Customer Reviews for

Private Practice

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

By the end of the first chapter, I was laughing. By the end of t

By the end of the first chapter, I was laughing. By the end of the second, I was swooning for Tyler. This is a hilariously sexy book! Love that she's trying to learn sex with a textbook when she's got sex on a stick Tyler right there.

posted by 9573642 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it very much. Sweet and engaging. Sizzling chemistry bet

Enjoyed it very much. Sweet and engaging. Sizzling chemistry between the main characters. Will read more by this author in the future.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    By the end of the first chapter, I was laughing. By the end of t

    By the end of the first chapter, I was laughing. By the end of the second, I was swooning for Tyler. This is a hilariously sexy book! Love that she's trying to learn sex with a textbook when she's got sex on a stick Tyler right there.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    This debut novel by Samanthe Beck hits it out of the ballpark! H

    This debut novel by Samanthe Beck hits it out of the ballpark! Holy smokes has it got it all. It's sexy, laugh out loud funny, charming, and pulls at the heartstrings in a fast paced, extremely well written story that I didn't want to end. I instantly fell in love with the hero, Tyler Longfoot. He's bad, but oh so good. The kind of hero that melts your heart and sticks in your head long after you've finished reading. The heroine, Dr. Ellie Swann, is smart and caring and her innocence is the perfect opposition to Tyler's, shall we say, experience. I loved that they knew each other as kids, loved the warmth between them from the very start, and adored watching them rediscover each other as adults. The small town setting and secondary characters were fantastic and with sharp dialogue and sweeping emotion from all involved, Private Practice is the perfect romantic read! 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    If you like smart, witty and sexy as hell romances...this is the

    If you like smart, witty and sexy as hell romances...this is the one for you. I laughed throughout, and gasped at the sexay. You'll read it, and then want to go back to the beginning and read it all over again!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Funny, sexy romance that was easy and fun to read!! Definitely worth the $ and the time to read. Great book!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    You wont regret buying this one.

    Excellent. Cant recommend it enough. Buy it, enjoy it and then reread it...because you will.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Surprisingly good

    Truly enjoyed this. Te analytical, academic approach "Sparky" took in figuring out the mechaanics of sex. It stongly appealed to my inner nerd.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Awesome book!

    This was, by far, one of the best books I've read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Great book

    What a great book. Several laugh out loud momemts. Can't wait to read more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I loved this book.  Very entertaining.  I loved Tyler!  It is ap

    I loved this book.  Very entertaining.  I loved Tyler!  It is approx 400 nook pages and I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved! Hope to read more from this author soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Read the book in one day and was continuously entertained. Will

    Read the book in one day and was continuously entertained. Will read more by this up and coming author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Must read

    I couldn't put this book down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Absolutely the perfect end to my cold winter night! Fun, steamy,

    Absolutely the perfect end to my cold winter night! Fun, steamy, sexy, and funny with believable characters. Just like Ellie, you will blush but beg for it to never end. Can't wait to read more from this author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    I adored this book so much! Beck blended the perfect amount of

    I adored this book so much! Beck blended the perfect amount of steam and romance, which made for a really enjoyable read. I'll admit this did have some predictability to it and the storyline wasn't one I haven't read before, but that is all irrelevant. Beck's added humor and her characters will draw you in and leave you smiling for hours.

    Pacing: I felt it was really well-paced. I love how fast Brazens are to read. I do wish we would have had a bit more at the end. I actually am one of those people who like epilogues because I need good closure.

    Storyline: As I stated, it's pretty predictable and one that's been done before, but that's a non-issue for me. I loved that Ellie was brazen enough to proposition Tyler the way she did. The girl has guts! I liked the added humor that Samanthe added to the story too. Ellie was such a great heroine. Having just returned to her hometown to help take care of her less than pleasant diabetic father and open her new practice, she has just heard the news that her long time crush Roger is no longer engaged to his glamorous girlfriend Melody. She overhears a conversation between Melody and a friend about how Melody just wasn't adventurous enough sexually for Roger. This really gets Ellie's brain turning. If SHE could be sexually adventurous enough, maybe then she'd be the one to snag Roger's heart. She enlists the help of Tyler Longfoot, a sexy, dark-haired, guy she remembers from high school. He was a few years older than her, but his reputation certainly precedes him. However, things start to really escalate as Tyler and Ellie realize they are attracted to one another.

    Characters: Ellie is just one of those heroines you have to laugh at. She is determined and willful, but she also looks at things from a very analytical perspective. She is very literal, so it's hard not to laugh at how insistent she is her and Tyler go by this Wild Woman guide she bought to help make her more adventurous in bed. She has everything planned out, so naturally she gets frustrated when Tyler tries to get her to loosen up and just FEEL. I felt bad for Ellie. This guide is all about how to pleasure a man, but what about HER pleasure? She is so wrapped up on how to rock Roger's world that she doesn't even pause to consider her own needs. Thank goodness Tyler is not a selfish lover!

    I really loved Tyler. He's not the same guy he once was and he is really getting his life on track and what he wants out of it. He's not interested in being the playboy anymore and is looking for something real. Ellie is using him to be better for someone else and feelings for her or not, that's got to be a hit to the ego. Tyler is determined though. The more time he spends with Ellie, the more he realizes he actually likes her... and he's going not letting her go without a fight. I liked how he stood up for her and how he thought her Wild Woman guide was ridiculous. She knows how to take care of a man and he really does a great job of making her feel beautiful and sexy as is.

    Final Thoughts: I highly recommend this one if you're in the mood for a short, sexy, fun read. I really didn't see the Roger twist coming until I read one scene in particular and then I was laughing because... really, Ellie? You didn't figure that one out? I love that she's a little naïve, because it really makes her that much more endearing as a character. I loved watching her struggle with what she thinks she wants versus what she actually needs...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    M Nice twusr Nice twist yo a goid live Goid Great read

    I read this without putting it down. Its been a while since i have read a romance and I am VERY glad I picked this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    This book was hot! The chemistry between Tyler and Ellie was great! Nice romantic story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Great read. Fast paced, gets your attention at the very beginn

    Great read. Fast paced, gets your attention at the very beginning and keeps it. Hot, sexy, and funny all in one story. Ellie is funny and adorable and Tyler is hot. You wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Funny romance

    Really liked this book. Enjoyed it from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Good read!

    This is a pretty entertaining story, with fresh and funny dialogs that keep you laughing all along as the two main characters fall for each other. The setting for romance is quite unique, with her being the booksmart girl out of medical school and developing a plot to get the guy she has been infatuated with since high school. Her guide is a book with detailed instructions on how to become a Wild Woman in bed. Her tutor is no other than another high school friend, the bad boy with the biggest heart and sexy appeal that keeps you cheering for him since chapter one. Not much more in the story, but the writing style and the characters are engaging so you enjoy the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Great debut book! It's funny, sexy and romantic! Well worth the

    Great debut book! It's funny, sexy and romantic! Well worth the money... You won't be able to put it down! Can' wait for her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8