Customer Reviews for

The Privileges

Average Rating 3
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Small masterpiece

Jonathan Dee's The Privileges is the story of a couple who dedicate themselves to each other and only each other. They are glorious and beautifully immoral, and yet they don't go off on a killing spree or anything remotely debauched, they just make money, lots of it. Wh...
Jonathan Dee's The Privileges is the story of a couple who dedicate themselves to each other and only each other. They are glorious and beautifully immoral, and yet they don't go off on a killing spree or anything remotely debauched, they just make money, lots of it. Which somehow makes their story so uniquely American, the fact that Adam and Cynthia Morey move effortlessly through life, refusing to ever review or regret their past, convinced that if they are getting away with it, then they aren't doing anything wrong. The reader can't help but read on, waiting for their carefully constructed life to fall apart, torn between wanted them to succeed and wanting them to reap their just rewards.

posted by SiobhanMFallon on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Young Rich New Yorkers

Yes they're young and rich, but how did they get there? This is one couples story from wedding day to mid-life. It has a probably accurate (how would i know?) view of over-induldged young adults (the couples'c children) as they come to realize that they have quite t...
Yes they're young and rich, but how did they get there? This is one couples story from wedding day to mid-life. It has a probably accurate (how would i know?) view of over-induldged young adults (the couples'c children) as they come to realize that they have quite the life. Well written and food for thought about people with more money than most of us..

posted by KrisOD on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Small masterpiece

    Jonathan Dee's The Privileges is the story of a couple who dedicate themselves to each other and only each other. They are glorious and beautifully immoral, and yet they don't go off on a killing spree or anything remotely debauched, they just make money, lots of it. Which somehow makes their story so uniquely American, the fact that Adam and Cynthia Morey move effortlessly through life, refusing to ever review or regret their past, convinced that if they are getting away with it, then they aren't doing anything wrong. The reader can't help but read on, waiting for their carefully constructed life to fall apart, torn between wanted them to succeed and wanting them to reap their just rewards.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Blank after thought

    The writing was well enough but I feel like it pulled up short, like every point fell off a cliff. I don't know what I'm supposed to take away from the book or how it's supposed to make me feel but I feel very unsatisfied. I wanted more of everything, more character building, more explanations, more of a beginning/middle/and end feel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I really liked this book. It was written with a subtle humor and although the telling of the tale began to slow about 2/3rd of the way through, it was only a brief segment and it quickly picked up and gained momentum as it raced toward its conclusion

    This story began with a young, upwardly mobile couple as they prepare for their marriage. Their wedding day is scrutinized. You can feel their youthful exuberance. They are a charmed couple and believe they can make the rules, defying authority, laughing at the system. Whether or not they grow and mature, break the rules and succeed, is immaterial, in the end. The only thing that is important is their abiding affection for each other. For the reader, it will bring back the memories of one's own planning of any event, complete with the anxieties and joyfulness. It will take the reader through the memories of their lives with familiar scenes bringing knowing smiles of recognition to their faces. The family dynamics are really amusing and true to form. In this case there are blended families involved and their interrelationships are often hilarious. As the story moves through the years, we see the couple change. The book is one in which several generations may identify. It is hard to come up with a reason that someone might not enjoy this book, unless the stereotyping of the generations feels overwhelming. It is best to just keep turning the pages with the Moreys. You will not be disappointed. Cynthia is a stay at home mom. Adam is climbing the ladder of success in the investment world. He lives his life to make Cynthia happy. The children, April and Jonas, are living in the lap of luxury. They are not in touch with reality or with true emotions. Neither the children nor the parents, can do wrong, even when they most decidedly, do wrong. No matter what happens, Adam and Cynthia "fix" it. There is always a way to handle whatever happens for money is power and control and it has bought them privileges not afforded to the ordinary person. Even as a perfect couple, they grew somewhat dissatisfied as the years passed. They felt they were missing something and wanted more. Having attained one dream they turned their attention to another. They pushed every envelope to its limit as they climbed higher and higher into the world of the rich. They had to keep on buying, doing and going. What started out as a simple adventure into marriage and family turned into an experiment in greed. They lived to attain things. Their children loved them but they also pushed the envelope and disobeyed the rules knowing their cool parents would bail them out and provide them with whatever they wished. I thought the Moreys were hypocrites. They felt they were above the laws and rules for mere mortals. Their mistakes were never rectified, they were justified and covered up. Though I found the characters to be unpleasant people, I couldn't dislike them. The author made them believable. People were drawn to them as I was. Their charisma moved them forward. For every negative aspect portrayed, another favorable one was ready in the wings to stand beside it. It is a timeless novel for readers of all ages. I identified with many of the scenes and saw my own children in others. The lack of privileges or their abundance, matters not; the book made one think about the meaning of privilege and the access it offers. Does responsibility toward others come with the assumption of privilege? What legacy do we leave behind when we "shuffle off this mortal coil?" What are acceptable means to achieve it?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Young Rich New Yorkers

    Yes they're young and rich, but how did they get there? This is one couples story from wedding day to mid-life. It has a probably accurate (how would i know?) view of over-induldged young adults (the couples'c children) as they come to realize that they have quite the life. Well written and food for thought about people with more money than most of us..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Disappointing

    The book is well- written but , for me , did not live up to the raves on the jacket . One review said it is about the new American family . I hope this is not the case . Except for very minor characters, none inspired me . In fact, I would not care to know any of them . I also hated the ending - which I felt just tailed off .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A huge disappointment.

    Boring. The author was also too lighthanded with details. Just a boring disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Less than 1 star

    This is drivel and very boring. I kept reading hoping for some redeeming value...none was found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    The Privileges was not one of my favorites.

    The story drags on about nothing for too long. I do not particularly enjoy reading about all out greed. Would not reccomend the book to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3