BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Privilege (Privilege Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Better Than I Thought!

Privilege by Kate Brian was much better than I thought it would be. I thought that this story would follow Ariana Osgood just in Brenda T. Thrumbull Correctional Facility but I was wrong. Just like the Private books, also by Kate Brian, it makes you think one thing un...
Privilege by Kate Brian was much better than I thought it would be. I thought that this story would follow Ariana Osgood just in Brenda T. Thrumbull Correctional Facility but I was wrong. Just like the Private books, also by Kate Brian, it makes you think one thing until almost the end and then flips everything you thought was going to happen. During the whole book, I almost felt sad for Ariana because I thought she had changed and realized the errors in her ways but once again I was completely surprised by Kate Brian's ending. This book is definately worth reading if you have read atleast the first four books in the Private series and Last Christmas.

posted by TeenReaderER on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One Month To Go...

Okay so obvi. Arianna is crazy, and she doesn't seem to think anything of it. I don't think she realizes how bad it is to take someone's life...she's done it three times already! But..the series pretty much revolves around her and her family so I hope she stays around f...
Okay so obvi. Arianna is crazy, and she doesn't seem to think anything of it. I don't think she realizes how bad it is to take someone's life...she's done it three times already! But..the series pretty much revolves around her and her family so I hope she stays around for a while. I wasn't sure if Last Christmas was going to be that good considering I hate Arianna's character, but it was actually pretty amazing! You kind of see her as a real person for a while. She was just heart-broken;even though that is no excuse for what she did. I'm curious to know how she justifies her actions. Plus I have NOTHING to read now!

posted by swimmerchick15 on November 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Than I Thought!

    Privilege by Kate Brian was much better than I thought it would be. I thought that this story would follow Ariana Osgood just in Brenda T. Thrumbull Correctional Facility but I was wrong. Just like the Private books, also by Kate Brian, it makes you think one thing until almost the end and then flips everything you thought was going to happen. During the whole book, I almost felt sad for Ariana because I thought she had changed and realized the errors in her ways but once again I was completely surprised by Kate Brian's ending. This book is definately worth reading if you have read atleast the first four books in the Private series and Last Christmas.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Ariana

    I liked Ariana in Last Christmas. I read that book first, it is better to start out with that book. I really liked Ariana, until she killed those people. But in a way I think she was set up for a lot of the murders. I havn't read the book where she kills Thomas, but I read Revelation. You would have a different perspective if you read the prequel first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Will leave a mark

    As usual, Kate Brian exceeds expectations with yet another tantalizing novel. The first book in the Private spinoff series, Privilege, was simply amazing. Ariana Osgood is now in Brenda T. Trumbull Correctional Facility, supposedly repenting for the murder of Thomas Pearson. Little do her officers know, she really is plotting her escape.<BR/>Full of horror and lies sugarcoated with glamor, Privilege will leave readers with chills creeping up their spines' and dread in the pits of their stomachs. Most importantly, Privilege will leave reader dying for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Most of us know all too well why Ariana Osgood landed herself in the Brenda T. Trumball Correctional Facility for Women. And for those who don't, it's simply because she murdered Thomas Pearce, the one she loved but who turned on her. <BR/><BR/>Ariana fully understands what she did was wrong, but she believes that spending the rest of her life in this correctional facility is a bit too much. Even though the Brenda T. is the best place to be put in, having a sadistic therapist there to remind her that she won't ever be leaving just pushes Ariana over the edge. <BR/><BR/>Of course, she knows something he does not - she will not be staying at the Brenda T. for long. <BR/><BR/>Already with a plan hatched in her mind, Ariana knows exactly what she will do first when she's back into the world flushed with designer goodies: find Briana Leigh Covington, the girl who framed her best friend, Kaitlynn, in the facility. A quick entrance into Briana's lifestyle and Ariana knows that she will once again have the good life, not only for her but also for Kaitlynn. <BR/><BR/>Ariana is used to getting what she wants, and getting her old lifestyle back is no exception. Enter the world of PRIVILEGE, where anything and everything is a game. <BR/><BR/>A gripping and intense beginning to the spin-off of the bestselling PRIVATE series, PRIVILEGE takes readers into a whole new world that we knew existed, but never in such great detail. Kate Brian once again works her charm and creates twisted and eccentric characters. <BR/><BR/>Fans of PRIVATE will want to get their hands on this first installment of the new series - but beware that it will become your next addiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    100% trilling, unpredictable, addicting book!!!!!

    this book will have you on the edge of your seat, trying to take a sneak peak a head! just like all of Kate brians other books (especially the Private series, the series that this book got it's background info from)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT EVA

    i dont really care i luv the private books so if this isnt as good as them im not guna read it i nvr like ariana sooooo i hope its good though cuz i could use sum more books 2 read but this better b gd or i will b disipointed and i think a lot of pple will b!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    Just finished last christmas.....

    AND I CANT WAIT FOR PARADISE LOST!!!! not sure yet if i wanna read privilege, tho, cuz it might mudle things up in my mind... idk, i might...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    This is going to be intersting

    Wow omg, i can't wait for this one to come out! i loved the private series, so this will probably be just as good. i hope Ariana won't kill anyone else, i don't think she deserves to have the life she left behind after what she did, but it will be interesting to read what her viewpoint of the story is. I'm sooo exicted to read this book, I think everyone will love reading it. Kate Brian is a great author!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    YAY i'm the first one 2 write

    ok i haven't read it yet but i'm super excited for it i'm sure its going to be good as all the other ones. i hate how Reed has no friends right now though. DECEMBER is way to far away!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    AMAZING!

    <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book was great i thought i would be boring but i thought i

    This Book was great i thought i would be boring but i thought i would give it a try and dont judge this book it will take u away. When i got it i read up 2 page 105 in 1 hour. If u read private book 5-8 You think that ariana is evil but shes not she has feeling and emontions and i really isnt fair that she is in prosion 20 til life but she ends up getting out. but imma not gonna give the story away all imma going 2 say ariana gets her life back and the 10 dollars u pay 4 this book is worth it!! Also read private inner circle its great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    loved

    Its a constant page turner for teens. Its a great book for teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    "Is this good for 12 year olds?"

    I think it is because i am reading it and its not really bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Privilege

    So freakin awesome wowzers!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    5 Stars!!

    Morgan Holt
    Ms.Lasley
    4B
    7 April 2011

    So after ending up in a psycho hospital, Ariana still doesnt know whats the difference between right and wrong? She has a rough road ahead, but im glad she in there because out here in the world, could screw her up alot. Her conselor hates her and to me seems like he just wants her to die.But as long as she has Kaitlin, i dont think she wil go anymore insane than she already is. Oops, i was wrong!! Shes too smart, like psychotic smart, it amazes me how she can get herself out of her cell, without the THREE guards seeing!! She should be pt on an island where there is no land for 1,000 miles and the water is 30 feet deep.If she was rea, even though i know there are people in the world like her, she scares me to DEATH. If i saw her somewhere, i would faint, and go into shock.But i recommend this book to all girls!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Pure Genious

    Third Person books really aren't my cup of tea but this book was AMAZING. It wasn't some regular 'omg i lost everything so i'll do anything to gain it back' book but was filled with twists and turns and I found myself gasping. I couldn't read it fast enough and there is not a single boring word in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    OMG

    Well an outcome i would never have guessed, but i do hope that Ariana gets a chance to rot in pyschopath land!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    Privilege by Kate Brian

    Privilege, by Kate Brian, was a very heart-pounding and exciting book. Privilege is the first book in Kate's new series, Privilege. This book relates to another series of hers called Private. The main character in Privilege played a huge role in the unfolding of the Private series.

    Ariana Osgood, a girl who's always gotten what she's wanted, is now stuck in a life without privilege. She is in a women's correctional facility where she is supposed to spend twenty-five years to life. While there, she creates a plan to escape prison and go to Texas to regain her life of privilege. Ariana receives some important information from her cellmate, Kaitlynn. Kaitlynn gives her all the information she needs to know, in the stories she tells. The information needed to help Ariana get her old life back. The only question is, can Ariana pull if off and relive the life she once had?

    I thought this book was tremendous. Kate Brian does a great job at keeping you, as the reader, glued to the book. You won't want to put it down. She describes scenes and people so vividly that you can see it all in your mind. Ariana must go through pain, struggle, backstabbing, and lying, but perhaps the only problem is, is that this book ends all too quickly. But, it ends just in time to read the second book in this series without going crazy from wondering, wondering what is going to happen and if Ariana can pull it off or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Amazing

    I loved this book. There were so many twist and turns that you dont expect and then they get you and its just amazing. I love it and i think you should read it. ONLY READ THIS IF YOU READ THE PRIVATE SERIES FIRST or eles it is not as good becuse you are so lost.
    just an amzing book =]]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kate makes another series a winner!!!!!!! Anyone would love these books (well except boys duhh)

    This book was a really thrilling adventure to be on. One of the best books I have read I only read three of the private novels and then i picked up this spinoff series that is with Arianna and i was so into the book I loved it! The only thing i disliked was how she killed Brianna Liegh it made me rlly sad but Kate Brian does a rlly good job of making suspense. I also read the second book in the series and all i can say is it was just as good as the first and i cant wait for the third coming in October 2009 Title: Perfect mistake kate brian keep writing!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4