Customer Reviews for

Privileged Witness

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

New File Upload Eliminates Typos

Having read several of the reviews about errors and typos, I was pleasantly surprised by their absense. They've obviously uploaded a new, corrected file. This is a wonderful series of legal thrillers with believable characters, exciting plot and unexpected twists and tu...
Having read several of the reviews about errors and typos, I was pleasantly surprised by their absense. They've obviously uploaded a new, corrected file. This is a wonderful series of legal thrillers with believable characters, exciting plot and unexpected twists and turns. You should read Hostile Witness first, then Silent Witness but this is a great book and even better since it is error-free.

posted by Carole51 on October 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Terrible-Too Many Typos!

I purchased four of Rebecca Forster's ebooks at one time. I read Character Witness first and was disappointed by the numerous typos. I then read Hostile Witness, Silent Witness and finished up with Privileged Witness. I will never purchase another book by this author ag...
I purchased four of Rebecca Forster's ebooks at one time. I read Character Witness first and was disappointed by the numerous typos. I then read Hostile Witness, Silent Witness and finished up with Privileged Witness. I will never purchase another book by this author again. There were so many typos and grammar/spelling errors it ruined the story. There is no excuse for releasing a book for purchase that is full of errors. I do not recommend any of these books and I wish I could get back the money that I wasted buying these amateurish ebooks. --K--

posted by 705137 on August 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    New File Upload Eliminates Typos

    Having read several of the reviews about errors and typos, I was pleasantly surprised by their absense. They've obviously uploaded a new, corrected file. This is a wonderful series of legal thrillers with believable characters, exciting plot and unexpected twists and turns. You should read Hostile Witness first, then Silent Witness but this is a great book and even better since it is error-free.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I wish there were more books in this series

    The third book in Rebecca Forster's 'Witness' series is the best yet. Like the other two books, the characters jump off the pages battling their personal demons in this legal thriller that will keep you reading late into the night. The character development, creative descriptions and brilliant twists will please readers who prefer their legal thrillers be laced with the depth usually reserved for 'literary fiction'. Download Hostile Witness and Silent Witness first but don't deny yourself the pleasure of this one

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    Excellent read

    Just finished this latest addition to the Witness series and I highly recommend it. It is well written, captivating, and the plot has many interesting twists. I have read all three in the series and this is even better than the first two books (which were outstanding). I think the characters are well-developed, especially for a series, and they all have flaws, which is a good thing in a novel. The subplots are good and one in particular (I won't spoil things) is very well developed and creates its own suspense. Josie Bates is one of the most likeable characters I have read and the author makes you sympathetic to her predicaments. As a lawyer, I can say that the court scenes are vivid and realistic, which isn't always the case in this genre. From a writer's perspective, the scenes and dialogue are nicely constructed. This author knows how to write. If you want a fun and entertaining read, buy this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    A GREAT read!

    If you haven't checked out "Josie Baylor-Bates" yet you're missing one of the best character finds around. Rebecca Forster is a master story teller, this is the 3rd in the series and like the first 2, they kept me engrossed to the very last page. There were times during the stories that I actually felt my pulse race and heart beat faster - right along with Josie!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    This book was GREAT, a must read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Another great book by this author

    All of the 'witness' books have been excellent. She's a great writer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Great author!!

    I don't normally read 'series' authors, but I have now read 3 of Ms Forster's novels [although they're not actually a 'series'] and just can't stop.

    Unique plots, lots of suspense, relatable characters, subtle humor.

    The best!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Who knew?

    Strong characters, interesting twists in the plot, and a fascinating Southern California setting are three compelling features of Priveleged Witness. Josie Baylor-Bates, Hannah, Archer and Max (the dog) help us understand the challenges, threats, and even the simple joys in striving to do the right thing. Kudos to the author, Rebecca Forster for an altogether 'great read.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An outstanding legal thriller.

    Although Josie-Baylor-Bates was unable to convince a jury in criminal court that Kevin O¿Connell beat up his wife Susan within an inch of life, she won a huge monetary settlement for the victim in Civil Court. After leaving the courtroom, she is accosted by Grace McCreary, the sister of Matthew who Josie was intensely in love with and thought was her soulmate until she discovered he lied about having any family. Matthew¿s wife jumped off the balcony and was killed and the coroner ruled it a suicide.------ However, the police, especially the surprisingly caring Detective Babcock refuses to close the case because he believes that it is not quite as cut and dried as the coroner believes. Nobody is more shocked than Josie when Grace is arrested and reluctantly she agrees to defend her. This puts her back in Matthew¿s orbit who seems more concerned with his campaign than the plight of his sister¿s defense. Josie makes a good case at the probable cause hearing but as more and more secrets are revealed, Josie begins to wonder if either her client or her brother is telling the truth. While she is dealing with the McCreary siblings, Kevin is terrorizing her and her ward while looking for Susan.----- One day if there is any justice, Rebecca Forster will be a household name because her legal thrillers are on a par with John Grisham, Scott Turow and John Lescroart. Her stylized and intricate plotting and her realistic characterizations make for a fantastic story while her ability to incorporate several sub-plots including one about the protagonist¿s personal life makes this so much more than an outstanding legal thriller.------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Hostiel wintness

    It was a good read i read 787 pages in two days it was great and i loved joise she is good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    Terrible-Too Many Typos!

    I purchased four of Rebecca Forster's ebooks at one time. I read Character Witness first and was disappointed by the numerous typos. I then read Hostile Witness, Silent Witness and finished up with Privileged Witness. I will never purchase another book by this author again. There were so many typos and grammar/spelling errors it ruined the story. There is no excuse for releasing a book for purchase that is full of errors. I do not recommend any of these books and I wish I could get back the money that I wasted buying these amateurish ebooks. --K--

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    This book could not hold my interest even though I live in the g

    This book could not hold my interest even though I live in the greater Los Angeles area and usually love books about this region.  Michael Connelly does it best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Prvileged Witness

    This third book in Rebecca Forster's Witness series was packed full of twists and the suspense kept me on the edge of my seat. This is the best of the series so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    It was a great book!!

    I have purchased all five Josie Bates books and everyone has been just a super read. This book didn't turn out like I expected it to. It was a surprise ending. I highly recommend all of these series of books. Rebecca Forster is a surprise I am happy I found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Great book!

    I recently discovered this series of books and can't put them down! Definitely keeps you guessing and turnig pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Once again rebecca forster has captivated me in this series. thi

    Once again rebecca forster has captivated me in this series. this time around we find out about josies history ...each book gets better and better if you are looking for a great read ...twist/turns and a great who-done-it this is the book (series) for you once you start reading these you are hook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great series

    Couldn't get enough of the series. Wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Drags out and bores

    Had to read in spurts because it dragged on and on. Certainly not a thriller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Must Read

    As usual, Rebecca Forster's books are hard to put down. Can't wait to read the next book. Dale44dk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Loved all 4 books in the series

    I read all four books in the series and was not disappointed in any if them. I felt like I knew Josie and Hannah. The author brought the characters to life for me. The dialogue was very realistic and kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5