Customer Reviews for

Private

Average Rating 3.5
( 1248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(451)

4 Star

(302)

3 Star

(229)

2 Star

(145)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Great summer read!

As one of the premier experts in creating tales of suspense and intrigue, Patterson, with Paetro, is continually on my reading list. This newest story takes its place among Patterson's long line of terrific mysteries, and I sincerely hope the Patterson/Paetro team brin...
As one of the premier experts in creating tales of suspense and intrigue, Patterson, with Paetro, is continually on my reading list. This newest story takes its place among Patterson's long line of terrific mysteries, and I sincerely hope the Patterson/Paetro team brings us more of Jack Morgan.

The story opens with a bit of Jack's background - we learn that he was in the military, that he saw combat, and that he died. Intrigue? Check. We also learn that Jack is sort of the black sheep of his family - his father was in prison, and his brother is the "bad twin. " Jack is smart; he's not afraid of hard work, and he puts everything he has - mind, body, soul, and finances - into building his private investigation company into a worldwide resource of the rich and famous. He's tough, but kind, and inspires the trust of both his clients and his employees.

But we learn that Jack, despite the above, is not perfect. He has commitment issues, and a guilty secret that weighs on him.even though he can't remember the details. This story brings Jack enlightenment in several different ways - he learns uncomfortable truths about himself, his family and his friends, all while solving crimes and "whodunits" on several fronts.

This book is a fast-paced page-turner, perfect for reading at the beach, by the pool, or on the road. I cannot wait for a sequel!

posted by twinkletoes6303 on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

OK

I found this plot to jump all over the place. There were too many sub-plots and I think that weakened this story. Not his best; not his worst. Just OK.

posted by Robynn on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Great summer read!

    As one of the premier experts in creating tales of suspense and intrigue, Patterson, with Paetro, is continually on my reading list. This newest story takes its place among Patterson's long line of terrific mysteries, and I sincerely hope the Patterson/Paetro team brings us more of Jack Morgan.

    The story opens with a bit of Jack's background - we learn that he was in the military, that he saw combat, and that he died. Intrigue? Check. We also learn that Jack is sort of the black sheep of his family - his father was in prison, and his brother is the "bad twin. " Jack is smart; he's not afraid of hard work, and he puts everything he has - mind, body, soul, and finances - into building his private investigation company into a worldwide resource of the rich and famous. He's tough, but kind, and inspires the trust of both his clients and his employees.

    But we learn that Jack, despite the above, is not perfect. He has commitment issues, and a guilty secret that weighs on him.even though he can't remember the details. This story brings Jack enlightenment in several different ways - he learns uncomfortable truths about himself, his family and his friends, all while solving crimes and "whodunits" on several fronts.

    This book is a fast-paced page-turner, perfect for reading at the beach, by the pool, or on the road. I cannot wait for a sequel!

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OK

    I found this plot to jump all over the place. There were too many sub-plots and I think that weakened this story. Not his best; not his worst.
    Just OK.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Marginal

    Good for a days read at the beach or a rainy day. It is entertaining at parts, but predictable all the way through. The characters are also boring and predictable every dramatic part is drawn out. In my opinion I would get it just to read something but not to read a true thriller like some of Patterson's other books.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    look at the picture

    I've read a few reviews of this book and most are mad because it is not the entire book. It says PREVIEW. PART 1. That would lead me to believe that it is not the entire book. Basically, this is a chance to sample the book to see if you would be interested in purchasing it. Rate the book on the quality of the story, not the fact that you misunderstood that you were not getting the entire book.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good one from Paetro!

    I have given up on most Patterson's novels years ago, the one exception are the ones written with Ms. Paetro. Actually I should say written By Ms. Paetro as I am sure Patterson's contribution is minimal. The books are written by Paetro and Patterson's name is added to the cover to generate sales. This is a disgusting practice, but don't mind it so much in this case as the book is actually pretty good, thanks to Paetro! I just don't understand why Ms. Paetro cannot be given full credit for her work? Are we all such mind numb idiots that we will only buy something from a big name (a big name who has written a lot of garbage in recent years).

    Jack Morgan has returned home from Afghanistan a war hero when he goes to visit his father in a California prison. Tom (Jack's Father) is serving a life term for murder and extortion. Tom wants his son to reopen his investigation business "Private" and gives him access to $15 million he has stashed away in an offshore account. In the years to come Jack builds the business into a world wide success with famous clients and a strong reputation. The story follows two plot lines one is the murder of an old friend's wife and the old friend is the number one suspect. The other involves one of Jack's investigators who has been called into a serial murder case by the LAPD. The killings are of school girls over the past two years and the police are desperate. This one hooked me from the beginning and never let go!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    Not a fancy title, but sometimes less is more, and in this case I think we get more. I am not going to be giving anyone a news flash that is a regular follower of my rants here @ The Scoop. I like James Patterson's work. I read almost all of his work from his graphic novels (see our archives), young adult (Daniel X), and just about all his regular material. I got excited when I saw that he had this new series coming out: Private.
    I really enjoyed this novel, I am not going to make any bones about it; I just really had a good time with it. Here is what the inside jacket had to say: "Former Marine helicopter pilot Jack Morgan runs Private, a renowned investigation company with branches around the globe. It is where you go when you need maximum discretion. The secrets of the most influential men and women on the planet come to Jack daily- and his staff of investigators use the world's most advanced forensic tools to make and break their cases." In the debut novel of the series the men and women of Private take on three different cases and juggle them and their private lives at the same time. The cases that others can't seem to crack: a serial murder case, a good friend's death, and a case brought to them by the NFL.
    Once I got into the first few pages of this novel I was total absorbed and immersed in it. I really couldn't put it down. The action is fast, the characters and the bonds they share are fascinating. The plotline and the precision of the execution of it are incredible. The cast of characters themselves was worth the read. I was locked into caring about them and what happened to them early on. At the novel's end, I was definitely wanting more. This is a series I am looking forward to following. James Patterson scores again with Private. The problem for me now is, I don't want less; I want more.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook, Shelfari, Crimespace, and AuthorNation. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Book Blogs, Visual Book Shelf, Book Marketing Network, Linkedin, Pump Up Your Book Promotion and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page; also look for our posts on Amazon, Borders, Barnes and Nobles, Target, Books A Million, Smashwords and the Bucks County Library System. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; we will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson, Paterson, where art thou Patterson?

    Like you fellow Patterson fans, I jumped on the chance to get a New Patterson book. I expected to be grabbed in the first chapter and taken on a screaming roller coaster ride to an unexpected ending. Well, I found myself on a horse and buggy going uphill until I realized that the only thing :Patterson" about this book, is his name on the cover and picture on the back. This book is written by Maxine Paetro, and she IS NOT even close to being the writer he is. What a scam. His last book "Trial" was also a let down. I guess he is fading out of book writing, much to the dismay of fans everywhere. How sad...
    11 minutes ago...

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Patterson Winner that shines in a very crowded field of superstar books

    Jack Morgan is a war hero, owner of the prestigious Private Investigative firm Private, the designated good twin and the son of an abusive criminal who died the way he lived creating competition between his sons.

    Jack employs the best in their field of expertise to work at Private paying top dollar to those who show him the skill set and loyalty that Private has staked its reputation on for their high dollar clients that pay to get their dirty laundry clean. Jack needs the best right now because he has three high-profile cases going simultaneously and if the mob had their way it would be four, but Jack does have some morals.

    He instructs one group to work with the police to track down the serial killing team who has been targeting high school girls and taunting the police with cryptic clues. The killer leaves trophies for the police to find and is escalating the killings while at the same time making sure no two look alike - unlike most serial killers. Jack also takes on a job for his uncle, the NFL team owner who suspects that games are being thrown and the ruin on the NFL would be something the franchise could not recover from. But worst of all Jack is dealing with his best friends' wife savage murder and the more that he uncovers the worse the information becomes about her character and the life she was leading. He is a man up for the task as he showed his ability to lead and deal with the gruesome strategies during his time in Afghanistan which still haunts him everyday with recurring dreams and missing pieces. Being a helicopter pilot showed him how to get in control and make the hard decisions of who stays and who must go.

    Along with his business life Jack is struggling with his twin brother who is a borderline psychopath and full time obsessive gambler. He has to save him once again all the while questioning whether he is the one that has been calling him with death threats. Their father raised them to be pitted against one another and while Jack took the high ground his brother, Tom decided it was better to use your fists than your head. There is so much to sort out and so much damage done to personal relationships that Jack is always looking over his shoulder questioning himself with a "what if".

    It is impossible for James Patterson to write anything less than a masterpiece but with Jack Morgan you find complex yes, but compassion as well. He is complicated and moves past his childhood tragedies to build a life that runs like his business with honor and discretion. I hope this book moves into a series as I would be interested to see how the conflict between the brothers plays out since Cain and Able have nothing on these two.

    Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer located at www.marygramlich.com

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Great Book

    I liked it because it was something new....New characters and new ideas....I would like to read more of Jack Morgan and his business...it has many places to take us..

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good read...

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Jack and Jill was my favorite. I've also read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series. 1st To Die was my favorite in that series. I've also read Swimsuit and The Quickie, as a "stand alone" and both were excellent novels. Private was a good read. As usual, there was good depth of character (Jack) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot was somewhat original, off beat, thrilling and there were some interesting twists and turns. I also love Patterson's writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good.

    I don't know, I guess there is something wrong with me because I thought "Private" by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro was pretty good. Was it an edge of the seat, can't put down sort of book - no. It was a good story line centering on the business of a private investigation company. It had multiple story lines which makes sense since it is an investigation firm and would normally deal with more than one client. I didn't have a hard time keeping the stories straight and could follow them easily. I don't get hung up on the fact that Mr. Patterson wrote with another author. Does anyone really know what his relationship is with the other co-authors. I don't. I make my decision on the storyline. Does it hold my attention? Do I want to continue reading it? Is it well written? To me that is what matters most. I liked the book and look forward to my next Patterson book with or without a co-author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Don't read Patterson co-writing with other authors

    The earlier James Patterson books were great. I have read every one of them, but since he began "writing" with other authors, the quality of the writing has deteriorated. Based on reading several books of Patterson's written with the other authors - doesn't seem to matter which one - each book is obviously written by recipe. All chapters are no more than 4 -5 pages in length, each chapter has one thing happen such as the introduction of a character or some "significant event." The books are boring, shallow, and without suspense. It is an overt attempt to sell books using James Patterson's name, but without any entertainment or care about the quality of the story. I don't even consider any of his books anymore. So sad...I as once an avid reader of his.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    A book that should have remained Private instead of Published

    Cardboard characters and plot - the rich, handsome war hero that cannot commit to love - the beautiful women that cannot resist wanting him - the evil, evil murders that must be stopped.

    Without Patterson's name, this book would never have been published. Avoid it unless you are in the tenth grade or aspire to it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Just ok

    Not Patterson's best work. I was a bit disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Get real People!!

    Please.... doesn't anyone bother to read the entire ino section? This was only a PREVIEW. I love B&N but they are NOT going to GIVE AWAY a most popular writer's newest works. Get real..can't wait to download this to my nook.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    Hard to follow

    I am a James Patterson junkie, but was so glad to get to the end of this book. It was a struggle to finish this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    Disappointment

    I'm having a hard time getting into this book. What a disappointment for James Patterson. I usually love his books, but his writing seems forced and shallow. The characters are not interesting. They have cutesy nicknames. The story doesn't flow well. There are too many plots going on at once with too many sideshows. I hope he goes back to his old style. This doesn't even sound like a book that he wrote.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    first time reading Patterson

    This is my first James Patterson book and I think this is an "ok" read. I do plan on reading some of his other works because I don't think this is his best novel. I did find that this story was an easy read as far as the descriptions and conversations. However, I think there were too many plots going on. There were the clients and their cases, but you also had the main characters' drama and plots from the co-worker he is in love with, to the other co-worker he is sleeping with, to his brother and HIS problems,to the mafia and all of those characters, and then to his past which keeps creeping up to haunt him. This book had so many characters in it that it made it hard to really get into any of them so I think the character development was a little disappointing. Also, I found it predictable to a degree. There were no major twists. Overall, I would recommend it for a rainy day read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is another "formula" book from Patterson/Paetro.

    I loved the Alex Cross mysteries. They were interesting complex plots with interesting, exciting characters. Patterson cared about Alex Cross. We cared about Alex Cross. His new books are written as though from an assembly line to get to the cash counter. Four chapters into this book, I said "Well, here's another one." I'm not going to finish it, it isn't worth putting my time into it. There are too many very well written books on the market today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Typical Patterson

    Multiple storylines keep the reader guessing where things are going and how they will come together in the end. Patterson is great at setting up the reader in the first 90% of the book and drops the hammer in the final 10%. Same thing applies here. Maybe a new series from this one??

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64