Customer Reviews for

The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money, and Power

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It all comes down to oil... at least in the 20th Century that is...

This book was a monster! It took me several weeks to finish it. I read it during a flight to DC and several people commented to me on the plane and in the airports that it was a great book. This story is really a story of the twentieth century. It is the story of the ri...
This book was a monster! It took me several weeks to finish it. I read it during a flight to DC and several people commented to me on the plane and in the airports that it was a great book. This story is really a story of the twentieth century. It is the story of the rise of the Oil industry. What a mess! What a collection of crooks, crony capitalists, get-rich schemers, and arrogant imperialists! I loved it! Not that I want to be like any of these guys. But it was really engrossing to read. The author really brought the characters alive, and I think he didn┬┐t really damn them or worship them. He just told us what happened in a lively and very detailed way. The most interesting part for me was the way Oil was at the heart of most of the geo-political issues in all of modern history. I always knew that oil was part of the equation in historical issues, but to have the whole story revolves around it gave new appreciation for its impact on world societies. The treatments of the World Wars were my favorite parts. But the whole book just gave me a new prospective.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

the Nook version of The Prize does not contain the pictures in the print version...Bummer!!!

After buying the print version of this book and finding that it is so big, thick, and unwieldy, I was looking forward to downloading it onto my Nook app. Unfortunately, the Nook version does not contain the 30 pages of pictures contained in the print version. I feel lik...
After buying the print version of this book and finding that it is so big, thick, and unwieldy, I was looking forward to downloading it onto my Nook app. Unfortunately, the Nook version does not contain the 30 pages of pictures contained in the print version. I feel like I have an incomplete version of the book. I'm told that this was the publishers decision rather than B&N. Either way, very disappointing... Otherwise, the book itself, by all accounts, is supposed to be amazing. Hope to read it soon.

posted by 8332938 on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    the Nook version of The Prize does not contain the pictures in the print version...Bummer!!!

    After buying the print version of this book and finding that it is so big, thick, and unwieldy, I was looking forward to downloading it onto my Nook app. Unfortunately, the Nook version does not contain the 30 pages of pictures contained in the print version. I feel like I have an incomplete version of the book. I'm told that this was the publishers decision rather than B&N. Either way, very disappointing... Otherwise, the book itself, by all accounts, is supposed to be amazing. Hope to read it soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    It all comes down to oil... at least in the 20th Century that is...

    This book was a monster! It took me several weeks to finish it. I read it during a flight to DC and several people commented to me on the plane and in the airports that it was a great book. This story is really a story of the twentieth century. It is the story of the rise of the Oil industry. What a mess! What a collection of crooks, crony capitalists, get-rich schemers, and arrogant imperialists! I loved it! Not that I want to be like any of these guys. But it was really engrossing to read. The author really brought the characters alive, and I think he didn¿t really damn them or worship them. He just told us what happened in a lively and very detailed way. The most interesting part for me was the way Oil was at the heart of most of the geo-political issues in all of modern history. I always knew that oil was part of the equation in historical issues, but to have the whole story revolves around it gave new appreciation for its impact on world societies. The treatments of the World Wars were my favorite parts. But the whole book just gave me a new prospective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    I would highly recommend this book for anyone in the oil industry.

    This book was purchased as a gift for a grandson who just finished college as a Petroleum Engineer. He was very pleased with it and told me that was one of the books that was used in a quiz that was taken
    during his internship for his present employment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    A+ Entertaining and Informative

    A fantastic example of narrative history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Must read!

    I am now reading this a second time. The history of oil has greatly effected the world and Yergin explains this successfully. In general this book should be read by everyone to gain a better understanding of how oil fueled the American economy. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    You'll be surprised at least ten times

    I would have rated this a 5 'or higher' except that the binding is so horrible that the book fell to pieces as I read it. Let's call that one of the ten surprises. The other nine, however are of the 'gee, I never knew that' variety. It is amazing how oil shaped 20th century history, without getting recognized as doing it. We all see oil's impact today, but it has been there over 100 years. Highly documented, and written in a way that will hold your attention. Even though the printer had such low quality standards, I think I'd buy it again knowing that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    Oil in the Mind

    The book captures the foundamental element of the oil industry, the risk. It is described as 'oil in the mind'. Those who suceeded in this oil and gas world had that in common. Everyday I can assure you that I rediscover this finding as I consult major and independent oil producers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Understanding Today's World

    This book is an essential in the library of any educated person. It contains invaluable information for the general consumer and provides a deeper understanding of many country-country relationships. Anyone interested in learning more about the historical development of the Middle East during the 20th century and the U.S.'s relationships with Middle Eastern countries should read this book. Though it is long, it is very well written and easy to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2001

    A Book About the World's Lifeblood

    this is a totally thorough account of Big Oil: its discovery, its progression as the world's premiere energy source and the implications to nations all over the world. Nothing on this planet, save perhaps nuclear weapons, touches so many people on a consistently regular basis as oil. Yurgin knows his subject -- study it is what he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    'The Prize' - A Riveting Historical Drama

    I'm reading this book for the second time, and it's just as facinating as the first. The book clearly describes the development of the oil industry, which is definitely the most interesting and exciting example of business growth and capitalism in U.S. history. I wish the PBS version of this book were available for purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2