Customer Reviews for

The Prize

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful read

I am usually not into romance novels, but a friend of mine suggested that I read this one and I enjoyed it very much. I actually went out and bought the book for my library. And just for the record, it would be better if you allowed people to read the book for themsel...
I am usually not into romance novels, but a friend of mine suggested that I read this one and I enjoyed it very much. I actually went out and bought the book for my library. And just for the record, it would be better if you allowed people to read the book for themselves instead of summarizing the entire book. It takes away the mystery and the desire to read the book for yourself.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have mixed feelings...

As some of the other reviewers said, I literally finished this book in a day. But in the end I came away with such mixed feelings. Yes, I kept reading because I definitely wanted to see what happened next but at the same time I felt as though it was like watching a tra...
As some of the other reviewers said, I literally finished this book in a day. But in the end I came away with such mixed feelings. Yes, I kept reading because I definitely wanted to see what happened next but at the same time I felt as though it was like watching a train wreck, it's-awful but-you-just-can't-look-away sort of thing. Through the whole thing I couldn't decide if I liked Devlin at all. Especially when he started using Virginia the way he did and yet the idiot still loved him? Yes, there were times I felt like he was a heroic, tortured soul but it took soooo long for Virginia to crack through that shell that by the end of the book, I found myself skimming paragraphs so I could just find out how it ended. I wouldn't say I hated this book but I don't know if I would ever re-read it. Which to me is the sign of an excellent book, that every few months or so you break it out and read it again because you fell so in love with the characters. I guess I just had a hard time understanding the chemistry. I do give it three stars though because it did have alot of depth in the plot and in the end it was hard to put down because after all that time invested in reading the first 500 pages, I just had to find out how it ended.

posted by Anonymous on October 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Wonderful read

    I am usually not into romance novels, but a friend of mine suggested that I read this one and I enjoyed it very much. I actually went out and bought the book for my library. And just for the record, it would be better if you allowed people to read the book for themselves instead of summarizing the entire book. It takes away the mystery and the desire to read the book for yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Demonspirit

    This is the FAKE camp! While you little goodies are still trying to figure out what happened, the Dynasty are in their new home, laughing at you LOSERS!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Surely this was not written by a professional

    Wow, the more I read this book, the more I couldn't stop shaking my head. I couldn't believe how bad it was. Brenda Joyce is no novice, so that's what I found most perplexing about this piece of work. I'd lost count of how many times she began a sentence with "He started," "She started." Virginia and Devlin were sure startled a lot. The dialogue was inane,banal and lacked any real substance. As the story progressed, Virginia's character became more silly. Not your typical romance novel heroine. Devlin's character doesn't really have much to offer either. I kept reading this book because I began to get entertained by the sheer amateurishness of it. I guess every writer is entitled to a bad writing moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your typical hero

    I could not finish this book. It is going on a week now and I am half way through and this hero, if you could call him that has absolutely no honor. For vengeance sake he continues to ruin all the lives around him with no thought of who he destroys. I did try and give the benefit of the doubt that he would turn into a better character and no it isn't happening the character is just getting worse. His letting everyone believe her to be his mistress to force the ransom from her uncle just was it for me I did not like this so called hero from the very beginning. And he probably does change by like the very end. But getting to that point is frustrating and nauseating. Knowing that he is costing her, her very future doesn't even bother him, No vengeance is more important.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    I have mixed feelings...

    As some of the other reviewers said, I literally finished this book in a day. But in the end I came away with such mixed feelings. Yes, I kept reading because I definitely wanted to see what happened next but at the same time I felt as though it was like watching a train wreck, it's-awful but-you-just-can't-look-away sort of thing. Through the whole thing I couldn't decide if I liked Devlin at all. Especially when he started using Virginia the way he did and yet the idiot still loved him? Yes, there were times I felt like he was a heroic, tortured soul but it took soooo long for Virginia to crack through that shell that by the end of the book, I found myself skimming paragraphs so I could just find out how it ended. I wouldn't say I hated this book but I don't know if I would ever re-read it. Which to me is the sign of an excellent book, that every few months or so you break it out and read it again because you fell so in love with the characters. I guess I just had a hard time understanding the chemistry. I do give it three stars though because it did have alot of depth in the plot and in the end it was hard to put down because after all that time invested in reading the first 500 pages, I just had to find out how it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Virginia was very effecting and Devlin is the sexiest hero in Jo

    Virginia was very effecting and Devlin is the sexiest hero in Joyce's series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    This is my favorite book Brenda Joyce has written! I feel in lov

    This is my favorite book Brenda Joyce has written! I feel in love with the characters and could not put this down. Since owning it I have read it a few times now and have recommended it to others to read. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Fiona

    It was a pretty good book although i always hate the heartbreaking sexual encounters with "other" women. My problem with this book was that two other women professed love to him and then dropped out of the book with no closure?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I'm glad I've read other books by Brenda Joyce before reading th

    I'm glad I've read other books by Brenda Joyce before reading this one because I know she can write better stories than this! Devlin is a harsh, cruel man and I'm not sure the author gave him enough time to really redeem himself. It's hard to believe in this love story and if this is your first Brenda Joyce novel, please go read The Masquerade, The Perfect Bride, or Impossible Attraction as they are so much better! Overall, I'm very disappointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    I think I am secretly in love with Devlin

    I agree with one of the other reviewers....this would be a great movie. I would love to see Devlin taking a sword to that mans neck when he tries to accost Virginia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Anything Brenda Joyce writes, I buy! I am never disappointed! She is one of the very best authors and I run to the bookstore when I know she has a new novel available.

    What can you say, A stong beautiful headstrong woman who has never know passion and a strong, drop dead gorgeous, masculine, very virle man who abducts her for revenge against her uncle. Well, you put those two together and you know fire works will go off and boy does it! Brenda Joyce writes so good that you know but can't wait until the two main characters realize that love will conquer all...even revenge!! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Another Winner

    This is another book that I've read more than once by BJ - I tell you her books are so hot that you want to put little stickies on certain pages - the stories are very intriguing and this story is another example of her amazing talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    This one should be a movie

    I absolutely LOVED this book and would love to see it as a movie some day. Devlin and Virginia are both made for each other characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Disgusting

    This was the first book I've ever read from Ms.Brenda Joyce, and I'm afraid it's tainted me from reading any other novels from her. I thought the main character Dev was absolutely dispicable, and the leading female character was foolish to get involved with the vile man. I don't know how I got pass this book, and I threw it in my trash can afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    I didn't want it to end...

    It was very hard to put this book down for even a second. I stayed up until the crack of dawn reading this book. The Prize comes alive. I felt as if I was actually there. Brenda developed very strong characters. So much passion and great love scenes. I read a part from a love scene to my husband and he was blown away. This is a great read. It just felt so real. An Emoitonal Rollercoaster!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Wow, very emotional!

    This was an emotional roller coaster! But any story that can evoke every emotion in the book is great as far as I'm concerned. I hated Devlin at first, I thought he was such a rotten person for the way he acted with Virginia, but the way she slowly cracked through the hard exterior to the wonderful, loving, man on the inside was great. And bless little Virginia for being so patient and not turning her back on the man she truly loves. Seriously, don't read this book if you're looking for lite fare. While it has its funny moments, it is really a heartwrenching story. But you will definitely love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    A great author, a great read - A Prize it was....

    I have been reading historical romances for over 20 years (since high school). I stopped reading a few years ago as many books started to sound the same and I just couldn't find good new authors. I started reading again this year and followed up with Brenda Joyce. Some of her earliest works are ok (Captive, The Game, The Rose, The Conqueror, Dark Fires & Darkest Heart). You can tell she develops well as an author as her middle works are just the best - Captive, Secrets, After Innocence, Splendor, Beyond Scandal and Finer Things. These last books were all great - you will enjoy them if you want solid characters, interesting plot lines and vivid hero & heroine passion. After Innocence was the best - I still think about the characters in that one - Sophie and Edward - their love was that intense. Brenda Joyce has a real knack for making her characters come alive and you will miss the stories when they come to an end. Ms. Joyce notes in this book she deviated from historical romances for a few years and came back again with The Prize. She missed writing this type of book and developing this type of plot line. I for one am glad she returned - she does it very, very well. The Prize was the first book I had picked up again in about 5 years. I was very glad to see she hadn't lost her touch. This story jumped off the pages. Virginia and Devlin were meant to be from the first time they spotted one another. The story keeps going and doesn't loose steam as the novel goes on. It is witty, charming and passionate. I like when an author gives you a strong female lead - one that doesn't buckle and become wimpy (you'll love when Virginia shoots at Devlin the first time they meet and challenges him at every turn - take that you wicked pirate!). In turn, I like when the leading man is a bit naughty and wrong at times (taking her captive and refusing to let her go out of revenge even though he knows it's wrong) but, has the conscience to reform once he finds the right love of his life. Some of the side characters are also developed well and quite likeable (such as Devlin's brother Sean, his parents and some other characters). Alot of authors can't develop anyone else or the book looses steam - Ms. Joyce is able to do this well so, everything works in her plot lines. You won't want to miss adding this one to your library. Buy it, read it and you'll agree. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Unbelievable

    First time I read one of Brenda Joyce's books and I am totally hooked! I can't wait to read another one - - - can't imagine it could be better than 'The Prize'. Loved the history behind the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    Brenda Joyce really out did herself!

    I love this book! If you are into historical romances like I am, you will love it. I couldn't put the book down. I read it in one week. This is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Historical romance

    In 1798 Ireland ten years old Devlin O¿Neill watches English Captain Harold Hughes cut off the head of his father and burn his family property. He vows to one day avenge his sire¿s murder............................ In 1812 with her parents recently dead, her aristocratic English uncle sends eighteen years old Virginia Hughes to finishing school for the next three years before he plans to marry her off. She hates the school so she leaves and returns to her family¿s Virginia plantation Sweet Briar where she learns the place is bankrupt and will be sold to pay off debts. Virginia decides to visit her Uncle Harold to obtain funding for her plantation........................ Also in 1812, Devlin is the best of ¿His Majesty¿s Pirates¿ so Lord Liverpool reassigns him and his crew of the Defiance from the Mediterranean to the Atlantic to frighten American ships into turning around. Though he has had much success financially destroying Harold, he learns that his enemy¿s niece is sailing from America. Devlin abducts Virginia on the high seas to use as a pawn. However, her courage and conviction begins to mend his heart as they fall in love, but Uncle Harold stands between them.......................... This is an exciting early nineteenth century romance starring two terrific protagonists with different agendas that converge over the same man that both detest. The storyline provides insight into the beginnings of the War of 1812, but clearly focuses on Devlin¿s thirst for revenge dampened as he gets to know Virginia. Harold is too vile of a villain to matter, but the lead couple and the intrigue her abduction brings to the highest levels of government make this novel a prize for historical readers................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4