King of All Media Came to Be

    Howard Stern's frank, revealing and often times hilarious look at his rise to prominence in the corporate-controlled world of radio. A very entertaining read--not for the prudish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    I nearly wet my pants

    It was unbelievable, I was away on business and finally decided to read Private Parts. I enjoy Stern in the morning and found the book very pleasant to read. It brought back memories of my youth, especially the gas stories. I read it on a plane and was laughing hysterically that I nearly wet my pants. Its a humorous must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    (fan)tastic, a must have, talk about funny, well you haven't read anything until you read private parts, love him or *^%#* wait you'll love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Just more Indecency for big and little kids

    His book is no better than his TV show was, or his indecent Radio show; I hope the FCC puts this sexual bad literature out of business. He talkes about everything under the sun in his own outrageous porn mind. We wonder why kids have dirty minds, books like this, and parents buying this indecent porn, the kids read it you know.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    stern values

    If Howard Stern rules the world will he be a good leader owing to his undaunted laxity or a leader with nothing new to offer but stern values? His own Autobiography Private Parts gives clue if ever he achieves such dominion. A self-proclaimed America's King of Radio, Stern rose from obscurity to ambuigity or the other way or which way would you like it, by filling in America's ears with lots of bile and enigma. America has never been treated with an earful of expletives and neurotic behavior. With this approach to radio broadcasting Stern has acquired a multitude of avid fans and never forget a massive number of detractors. Noone has ever dared capture the taste of the American people - such bleeding emotional contortions are the elements that set Stern as a unique voice too loud to be heard. Stern has given lesbians the voice and avenue they need to be heard, but it had gone beyond the boundaries of broadcasting that it has become too provocative and innate. Stern is America's psychosexual, megalomaniac with the catatonic-neurotic abnormalities regarded but high in standards and appeal. Even one of the leading writers/thinkers in the mainstream American Literature Camille Paglia has expressed mixed review of Stern. Said she on the book: 'He's completely anarchic outside the establishment... constantly attacking sacred cows.' But continued with a praise, 'He's also genuinely funny.' Humor, perhaps, was Stern's program output; and generated a handsome plum, both in the good side as well as bad. As America's most controversial radio host, Stern has also set lewd undertakings in this book with pictures and caricatures to boot. Think of it - Stern with Playboy and Penthouse pets in suggestive poses and achieves the structure of provocativeness that stings within (read between the lines). Not even his parents were spared. He said that he was raised 'like a veal,' with a mother that had the 'intensity of Hitler' which he suggested contributed to his growing up as an 'obsessive-compulsive, anal-retentive, miserable neurotic.' He has no real stern words, however, on his father whom he described as a 'no-nonsense guy who has guided me in my career and stood by me no matter what. He loves me, but he was tough on me.' But understood why his father acted that way -'because his dad had been real hard on him, too.' Stern tells all about his life, his passion and his quirks - unabashedly, though he did not directly said that he had a rectal prolapse when he was small. A self-confessed monogamous entity after he got married, Stern graduated magna cum laude with 3.8 average grades in Boston University School of Communication major in Broadcasting and Film with minors in Speech and English. One could speculate that he has gone beyond his genius and was in search for a new form of self-expression. Stern hopped from one radio station to another with various reasons at hand - from austere managers to hostile competitors to intrepid listeners. But the most perceptive fact that clings to the readers is Stern's value for unique _expression, to be competitive and to be No. 1 in radio broadcasting, by hook or by crook. His partner, Robin Quivers, a nurse by profession, has miraculously mustered Stern's odd behaviours but shares her part in the show in the book. Stern's wife, Alison, also fell victim to his ill-humor, making fun of his wife's miscarriage which almost beat out their marriage if not for the genius of Stern to win her back. His wife worked as a psychiatric social worker and consequently tells him about the patients in such institution which he copies for the show. His wife's trade of work, he said, has given him a 'fertile source of material.' The books offers sections on celebrities he has interviewed and lambasted and wrecked from their 'novice' world. He spared noone, vehimently been copied by other host. One section gave a thrust : Stern's list of least favorite peo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2